We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Red Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

my daughter had her wedding there they was great friendly and beautiful place. Nice set up and beautiful views, great location from park and food places as well. Nice setup and great staff nice breakfast included. And beds are nice and comfy

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisybluejeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We are so happy for your daughter and new son in law. It was a beautiful wedding and we were glad to have been a part of it!

Sincerely,
Kelli Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 615 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Red Sands and would recommend anyone going to Capitol Reef or Torrey stay here. The room and pool was very nice and clean. Also the rooms have new beds and they were very comfortable. The staff was very nice and friendly and the hot breakfast that is included is way excellent. Try this motel out and you won't be disappointed!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nellie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed yourself and had a great nights sleep on our new beds! We hope you can visit the area again and will stay at Red Sands Hotel.

Sincerely,
Kelli Hansen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

With my wife and friends we stay on Red Sands and we have a really good experience. Very clean, friendly staff, indoor pool and hot tub, clean rooms w/ mountains view, hot and abundant breakfast, the staff offer us maps for the area w/ different alternatives and routs w/ the best views, even tell us the best time to come back, and all of that included on a very decent price. Thanks for a Priceless Weekend.

Room Tip: Ask the staff, they will put you on the right one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff here at Red Sands Hotel, I would like to thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us and for sharing your views of your stay with the online community here on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to have provided you with great memories and we sincerely look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I wasn't expecting much in this small cow town but I was pleasantly surprised to find this little hotel near Capitol Reef offering a breakfast similar to what you might find at a Holiday Inn Express and beds at least as comfortable as HI. The lady at the front desk told me the owners upgraded their beds to the same quality standards as most four star resorts. All I know is I slept fantastic and just barely made it to breakfast in time (closes pretty early at 9:30am) but there was still plenty of scrambled eggs, cereal and juice. The front desk lady was friendly but there wasn't anyone there in the morning when I checked out and I wanted to get some directions to Goblin Valley but they do have a computer and a iPad in the lobby which was extremely helpful in getting directions for the rest of my trip that day.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor overlooking the pasture with the horses and deer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 926PaulM926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff here at Red Sands Hotel, I would like to thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us and for sharing your views of your stay with the online community here on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed our full breakfast and had a good night sleep. It was our pleasure to have provided you with great service and we sincerely look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Red Sands is a nice alternative in Torrey. It's a newer place and was one of 3 places open in mid-March, very early in the spring. It's less expensive than Quality Inn and was very clean, the beds were comfy, it had indoor pool/hot tub, the rooms were fine and a decent breakfast is included in the price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side have great views of Boulder Plateau
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snofl8k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff here at Red Sands Hotel, I would like to thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us and for sharing your views of your stay with the online community here on Trip Advisor. We are happy you enjoyed our indoor pool and our location. It was our pleasure to have provided you with great service and we sincerely look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family stayed one night there on our way to Arches National Park from Bryce Canyon. The room was not that clean in our standard. I found hair on a bed cover. The staffs were friendly and looked tried to do their best to keep it up. The breakfast selection was pretty minimal to us. I liked the fact that they had heated indoor swimming pool which was good for little kids. The town of Torrey itself is pretty small and didn't seem to have many choices for the dinner. The hotel didn't have on-site restaurants. Although I haven't been to other hotels in the area, I think this hotel should be pretty competitive in many aspects to others in the area. I would consider driving 3 more hours to find a place in Moab next time.

Room Tip: They charge you when you check in. Please double check the rate when you checkin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff here at Red Sands Hotel, I would like to thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us and for sharing your views of your stay with the online community here on Trip Advisor. It helps us to better our guest experience and improve guest services. It was our pleasure to have provided you with your stay at Red Sands Hotel and we sincerely look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The beds were extremely comfortable. The room was very quiet, despite having multiple families with multiple children nearby. The only problem was the breakfast--we were there half and hour before it ended and most of the food was gone the first day. The second day there seemed to be enough food but we were much earlier. So just plan on eating early!

Room Tip: The view from the windows at the front of the hotel is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff here at Red Sands Hotel, I would like to thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us and for sharing your views of your stay with the online community here on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the feed back on breakfast. We are always striving to make our guests experience better! It was our pleasure to have provided you with great service and we sincerely look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
2.0 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.4 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
827 reviews
0.8 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sands Hotel

Address: 670 East Hwy 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range: $146 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Sands Hotel Capitol Reef your gateway to adventure in one of southern Utah's most beautiful national parks. Red Sands Hotel's clean rooms, new plush beds, flat screen TV's and refreshing pool make it the perfect home base. Start your day with a buffet-style hot breakfast including scrambled eggs or omelets,(selections rotated daily for variety) sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh bagels & breads, seasonal fruit, juices and milk. Of course we serve coffee and tea 24/7 at Red Sands Hotel for your convenience. After an exciting day of hiking through red rock, biking on endless trails, and discovering the beauty of Capitol Reef, relax at Red Sands Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sands Hotel Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing