We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat after a day in Capitol Reef!!”

The Rim Rock Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat after a day in Capitol Reef!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by our dinner at Rim Rock!! Really nice view as mentioned in the other reviews. Excellent hand-cut spicy fries. At first we were told that there would be about a 30 minute wait for 6:30 on a Friday night. After about one minute they came by and said that a table came available so we were sat immediately. My daughters blackened sirloin was a nice portion size and very tasty. I really enjoyed my pork chop. The blue cheese and bacon burger was really good. My wife enjoyed the ribs. Of course my ten-year-old and seven-year-old raved about the chicken strips. It was reasonably priced for a family of six. It ended up being about $115 with 18% for a tip that was added automatically--I'm glad the service was good so that was justified. I really appreciated the kids meals for $5.99. I would go eat there again if in the Torrey/Capitol Reef area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    335
    93
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The restaurant offers menu choices similar to a restaurant back home-not diner food on the open road. The dining area has picture glass windows on 3 sides offering panoramic views of the area-gorgeous. The views so breathtaking we returned at sunrise to photograph sunrise. The food was very good and the staff friendly- a very nice evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpm0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Nice service but out of date”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Dining in Torrey has limited options. We were told the view was fantastic at Rim Rock. The service was wonderful and management came by to visit. The steaks were good quality and cooked to order. The wine list was horrible and would not compliment any meal. The restaurant was outdated and needs a facelift.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 883jennifern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

After a week of eating typical tourist restaurant food like burgers and fries it was great to find this gem opposite our motel. So glad to get the option of vegetables and baked potatoes and main courses that didn't contain cheese! The only slight criticism was that whilst our table had great views out the back, it was a bit dark when the sun went down with only a single candle to light it. Didn't have to worry about seeing the food though, I already knew it was good. Pecan pie was great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best grill in town.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'm big on atmosphere and view, and this place had them.
I don't remember what we had for dinner, but I'll always remember the view.
Very friendly place. We met a fun group of motorcyclists from Germany. Short drive from Sunset Point at Capitol Reef National Park, which shouldn't be missed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmandSirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rim Rock Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Rim Rock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing