We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, Clean, Wonderful View - Motel and Restaurant”
Review of Broken Spur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Broken Spur Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This family owned spot has all you need. Nice clean rooms, well maintained. Nice views all around. The motel has a steak house attached. Owners have done a nice job of decorating for Halloween. Come to this place as the owners have been hurt by the National Park closings. We paid $82 for the room (plus taxes) which included a hot breakfast.

Room Tip: They have a pool and a conference center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LevtyVail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

We appreciate your staying with us as the shutdown did hurt us as it did all the business owners in the state. This year we celebrated our first annual scarecrow festival throughout our county. The scarecrows were fun and made the month of October festive. We hope you enjoyed our steakhouse which is closed for the season, but we will be open again in March. Thank you and we hope you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 827 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

The owners are so nice. They bought the place that had been sitting vacant for two years and totally refurbished it. We had a big room with a king bed and a HUGE jacuzzi -- and stunning views of the red cliffs. Not clear what place the crabby sunlovinlady stayed in -- our room was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was terrific. Great local place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlreporter98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We know there is always room for improvement but we appreciate reviews from our guests. We do have great views and we are constantly working on our rooms hoping to do more renovating this winter. If you get this way again please come stay with us.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This motel is very nice, perfectly clean and should satisfy even the hardest person to please. Owners are super friendly and aim to please you. The wife said they purchased the place a year or so ago and have completely remodeled everything and they DID IT WELL.Owners were working late night to check us in and back at 7:00 to serve breakfast. It is easy to see they have and continue to put a lot of hard work into this place. Thanks for a great stay. Super place to stay.
Had a mix up with our rooms, needed three and they only had two. We thought we would have to find another place to stay so we stopped along the way at "The Michael Myers Motel" in Hanksville to look at a room... called the Broken Spur back and said "we will sleep on the floor if we have to". They got our rooms straightened out and we are SOOOO glad we continued on to this hotel. We got a good laugh and a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We love to hear from our guests so we can know where to improve. And we are soooooo glad that we were able to get you the rooms that you needed. We love meeting new people from all over the world everyday and we appreciate your choosing to stay with us. Hopefully you can visit us again soon.
Thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We made reservations here based on other reviews--who are these people that were so pleased? Were you in the same motel? The coverlets were satin bedspreads--not the newer no-bedspread type of place. The fan in the bathroom must have had 10 years of lint in it and the light cover was not only cracked but full of dead moths. One had to get out of bed to turn the light on or off because it's placed far too high to reach from the bed. You could choose to turn on the desk light or the microwave or the frig, but not all--there were not enough plugs. You have to insert a credit card or a drivers license to open the frig door--so weird! As previous reviewers noted there is no coffee in the rooms--why? And the breakfast?--You are served one egg, one piece of bacon and some lukewarm potatoes--nope, no toast is available--there were other options but they were just as limited. I would never stay here again when there are far better places in Torrey to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate comments from our guests so we can know where to improve. We chose the bedspreads we have because they are different and they accentuate the red rock surroundings we have. The fan believe it or not was cleaned when the season started - not ten years ago. My housekeepers are suppose to keep the lights cleaned out. Sometimes dealing with hired help is anything but easy, but as the owner I do try to check rooms frequently for such problems. You have me confused about the light switch. I can't turn mine on or off at my own house without getting out of bed. Everything should already be plugged in when you come unless guests move things around. The fridge that has to be opened with a card of some kind was here when we bought the motel. It took us 3 months to figure out how to get into it...it is weird. We have been replacing them as we can afford it. We provide free coffee to our guests all day long in the lobby. Because you cannot get coffee stains out of carpet, we had to replace several rooms with new carpet. That made us decide to leave the coffee makers in the lobby. As far as toast goes, just ask....there are lots of breakfast options on our menu. We really try to make our guests feel welcome and enjoy their stay. However, we know we can never please everyone. It is a difficult task to keep everything running smoothly but we try our best working 18 hour days every day. We also know we can always improve and that is our goal so we will continue to work on things each day. We have a lot of improvements we want to make this winter.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Torrey is not that big of a place but there's a great hotel here...Broken Spur Inn. we had a king size bed and it was great. very quiet room on the 2nd floor nice hot breakfast in the morning - nice front office staff. quiet area around hotel also. great views of the cliffs just out your door.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzannesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. Our location gives us a nice plus because we do have great views. We want our guests to feel welcome so we hope our staff is accommodating. We love meeting new people from all over the world every day. Thank you and we hope you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Not much to say about Torrey but it's well located for Capitol Reef National Park. Broken Spur Inn is not what its name might suggest, indeed it is newly refurbished and both bedroom and the hotel facilities (swimming pool, reception and restaurant) are in very good order. The free breakfast was excellent by motel standards. Bedroom was large, cable TV better than most motel stays. Staff were very friendly. This motel is a cut above the average motel and deserves to prosper.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We always welcome comments from our guests so we can know where to improve. We have been owners for a year and have enjoyed meeting so many great people from all over the world. Our goal is simple - to make our guests feel welcome and to have a comfortable stay. We hope you can visit us again sometime.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Broken Spur was a wonderful choice. We came out of Capital Reef early in the afternoon and our room was ready for us. Cable TV selection and internet access were good. The bed was most comfortable and we got a great night's sleep.
Their restaurant provided a good meal at a fair price. For breakfast in the morning you sat down in the restaurant and could choose from 5 items on the free side of the menu or you could choose to pay for a larger selection on the other side of the menu. We chose the free breakfast and both the service and food was very good.
It is well worth stretching your drive by an hour to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murph0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for letting us know what you thought of your stay with us. We just started the free breakfast so we are still experimenting with what works best. We are also glad the service was good. That is very important to us. Thank you and we hope you can visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
1.7 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
1.2 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broken Spur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Spur Inn

Address: 955 E Sr-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range: $100 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Broken Spur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 50 spacious rooms, a conference center, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, bakery, laundromat & gift shop. We are located at the jct of hwy 12 & 24 and are the gateway to Capitol Reef National Park. Because of our hilltop location we have some of the best views in town. Our rooms have free wi-fi, coffee pots, direct TV, fridges & microwaves. Breakfast is included in the price of your room. Our rates are based on double occupancy. Our on-site steakhouse has a great menu with something for everyone. Our meat is aged for 21 days and is cooked to perfection just the way you like it. We also have a kids menu for children under 12. We do serve several varieties of local beer and wine. Our rolls, bread and desserts are baked daily in our very own bakery. We invite you to come stay at the Broken Spur. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Let the Broken Spur be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Broken Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken Spur Inn Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing