We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny and outdated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

If you stay anywhere in Torrey stay at the chuckwagon, but don't stay in the original rooms that are above the general store. Stay in the new rooms or the new cabins. The original rooms may be $50 dollars but they are extremely tiny, and very rustic. The air conditioning doesn't work well And it's hard to sleep at night because the hallway has a light that shines through the window in your room. The only good thing is its close to Capitol reef and the TVs have HBO. don't stay in the original rooms!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 743 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a delightful stay in Torrey, a tiny town just outside Capitol Reef Nat Park. While there was no breakfast included in the price of the room, it was a short walk to the store where a large cup of coffee was free to guests. Our room was very clean, the air conditioning worked great and the pool and spa were spotless.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly, The room was quite and clean. We enjoyed the pool. It was nice to have a store with many supplies. The balcony was a bonus, It has a good location in the town and near the park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The staff added a large fan, but lots of rooms had trouble getting cooled off, according to other guests. Coming back from hikes being hot and dirty, you want a room where the AC works as advertised. On a positive note, the pool and hot tub are large, clean, and beautiful, as are the grounds. A room with AC that worked would have made this a five-star stay

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bear7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

For many years, my hiking companion and I have made a yearly pilgrimage to the spectacular wonders of Capitol Reef, and we always stay at Austin's, and this year's weekly stay was wonderful, as always. The rooms are immaculate (NO bedbugs), reasonably priced, and there was always a friendly response by staff to any of our questions or needs. The motel is nicely landscaped, with pretty hanging baskets and barrels of flowers and is located under cooling trees when it's hot (this year we had some 95 degree daytime weather, and nights are comfortably cool. It's only a 10-15 minute drive to the ranger station and to the trailheads of several of our favorite hikes. The little store is surprisingly well stocked, with many fresh and organic fruits and veggies, and items one wouldn't necessarily expect in a little country store. The convenient laundry has always been clean with all machines in good working order. You're also walking distance from some great ice cream (Slackers), and across the street from Austin's there's a delightful little shop with some lovely silver and turquoise jewelry and some other unique items.

Word of advice...the word has apparently gotten out on this hidden and very special place, so make your reservations long in advance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetorry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My hiking buddy and I have stayed at Austin's several years and have thoughly enjoyed every vacation. This motel is located in the heart of Capitol Reef and has everything a person would need in their little store and deli. The rooms are very clean with very soft, thick towels. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The motel and surrounding grounds are excellently taken care of. The staff plants beautiful flowers throughout the motel area, with hanging plants both on the top and bottom floors. You couldn't ask for a nicer, more relaxing motel area to enjoy your vacation. Fruita and the visitor center are just 15 minutes from Austin's in Torrey, where the hiking and scenery is spectacular! This is the kind of place you would want to come back to time and time again.

Room Tip: Bottom rooms are more convenient than hauling luggage up two sets of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catright61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel was great, the rooms were clean , the location is perfect and the staff was very helpful and fun. Nice outdoor pool to hang at. The small store on the property has everything u need including a great bakery that serves breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadGlideTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
2.6 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
827 reviews
2.1 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store

Address: 12 W Main St, Torrey, UT 84775-8050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range: $99 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin`s Chuckwagon Lodge And General Store Hotel Torrey
Austins Chuckwagon Torrey
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge And General Store Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing