We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”

Broken Spur Steakhouse
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Broken Spur Steakhouse is adjacent to the Broken Spur Inn. We are located at the junction of hwy 12 and 24 just up the hill. Our hilltop location with great views in every direction is sure to make your dining experience a pleasurable one. We also have a conference center which can accommodate large groups for catered meals such as reunions or weddings. Our steakhouse has a capacity of about 75-80 people. We welcome bus groups and motorcycle groups. Our gift shop is a great place for guests to browse before or after dinner. We also have a full service beauty salon on our property. After a long day of hiking or travelling you can relax in our indoor pool and hot tub. The Broken Spur Inn and Steakhouse has something for everyone and can be a one-stop location for your traveling needs. We are the gateway of Capitol Reef National Park. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Great rooms, great food, and great prices. Let the Broken Spur Inn and Steakhouse be your home away from home.
Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We went to the restaurant here since we were staying at the Broken Spur and it was getting a bit late. The menu choice is not huge (well it is a Steakhouse so you can expect it to be quite meat focused) and it is not the cheapest, but the food was really good. Best salad we had in the US and the steak and sides were really good. I tried to convince my wife we should share a steak but decided to have her own - and regretted it a bit as it was HUGE.

(Free) breakfast the next morning was the best we had in the US.

The restaurant is small but it is good. The service was friendly and impeccable. We did go somewhere else the second evening in Torrey - but just because we had eaten so much steak we were about to explode.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Steakhouse, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our steakhouse and we know the portions are huge. That's why one of our options is a plate split. We have made some menu changes and some changes to the actual steakhouse since last September so we hope you will be able to come back again and see what we have done.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    145
    55
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful surprise!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat and pulled in to the Broken Spur after seeing the sign out front. We were greeted with warmth and enthusiasm, making us feel right at home! Dinner was excellent and the service was warm and friendly!

Our only negative feeling was that we had to leave there to go to the hotel we'd already booked for the evening. Next time we'll be staying at the Broken Spur for our hotel as well!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average food, poor service”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. It wasn't particularly busy when we arrived but we were very disappointed with the service we received and the food.

We ordered drinks and a salad and soup for starters. The salad and drinks came out quickly,and we were told the soup would be on its way. 30mins later the soup arrived with no apology or acknowledgement of the time delay in providing the two starters. This was soup of the day, so they must have some prepared.

We both ordered steaks which were a good size but once the fat had been removed there was not much left. The meat was of very average quality despite being priced at $25.95. We had to ask for our drinks to be refilled and we were very disappointed in the service we received.

Due to staying at the motel, we had breakfast included. We waited 20mins after ordering for a cup of coffee, despite our server refilling other guests cups and saying our drinks were on their way.

The poor service would put me off returning to this restaurant

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Torres9_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate feedback from our guests so we know where we can improve. We certainly apologize for the poor service. We try very hard to make sure that all of our guests are taken care of in a timely manner. Unfortunately sometimes that does not happen. This is our first season and some of our waitresses are new and young. We hope we can improve upon the things you mentioned.
Thank you,
Francine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and friendly staff”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This restaurant is part of the Broken Spur Inn. The food was reasonably priced and very tasty. You have to try their homemade salsa. It's some of the best I have ever had! After a long day on the road, it was really nice to walk a couple of doors down from our hotel room to have a nice sit down dinner. We ate dinner here and had breakfast the next morning. The waitresses were very friendly and very attentive.A definite must for travelers to Torrey, Ut.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate comments from our guests. We are glad you enjoyed eating at our steakhouse. We just incorporated free hot breakfast for our guests, so now you will have to come back! We are new and learning each day but hopefully guests feel welcome and can enjoy a good meal.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Limited menu, slightly pricey, but excellent quality.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Overall, a very good eating choice in Torrey. The food and staff are excellent. Very clean and spacious. No complaints about the food. A little pricey, but most places in Torrey are. Still, probably the best choice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilaFred13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We appreciate you choosing to eat at our steakhouse. Our goal is to serve good food and make your dining experience a good one. We hope you can visit us again sometime.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Broken Spur Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing