We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar City, Utah
2 reviews
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel Labor Day weekend. The front desk lady was really nice and friendly. She gave me and family a lot of information about the area and recommend us to a really good restaurant. I read another review that was put on here and I don't know why they said the she was in a bad mood. She was really friendly, nice and greeted us when we came through the door. The breakfast was really good. There is a lot to chose from. They have eggs, sausage ( and NO it was not moldy), hot cereal and cold cereal, juice, coffee, hot choc., milk, waffles, wheat bread, three different kinds of bagels which where blueberry, wheat, and white, fruit, and tea. They also cleaned are room that day and it was as clean as when we checked. The beds are nice and comfortable had a good nights sleep . I will definitely stay here again when I come back for my vacation. Everything was excellent had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny316151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are glad when guests enjoy our breakfast and the friendly staff! We are always doing our best to make sure you are having a great time in Capitol Reef National Park!

Thank you,
Kelli Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    218
    86
    19
    5
See reviews for
173
267
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Honestly when I first walked into the room I was pleased...it wasn't wonderful but it looked clean. I have to say I stayed 2 nights and didn't sleep at all...the bed was really hard. The first day was ok and then the next day we had thrown our towels and washcloths on the floor so we could get new ones and when we got back from hiking the maid had left no washcloths (I need to wash my face) and no new bar soap (I needed to bath) no more plastic cups (we wanted water to drink) and no new bath mat (We could slip and fall) well I could have went down to the desk and asked for all of these items but the long haired blonde girl at desk was in such a bad mood that I wouldn't have dared ask for them. Maybe the maid was mad that we didn't leave a tip...not sure but she left an envelope asking for a tip. I wouldn't stay here again. I like the BrokenSpur. Also the continental breakfast is basically a piece of toast and a bagel. Well they had a piece of sausage but it looked that moldy crabby patty from SpongeBob.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tirviner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I am very sorry you didn't have a good experience at our hotel. We would have definitely gotten more towels to your room if we had known. However thank you so much for the feed back so I can check into why your towels and amenities were not stocked in the first place. We always have many options for breakfast. Hot and cold cereal, eggs or omelets with sausage, waffles, fruit, yogurt, toast, bagels, coffee, juice, and milk. We also only use fresh food prepared that morning for our breakfast. However thank you for the feedback it is always appreciated so we can continue to improve and provide a great, relaxing experience for our guests.

Thank you,
Kelli Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

In our opinion this is an average hotel. The rooms are okay, the pool is fine, the breakfast not so special. After we checked in we found out that we had noisy neighbours. The reception gave us immediatly another available room which was nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here last night and was glad that I checked with trip advisor. This is an extremely clean hotel. I would recommend it to anyone that needs to stay in Torrey. Gave us good information about restaurants too!

Room Tip: Great breakfast room with an outstanding view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marge J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Red Sands Hotel and thank you for the great review! Please visit us again.

Best Regards,
Kelli Hansen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a city by a lake, WA
Level Contributor
177 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

When we walked in, our 9yo decided that he really liked the hotel and wanted to stay longer than one night. It was day 5 of our vacation and our third lodging. I guess that means that the lobby leaves a good impression.

We arrived in Torrey earlier than expected and stopped in to see if we could do an early check in. Delila said that she thought our room was just cleaned and would check. It was and we were able to unwind in our room after a long drive from Tropic before heading to Capitol Reef which is only ~10-15 minutes away.

Some features of the hotel/rooms:

• Plenty of free parking

• Super great rates: I couldn't remember what rates we booked from one lodging to another. When we paid upon arriving, I was happily surprised at the low AAA rate.

• Room amenities: Flat screen TV with Dish (or DirecTV?), refrigerator (microwave available in breakfast dining area), nice view of a horse pasture.

• Computer: I noticed a desk with computer

• Free wi-fi: no password needed

Pool: The pool is open until 10pm (can't remember if it opens at 10am?). Use your room key to access. Plenty of towels available. Shallow end is 3 feet, deep end is 5 feet. There's a hot tub right next to it.

• Laundry: I didn't notice restricted hours for the laundry. It's on the far end of the hall near the pool and restrooms. There is a room somewhat across from it that appeared to be for staff. It cost $1.75 for wash and $1.25 for dry and was very handy after five days of hikes and excursions.

Breakfast: There is a complimentary breakfast which includes scrambled eggs, sausage, waffle maker, cereal, oatmeal, breads, coffee, juice. I've probably missed something but that covers the major items.

There are other hotels a little closer to Capitol Reef but we would probably stay here again. Red Sands Hotel has everything we needed. It's in a good location near shops in town and places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wannabefolkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

i would recommend this hotel for a couple of reasons, First of all your whole point of being out here is to see capital reef ( which is fantastically beautiful ) - so you really dont need your hotel to be anything other than clean, friendly, and convenient. Red Sands fits it all. Staff was friendly and helfpul with tips. They have a VERY nice and above expected breakfast -- that will totally fill you up with plenty of options before you head out on your day of hiking. They also have a nicely maintained INdoor pool ( so works if its chilly outside ) which is great if you have kids . TIPS: get your coffee at the Gifford house in the national park ( about the only good coffee that is around ) another TIP : go up the road in teh opposite direction of the park and one of the lodges has roaming buffalo out front -- so cool

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ofriedman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

On a trip around Utah's parks, Torrey has a central location near Capitol Reef. This hotel was reasonably priced and fairly new. Rooms were big and clean and the pool was nice. But don't expect a bargain at Torrey restaurants.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelarry55354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrey hotels
2.0 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.4 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.8 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
1.5 mi away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
0.5 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sands Hotel

Property: Red Sands Hotel
Address: 670 East Hwy 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Sands Hotel Capitol Reef your gateway to adventure in one of southern Utah's most beautiful national parks. Red Sands Hotel's clean rooms, new plush beds, flat screen TV's and refreshing pool make it the perfect home base. Start your day with a buffet-style hot breakfast including scrambled eggs or omelets,(selections rotated daily for variety) sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh bagels & breads, seasonal fruit, juices and milk. Of course we serve coffee and tea 24/7 at Red Sands Hotel for your convenience. After an exciting day of hiking through red rock, biking on endless trails, and discovering the beauty of Capitol Reef, relax at Red Sands Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sands Hotel Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing