We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Capitol Reef Inn & Cafe
Ranked #4 of 8 Torrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Our family of six stayed here and overall had a good experience. The only real downfall was the cleanliness of the room. The hardwood floors were dirty and the sofa bed had dog food and pet hair under the cushions.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephenie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 188 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

Staying at the Capitol Reef Inn reminds me of being on a road trip as a kid in the 1970s. It's a charming little place. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Sure, this is a no-frills motel, but I kinda dig the minimalist decor. If you're searching for the Four Seasons, this ain't it. But if you want an old-school Route 66-type motel, this is your place. They have some very cool retro travel posters in the rooms. They have a cute little gift shop, and the food rocks (especially for us vegetarian types). It's a heck of a deal for $60. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank hildeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed one night after touring Capitol Reef National Park. The room was great, the beds good and the view spectacular...just like the park. The only restaurant open in March is their Cafe where we had a nice dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired12-31-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This was a great find! For such a cheap price, I was half expecting it to be a little fishy, but it turned out to be one of the greatest motels we stayed at during our roadtrip. You can drive straight up to the rooms, which are very spacious (two double beds even though it was just the two of us) and perfectly clean. The bathroom is a little smaller, but still manageable and there's a fridge and coffee maker.

There's a jacuzzi right outside, free to use for all guests and we didn't hesitate to test the lovely temperature of the water. It was the perfect way to wind down after a day of hiking through Bryce Canyon. The café that's part of the complex was also a great surprise. They have quite an extensive menu for such a small place and the food was more than decent. We had a great meal here, and a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy_Cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

My wife and I were touring the National Parks of the Southwest, half camping and moteling. We were turned away at the Captiol Reef NP campground. We head to Torrey to find a room. Our Fodors guide suggested staying in the Kiva at Capitol Reef Inn. The kiva is a free standing round rock building with a lodge pole roof. The room was very large with to king beds a gas stove/fireplace, ful kitchen. We have never seen anything like this. We had a wonderful time. The Capitol Reef Inn doesn't look like much from the road but it is well worth the stop. The resturant was very good also.

Room Tip: The Capitol Reef Inn has conventional room. There is only one Kiva. Make reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I stayed here recently for a couple of nights in Oct 2011. Despite the mediocre looks from the highway, my room was as neat as a pin , comfortable and at just over $ 50 per night it was great value. The simple earthy south western decor in the room was a nice touch as well . As for the restaurant here, you'll get a big serve of great food for a reasonable price. All round I highly recommend a stay here. From Down Under in Oz.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Last year we ate at the Cafe twice for breakfast. We had no idea there was an Inn here too. This year we decided to stay closer to the areas we were hiking....The Inn is a throw back to pre-large properties that are impersonal and sterile...back to Route 66 type motels We loved it. It was clean and comfortable and very quiet. The rate was very reasonable for the accommodation. The food is always excellent...this time we had dinner and breakfast. The service was first rate!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2NPTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
1.6 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
807 reviews
2.9 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.4 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
28 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
167 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Rim Rock Inn
The Rim Rock Inn
#5 of 8 in Torrey
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Reef Inn & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Reef Inn & Cafe

Address: 360 W. Main St., Torrey, UT 84775
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Torrey
Price Range: $75 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Capitol Reef Inn & Cafe 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Capitol Reef Inn & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Reef Inn & Cafe Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing