We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel in a small town.”
Review of Red Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good motel in a small town.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very nice and helpful people. Had lots of advice on what to see in the area. The rooms are nice and clean. The downstairs rooms seem to be larger. There is no elevator for this 2 story motel so be aware of that. Breakfast was standard motel breakfast and very good. We were pleased.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    227
    95
    19
    6
See reviews for
182
281
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I were traveling through southern Utah exploring the many beautiful National Parks and charming little towns and we came to Torrey, Utah and found Red Sands Hotel. The lady at the front desk went above and beyond in helping us plan new hiking and sight seeing itineraries and we are very thankful for the recommendation to explore Goblin Valley State Park..It was awesome!! The beds here were fabulous and the rooms were very clean. We made great use of the heated pool and hot tub. We thought the free breakfast in the morning was more than adequate, there was a choice of scrambled eggs and hot waffles and the coffee was actually pretty good too. We would definitely recommend Red Sands Hotel to anyone looking to stay in Torrey or around Capitol Reef.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The receptionist was efficient but not overly welcoming, told us our room was on the first floor at the far end of the hotel but we would have to access it via reception and walk the length of the corridor as the door at that end was broken.
Hotels.com had given us incorrect information about the standard and facilities of the room which we booked on line, either that or The Red Sands had provided the wrong information. The hotel / receptionist could not do anything about it apart from (begrudgingly) provide a coffee maker for the room and assure us it had HBO so we had a room which smelt stale and had a very old TV with a poor picture (& HBO!)
Breakfast was mixed, good to have some cereal, fresh real semi skimmed milk and OJ from the fridge, toast and waffles you can make yourself, however the dry scrambled egg, pre-made omelettes and pork sausage patties and coffee were awful as was the use of polystyrene and paper plates and bowls and plastic cutlery.
Good; pool, beds, free Wi-Fi, location
Poor; everything else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tivvytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Showed up here after 2 nights camping out and was greeted warmly upon checkin. Room was large and very clean. Lots of hot water in the bathroom. Flat screen TV, fridge, wifi, everything works well. Got a good night's sleep-I'd stay here again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very well run Hotel. Four of us stayed here on our way to Capitol Reef.
Rooms are large and clean, Breakfast was great.
Very Friendly Staff that are willing to share tips on local dinning and
attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were touring the area and looking for a place close to Capitol a Reef NP. The Red Sands was the only relatively reasonably priced accommodation. The price and location attracted us but also the name suggested it was not part of a chain and we were tired of so many Super 8s, Days Inns etc..so were looking for something different. Red Sands was not very different but was ultimately perfectly fine. The building, facilities, breakfast etc are very typical. It is clean has good, helpful and friendly staff.

In this location and at this price the Red Sands Inn is your best bet. We would have no problem returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

great location not far from Capitol Reef, right at the end of road 12.
Nice little swimming pool with hot tub
very good breakfast with lot of choice (waffles, hot savoury meals, yogourts, bread, etc)
clean rooms
very nice reception girl

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank French-girl-in-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
0.4 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
741 reviews
2.0 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.8 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
155 reviews
1.5 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Torrey
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sands Hotel

Property: Red Sands Hotel
Address: 670 East Hwy 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Sands Hotel Capitol Reef your gateway to adventure in one of southern Utah's most beautiful national parks. Red Sands Hotel's clean rooms, new plush beds, flat screen TV's and refreshing pool make it the perfect home base. Start your day with a buffet-style hot breakfast including scrambled eggs or omelets,(selections rotated daily for variety) sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh bagels & breads, seasonal fruit, juices and milk. Of course we serve coffee and tea 24/7 at Red Sands Hotel for your convenience. After an exciting day of hiking through red rock, biking on endless trails, and discovering the beauty of Capitol Reef, relax at Red Sands Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sands Hotel Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing