We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for bird watching & view......”

The Rim Rock Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Payette, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great for bird watching & view......”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

small portions, exaggerated pricing for the quality as well as quantity of the portions served and had to pick dead gnats (or fruit flies) out of the salad and fend them off during dinner....Hope they can work out the quirks, they will have to step up the slow service, clean the windows so you can enjoy the hummingbirds & view to ever have a chance with the likes of the 'Broken Spur' setting the bar high!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    327
    91
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great View”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at the Rim Rock. We all enjoyed the food, the wait staff was great and the View was amazing. After visiting Zion and Bryce we were pleasantly surprised to find our best meal was in Capitol Reef. Recommend you visit if you are in the area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner here that included ribs and trout. My friend is very picky and she loved the ribs and the beans. The trout was fresh and the roasted acorn squash was perfect. We topped it off with a glass of wine. Great meal!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dinner and View”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The view of Capitol Reef from the many large windows is great! Dinner was very good, maybe a little pricy, but they likely need to make their money during the high tourist season.

I had the game trio special - buffalo sausage, trout, and quail that night. Enjoyed it thoroughly. Very nice salad too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great view”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This restaurant serves very good food, far better than you might expect to find in a small, remote town like Torrey. For our entrees, we had the Utah rainbow trout and the mixed grill (which was a combination of buffalo bratwurst, quail, and trout. Of the three items in the mixed grill, the trout was the best. So the trout dinner was probably the better choice, though portion was somewhat small. Prices were reasonable in total, particularly given the quality of the food and the remote location. But the mixed grill was somewhat expensive while trout was somewhat inexpensive. In addition to the good food, the dining room offers great views of the surrounding mountains.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CFH_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rim Rock Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Rim Rock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing