We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice. Good price.”
Review of Red Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice hotel. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Breakfast was nicely done. The only negative was the too-soft mattress. Assuming this room was typical, they really need to be replaced. Overall, I'd stay again and I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel2Go2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 616 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at the Red Sands Hotel on our Way to Capitol Reef National Park. We did not have high expectations for the hotel but were still disappointed in a few things. We have been amazed at how friendly people were in Utah, especially at the front desk of other hotels. The staff at Red Sands was not rude but were certainly not especially friendly. First impressions are important.

We noticed there was no security on the side exit doors so anyone could just come into the building any time day or night. They have spent a good deal of money making the lobby look upscale and have flute music playing in the background. They could have put their money to better use in other areas.

The layout is a bit confusing. We had some trouble finding the correct door to enter to go to our room. There is also no elevator. I felt sorry for the cleaning staff having to drag everything they needed up and down the stairs.

The breakfast area and ice machine etc. were on either side of a hallway that was the main thoroughfare to get to the rooms. The food was pretty thin with hard boiled eggs being the only protein available. A few yogurts would be helpful.

It was not a bad place but could be a bit better. It was a convenient location but nothing memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor especially if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sctraveller058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for the review. We will continue to provide customer service training to our new staff members which will hopefully reflect in future guest experiences. We apologize our staff did not treat you as expected and will work hard to ensure we all try harder to please our guests during their stay with us. There are a couple of things we would like to correct with all due respect to you; we do have a secure entry at both the West entrance door and the main North entrance doors. You must have a key card programmed by our staff in order to enter the building from the West at any time during the day or night and you must have a key card to enter the front of the building at night. We have 24/7 surveillance and motion detection throughout the building. We provide a great deal of exterior lighting around the entire building and the parking lot for added security. Our staff does not have to haul equipment up and down the stairs as there is a secure maid’s closet on the second floor as well as on the first floor; although our cleaning staff does appreciate that you have considered their demanding work load. Last our interior corridors are laid out fairly simply with a hall down the middle of each floor and stairs at either end. The room numbers are also fairly standard with all "100" numbers on the first floor and all "200" numbers on the second floor. Please do not hesitate to ask the staff for directions if you are confused about how to get to your room, we are always available to help. Again, thank you for your stay with us and we hope to take your suggestions and improve upon our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my overall stay here. The rooms were very clean and the bed were extremely comfortable. I haven't slept that well in a long time. The staff was excellent. They were all very kind and all my needs were met. And they had a good breakfast too. All around a great place to stay for all types of travelers. I look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittneyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you so much! We love it when our guests have a great stay with us. This is what makes it worth all the effort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The room was comfy and clean. The bathroom was very dark though. They had a good selection at breakfast. The walls were kind of thin and we could hear the TV in the next room. Very nice staff. Definitely a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler092006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for the review. We have removed the table cloths due to guest comments. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay with us and unfortunately it doesn't sound like our staff told you about the great restaurants and amenities like Cafe' Diablo, Slackers hamburgers and shakes and the Saddlery (Torrey's brand new Bar & Steakhouse), just to name a few, and the market store, art gallery, book store and city park, all less than a mile away from our location. We are only a three mile drive to the National Park and we are only a few hundred feet away from the Scenic Byway 12 intersection to Bryce Canyon. All the driving along Hwy 24 near Torrey is scenic and the benefit of being closer to town is not always known to our guests; so we will do better to include this information to our guests in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We strive to help our guests enjoy their time in Torrey and around the Capitol Reef area as much as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The price was very good, including breakfast and we chose based on the other reviews. We are happy with our stay here. The room was clean, everything worked fine. We had screen on the window so we preferred to sleep with the AC off (very noisy) and the window open. Breakfast was ok. In the breakfast room I didn't like the dirty and shiny tablecloths. We had a first floor room with view on the parking lot. It was ok for one night. My daughter loved the hummingbirds flying around the hummingbird feeders outside the main entrance. Check-in and out were ok. However, when driving to Capital Reef we discovered that there were other hotels closer to the park. I remember a Best Western, but I'm sure I saw at least 3 hotels having nice views on the red cliffs of the park. I was surprised, because when I was searching for the hotel in Torrey, I hadn't realized that there was the possibility to stay so close to the western park entrance. If I ever will go back to Capital Reef, I think I would try to stay in one of the properties closer to the park. In any case Torrey is a "non-existent" village (I mean no way to walk anywhere) so it doesn't make much sense so stay "downtown" if the only reason of the stay is visiting Capital Reef.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice. There has never been a flaw. Clean room, Comfortable beds, blueberry bagels and waffle machiene, awesome jacuzzi, great service, and a decent rate are just a few things i enjoyed during my stay. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedSandsHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

THANK YOU! We always appreciate our return guests! Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our room was large and clean. Wifi worked well and we had a fridge and microwave. Torrey's location near Capitol Reef park is very convenient. Other motels on east side of town probably have better views of the red cliffs. The motel employees were very helpful and the onsite laundry was just what we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52cali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
2 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.4 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
830 reviews
0.8 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sands Hotel

Address: 670 East Hwy 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range: $138 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Sands Hotel Capitol Reef your gateway to adventure in southern Utah's most beautiful National Park. We have new clean rooms, plush beds, flat screen TV's with premium channels, in room coffee, guest laundry, hair dryers, Microwave and refrigerators, This makes it the perfect home base. Start your day with a healthy style breakfast including several selections and a variety of options. We offer a Waffle Bar and Oatmeal bar, with several selections and toppings, eggs, cereals, bread, seasonal fruit, juices and milk. We serve coffee and tea 24/7 at Red Sands Hotel for your convenience. After an exciting day of hiking through Red Rock country, biking on endless trails, and discovering the beauty of Capitol Reef, relax at Red Sands Hotel. We have a inviting heated pool and Hot tub, or you may enjoy our fitness room and fire-pit while star gazing. Watch for our Grand Opening in 2018 including dining options, a elevator, Yoga room, spa options along with much more ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sands Hotel Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing