We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Cowboy Cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cowboy Homestead Cabins
Reviewed September 18, 2007

We spent 4 nights at these cabins in August after checking them out on a previous trip a few years ago and we're very glad we did. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. There are 4 nice- sized homey cabins on the property comfortably decorated in a country western style. We chose a 2 queen bed cabin for the 2 of us but cabins with king bed plus a couch and coffee table are also available. The kitchenette had everything we needed - no stove - but every cabin has it's own outside grill and picnic table. The setting is lovely and it was always so nice to come back after a day of hiking to relax on our porch and enjoy the quiet and beauty of the surroundings. The owners, the Torgensons, went out of their way to accommodate anything we needed. We will definitely stay there again and will probably make it a yearly event. The beds are wonderful and we slept like babies. It is so much homier than a hotel though we did spend our first nite at the Wonderland Hotel and found it very nice. The only caveat - which has nothing to do with the cabins - is that we found groceries, especially meat, very limited in Torrey. Next time, we'll pack accordingly. We did have a lovely dinner at Diablos especially if you're there at a time of the year when you can sit outside on their beautiful patio. One thing not to be missed is Randy Ramsley's Mesa Farm market in Caineville if you are coming into the park from the east. His produce is fabulous including fresh horno baked bread and every -cup-brewed -fresh coffee. We shopped there on both ends of our trip, coming and going. He's a delightful character and prices for absolutely fresh produce are very reasonable. He also sells at a one-man farmer's market at the bookstore in Torrey on Saturday afternoons.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank CondesaSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Cowboy Homestead Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 109 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2007

This is a great place to stay while visiting Capitol Reef National Park. The cabins are quiet, clean and spacious. The kitchen is well-equipped with coffee pot, toaster, microwave & fridge. And the beds are very comfortable! Make sure you try Diablo Cafe for dinner. Our best meal in southern Utah!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelersJournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

My husband and I loved this place. The cabin was so cute and comfortable. I loved the front porch and the view of the stars at night was magnificent. We wished we could have stayed another day. The owners are so pleasant and made us feel so welcome. Their dogs are friendly too. The cabins are located in a quiet place and the landscaping is very nice. The quaking aspens were very pretty. I would stay here again anytime. The price was very reasonable too and it is near Capitol Reef National Park.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cactuslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

What a wonderful surprise. After the heat of the desert, these cabins were located in a much cooler location. The cabins were quiet, private, clean, and spacious. I particularly enjoyed hanging out on the front porch and enjoying the cool breeze. The owners even invited us to some practice steer roping which was kind of like having our own private rodeo in the back yard. We loved watching the mother goose waddle around with her babies behind her. The family dogs were gentle and quiet. Of our two weeks of traveling, this quaint out of the way location was my favorite. The kids were allowed to roam around the grounds and pet the horses. On top of everything, it was very affordable. The only downside to Torrey is very limited groceries. We arrived there on a Tuesday and there was no milk to be found. The groceries are sparce and high priced.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank travelmomWesternN_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2006

This was our rogue booking on a trip full of hotels and motels... and I was so hoping that was wouldn't be disappointed by a stay in cabins... we weren't.
Arriving mid-afternoon after a long drive, we were able to sit out on the porches and just soak up the warmth of the sun and listen to the rustling aspens. It was a quiet spot after 4 days of hectic travel... We had one cabin with 2 queen beds and one with a king... both were lovely and clean, and spacious - the king even had a couch. The ammenities were great - extra towels (lovely and soft) and a kitchenette with a microwave and coffee maker... there was a grill and table outside.
Being some way from town, the night was pitch black which made for amazing stargazing - saw the Milky Way with the naked eye.
It really was just lovely to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Cathrynuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2006

My wife and I stayed 2 nights, while we hiked in Capitol Reef. We were very pleased with the cabins, the owners and the rate. There are 4 cabins (or 5?) and they sit in a large open space with great views of the desert and distant mountains. the cabins are clean, cozy, well lighted, heated, Satellite TV, a nice clean bathroom...no complaints. They have a front porch for relaxing after a hike and fabulous stargazing. We got our neighbors out stargazing and convinced them to turn off the porch light!
We would definately stay there again if we go back to Southern Utah.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GregWakeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2006

A great place, much better than staying in a hotel: bigger rooms, kitchenette, lots of lovely open space around you, very quiet. It's ten or so minutes to Torrey, then another ten getting to the center of Capitol Reef. We saw very little of the landlords as we spent most of our time hiking but they were very friendly when we did speak to them (and they have very friendly dogs!)

Incidentally while we were there we ate at both Cafe Diablo and Brink's Burgers in Torrey--at opposite ends of the price spectrum, but both well worth trying.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank hoipolloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrey hotels
4.2 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
3.0 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
784 reviews
3.7 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
3.8 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Torrey
25 reviews
2.8 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowboy Homestead Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowboy Homestead Cabins

Address: P.O. Box 750130, Located on Utah Highway 12, 3 miles south of Torrey, Torrey, UT 84775-0130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Torrey
Price Range: $97 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cowboy Homestead Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Cowboy Homestead Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowboy Homestead Cabins Hotel Torrey
Cowboy Homestead Cabins Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing