We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed 3 night here while visiting Capital Reef. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the view was amazing! The free breakfast was good. There isn't an elevator however. But with only 2 floors it wasn't that bad. The staff is very friendly. Would def. stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank payntr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    218
    86
    19
    5
See reviews for
173
267
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Right off the road at the turn to Capitol Reef, this hotel was convenient to everything in this remote area. Clean and modern, with a pleasant view of a horse corral from our hotel window, made us feel like we were in the real west. The room was just a bit cramped, but overall very nice for this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeBill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit our area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Red Sands Inn was a nice, clean and comfortable place to stay. I felt they really took great strides in taking care of the place. The staff was very friendly and willing to help with any questions. The complimentary breakfast had many choices and the view from our room was beautiful. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardinalsfan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for saying at the Red Sands Hotel for your family trip. We appreciate the great review and hope you will visit our property again.

Best Regards,
Kelli Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Quebec
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Friendly staff
Close to Capitol Reef National Park
Nice and clean rooms
Pet friendly!
Lots of outdoor space
Horses live on the property!
Complimentary breakfast (eggs, sausage, coffee, tea, waffles, bagels, etc.)
Free WiFi

Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kloup91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Red Sands Hotel during your trip. We appreciate the great review and hope you will visit our property again.

Best Regards,
Kelli Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights in late October while hiking in Capitol Reef NP. We were very happy with our choice. The room itself was quite nice - with a microwave and a mini fridge (which many of the hotels in Torrey do not have). Our room looked out the back and my wife enjoyed seeing the horses in the fields. The breakfast, while nothing to rave about, was adequate. The location is good, a little further away (maybe a mile) than the Best Western from the Capitol Reef, but closer to the main eating establishments in Torrey. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandM_from_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Red Sands Hotel during your trip. We appreciate the great review and hope you will visit our property again.

Best Regards,
Kelli Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayce, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Red Sands is an excellent choice for the Capitol Reef area, well located and of good quality. We enjoyed the views of horses behind the hotel. If you have baggage and don't like stairs ask for a room on the first floor. The king rooms are functional, clean and well supplied. We utilized the frig and microwave in the room too. Torrey Utah (but not the NP) basically shuts down towards the end of October or beginning of November, so my suggestion is mid-October or earlier. Be prepared for some colder weather in late October. We would return and stay longer if we had the opportunity. The trip to Torrey is memorable if you come up through Hwy. 12 from the Bryce Canyon area. It's a great drive take your time. The website info was accurate and we had no issues on either check-in or out.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor are quieter but you need to walk up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeJM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Red Sands Hotel during your trip. You made some great suggestions for traveling to our area as well! We appreciate the great review and hope you will visit our property again.

Best Regards,
Kelli Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

It's a very nice modern place. The staff was polite and efficient, and the room was clean and modern. They responded quickly to a problem with the TV remote not working.
The free breakfast was nice, some hot items.

The only problem is the lack of an elevator, which seems very odd for a new building.
You have to carry your luggage up a long flight of stairs to the 2nd floor, were most of the rooms are. (No bell hops)

But compared to other motels in rural Utah, this looks like one of the best.

Room Tip: Get a ADA room, unless you need exercise climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Red Sands Hotel during your trip. Along with all the other hotels in the area, we do not have elevators. We are so sorry for the hassle. We appreciate the great review and hope you will visit our property again.

Best Regards,
Kelli Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrey hotels
2.0 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.4 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.8 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
1.5 mi away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
0.5 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sands Hotel

Property: Red Sands Hotel
Address: 670 East Hwy 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Sands Hotel Capitol Reef your gateway to adventure in one of southern Utah's most beautiful national parks. Red Sands Hotel's clean rooms, new plush beds, flat screen TV's and refreshing pool make it the perfect home base. Start your day with a buffet-style hot breakfast including scrambled eggs or omelets,(selections rotated daily for variety) sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh bagels & breads, seasonal fruit, juices and milk. Of course we serve coffee and tea 24/7 at Red Sands Hotel for your convenience. After an exciting day of hiking through red rock, biking on endless trails, and discovering the beauty of Capitol Reef, relax at Red Sands Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sands Hotel Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing