We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ribs - Great Service”
Review of Broken Spur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broken Spur Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Riverton, Utah
1 review
“Great Ribs - Great Service”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Ate at this new restaurant first part of April. I ordered the Ribs and was not disappointed. My wife ordered the pasta and was delighted. The food was exceptional and service was friendly and efficient. I have eaten at many restaurants throughout central Utah in the past few years. The Broken Spur is definitely one of the best. We will be back.

Room Tip: No hotel stay. Just ate at restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We appreciate your decision to eat with us at the Broken Spur. Thank you for your nice comments. We welcome you back any time and hope next time you might also decide to spend the night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    321
    77
    15
    7
See reviews for
191
391
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bicknell, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I decided to try out the new steakhouse in Torrey that was previously known as the Sandstone. We couldn't have made a better choice. The food was excellent, the prices are very reasonable - especially for a steakhouse, and the service was very helpful and polite. I would definitely recommend this steakhouse to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for deciding to dine with us. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope that you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Randomly looking for dinner after a day at Capitol Reef National Park, we decided to give the Broken Spur a try. We could not have gotten more lucky. The restaurant, under new ownership, had only been open a couple weeks. The owner, a retired cattle rancher, along with a talented chef, made for some incredibly good steaks. My wife had the New York Strip, and I had the Bacon Wrapped Filet - both were delicious! The owners and employees could not have been more kind to my family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We were glad you decided to eat at our steakhouse. Yes we are new and so we are excited when we hear that people enjoyed our food. We hope we can only get better with time. Please come and visit us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The day drive from Bryce to Torrey was absolutely spectacular. It had everything - desert, alpine, expansive views, and great places to stop and soak in all in. At the end of the day, we wanted a comfortable place to stay, and a great dinner. The Broken Spur is located on the top of a small hill with views of the local area, and to the mountains beyond. Capital Reef National Park is only 15 minutes away. At the bottom of the hill in convenience store, and petrol station. Gary & Francine checked us in, gave us plenty of information on the local area and upgraded us to the Honeymoon suite - awesome. Timberlee waited on us for dinner and she was bubbly, articulate, positive, and fun to spend time with. Mitch is the resident wiz in the kitchen, and he delivered 2 very tasty dishes, which had my wife and I eating off each other plates. The room was very comfortable and warm, despite a near freezing temps in Torrey in the early morning hours. Travis checked us out, and he is a warm hearted guy, you got us on the road with no fuss. Wish we had discovered Torrey earlier in our trip, as we could have easily spent a few days at the Broken Spur Inn, as our base to explore the local area. Do yourself a favor - drive the Scenic Byway 12, and rest up at the Broken Spur.....it's the perfect addition to any road trip, and showscases the
positive energy and warm vibe that typifies our experience of the people of Utah.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TerryPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We were so glad you decided to stay with us at the Broken Spur and we appreciate your kind comments. It's always a treat to have people from Australia because we love the accent! We love meeting people from all over the world and perhaps someday we can visit you downunder!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We toured Route 12 from west to east and were amazed at the fabulous parks and vistas. On the practical side we found that there was very like accommodation, restaurants, and gas in the 120 mile route except at Bryce Canyon City. At the east end of Route 12 in Torrey is a newly renovated Broken Spur and Steakhouse. We recommend your stay here: good size and comfortable rooms, good rates, and very friendly staff.
The new owners Gary & Francine Hallows and partner Travis Vanorden are getting ready to welcome the summer tourists. Their chef Mitch has developed a small but good menu for breakfast and dinner. We enjoyed his BBQ ribs. This is a good place to spend a night with the western cowboy hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a view of the canyons in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. We hope your stay here was enjoyable and if you ever get back this way, please come see us again. Happy Trails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holstein, Iowa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Was passing through southern Utah looking for good motorcycle roads when I found the Broken Spur. The room was very nice, and the rate was good, but there are no nicer people in America than those I met there. I will be back with my friends in the fall. Looking forward to seeing it when their renovations are complete.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the property, facing the cliffs. Motel is not easy to see from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are also glad that you found us and we appreciate your business. Part of our enjoyment as owners is meeting great people like you. We look forward to your return in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I thought long and hard about reviewing Broken Spur Inn and decided I should. We stayed one night here in January. To be completely fair, the Inn was under new ownership, which was in the process of renovating the place. I'm not even sure that it was really open for business. So I believe our stay was not representative of how the place will eventually shake out.

So why the review? The answer is that ownership was absolutely first class - they couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. Given the closest market was 14 miles away, they gave us fruit, coffee, and yoghurt for breakfast. We were the only ones staying here, and when we got up in the morning there was no hot water (propane tanks hadn't been filled the day before), so our entire stay was refunded, even though we only asked that the second night be credited. This is evidence of owners really making an effort to do the right thing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMLLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine h, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We appreciate the review that you gave us, because personally if I had woke up with no hot water I would have been way, way upset! The propane tanks were filled the next day but that didn't help you and so again we apologize. Our propane guys are suppose to keep our tanks full, but unfortunately it ran dry when you came. A problem we hope we have remedied and never have again. We would hope that you might consider staying with us the next time you come to Torrey. Our steakhouse will soon be open as well as our swimming pool. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrey hotels
1.7 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
0.4 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
1.6 mi away
The Rim Rock Inn
The Rim Rock Inn
#5 of 7 in Torrey
269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Torrey
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broken Spur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Spur Inn

Property: Broken Spur Inn
Address: 955 E SR-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Broken Spur Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 50 spacious rooms, a conference center, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, bakery, laundromat & gift shop. We are located at the jct of hwy 12 & 24 and are the gateway to Capitol Reef National Park. Because of our hilltop location we have some of the best views in town. Our rooms have free wi-fi, coffee pots, direct TV, fridges & microwaves. Breakfast is included in the price of your room. Our rates are based on double occupancy. Our on-site steakhouse has a great menu with something for everyone. Our meat is aged for 21 days and is cooked to perfection just the way you like it. We also have a kids menu for children under 12. We do serve several varieties of local beer and wine. Our rolls, bread and desserts are baked daily in our very own bakery. We invite you to come stay at the Broken Spur. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Let the Broken Spur be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Broken Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken Spur Inn Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing