We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have stayed here on two occasions while traveling on a road trip, and enjoyed our stay each time. The staff is great, the rooms are clean, and the location of the property is ideal. Newer facilities nestled among huge trees. A nice pool/spa and large grassy area kept the kids occupied. Satellite TV in the rooms and a well-stocked general store is on the premises. Cell service is spotty, but free WiFi is offered. Centrally located in the small town of Torrey, it is walking distance to several restaurants, galleries and gift shops, and a short drive to Capitol Reef National Park. A great base from which to explore the natural beauty of the area. There is nothing fancy about the rooms, but they serve their purpose well and are priced right. We will stay here again on our next trip through the area.

Room Tip: Our car navigation system lead us to an address in Bicknell, a town a few miles up Highway 24 from T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalTMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    273
    56
    11
    4
See reviews for
201
330
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My traveling companion and I just completed our 14th vacation in Utah and our 4th consecutive stay at Austin's. We love this area and are always pleased with Austin's. The room is always very clean and the staff very accommodating and friendly. They have upgraded the rooms since last year to include new furniture and enclosed fridge, plus a microwave, new bedding...the grounds are well kept. The staff works very hard at making all the customers comfortable. We will definitely stay at Austin's again. We love the Capital Reef area and Austin's is the best place to come home to after a day of hiking and sightseeing!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ends of the bottom floor are excellent and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catright61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights en route to Moab. We remembered enjoying the place when we stayed here five years ago. It was pretty much the same - our king room with fridge and microwave was clean and spacious and included a dining table and chairs. The only thing different was the price was higher, but still reasonable at $86. There is a good coin op laundry on the premises.

When we were here before, the staff was very welcoming. This time, the woman in the office was not very friendly. I felt that I was imposing on her when I asked her for anything.

We were a bit disappointed with the general store as it didn't have the variety of take out food as on our last visit. They no longer made the delicious Mexican "fiesta bowls" we remembered. They told us that they cooked bbq chickens in the summer months, but not in April, so we had to dine in restaurants both nights. There are no other grocery outlets in Torrey as far as I could figure. (See separate reviews on Capitol Reef Resort Cafe and Red Cliff Pizza).

Breakfast was not included with the room, but could be purchased at the motel bakery. It seemed quite pricy, so we made breakfast in our room. There was free coffee available, but it was mediocre at best.

There are a lot of new accommodations in Torrey which we may be inclined to consider if we stay here again. We really enjoy Capitol Reef National Park and will probably be back this way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here one night mid April on our way to Moab. Very nice place but they overcharged my Visa card. When I complained 2 weeks later when I received my Visa bill, they reluctantly refunded the overcharge only to overcharge me the same amount again 2 days later. Had to cancel my credit card and file a formal complaint with VISA. The overcharge fees were very suspicious to me. Check your bill closely. I might stay here again but will pay in CASH.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torreyutahracefan, Owner at Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
As I told you, we were going through the growing pains of not only new computers, but also a completely new reservation system.The mistake was made and every time we tried to fix it, it was compounded It was finally resolved,and you were refunded in full. There was no dubious intent or willful overcharging..
We work very hard to make our guests stay a pleasant one, and am so sorry this happened to you.
Thank you for your review.
Randy Austin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

booked here based on excellent trip advisor reviews exceeded expectations clean, comfortable, friendly staff enjoyable stop on cross country motorcycle trip close to capital reef national park no disappointments here

Room Tip: request ground floor room walk right from parking lot to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here while visiting Capital Reef NP. It was clean and handy to the park and restaurants. Nice pool, great general store with a deli and a Laundromat as well. Nestled in the trees it was a nice oasis from the sun. It is family owned and they were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Had a pleasant stay here for one night after driving hwy 12 from Bryce. Had a ground floor room in the main block. Had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. Went to the pool for a short while and found it also well kept and clean. Ate dinner in Cafe Diablo, very nice, if a bit pricey. Next day just grabbed a coffee (free) in the morning before continuing on with our touring. Would recomend this motel if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cliveasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrey hotels
2.6 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
2.5 mi away
The Rim Rock Inn
The Rim Rock Inn
#5 of 7 in Torrey
267 reviews
2.1 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Torrey
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store

Property: Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Address: 12 W Main St, Torrey, UT 84775-8050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin`s Chuckwagon Lodge And General Store Hotel Torrey
Austins Chuckwagon Torrey
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge And General Store Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing