We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Corona, California
1 review
“Okay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

Everything was clean and comfortable. Staff was nice and accommodating. Continental breakfast was not great. I got sick at the end of second day which was Sunday, May 2. It felt like food poisoning. It may have been the milk in a thermos pitcher that I put on my cereal but don't know for sure. I'm still recovering and it is four days later.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank friendlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    99
    67
    39
    17
See reviews for
65
175
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

For the price this is the place to stay. It sits just outside of the small town of Torrey and is a short drive into Capitol Reef park. The view out your window is fantastic!
There were still some renovations being made since Howard Johnson took over. The lobby was being painted but the gentlemen at the desk were quite nice. Breakfast was disappointing- just 2 kinds of cereal and the 'juice' was not fruit juice. We found the room somewhat dark but some new paint would help that. Beds too firm for our taste. Over all it was an OK place for a night.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrainsRFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

This hotel is new to the Howard Johnson brand. The location is picture postcard perfect – just out of town, along the highway, with the red cliffs and mesas as a backdrop. The room was inexpensive, comfortable, clean and a continental breakfast was included. Capitol Reef Park is conveniently close, just up the road in one direction and Torrey is nearby in the other direction. We dined at the local Pasta & Pizza pub-style café, just up the road. It was very cozy and offered good, freshly cooked food, draft beer, etc. This hotel is ideally situated for an overnight stop on the canyon tour. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thrifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

This hotel has an upmarket look and the rooms are very plesant with nice views. It has a big lobby where you can sit comfortably and a good sized dining room in which a good breakfast is provided. The man on the reception desk was very pleasant and helpful and offered what we considered a reasonable rate for our one night stay. It is a bit outside Torrey so necessary to drive if you want to try Torrey's amazing restaurant, Cafe Diablo. There are also some hidden falls (hence the name of the hotel) which you can easily walk to.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratty09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

O ne of the best hotels we stayed in during our holiday to the USA ,as good as if not better than many of the big names.The roooms were clean and comfortable with all the usual facilities. The breakfast was good with a variety dishes an excellent start to the day.The manager was extremely helpful in finding us hotels for our onward journey to Mexican hat and Monument valley. We stayed here for one night only sometime during the first week in Oct 09. Thank you
Chris and Pam Fryer ( from England UK )

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mexicanhat25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed at Hidden Falls for 2 nights and got a great deal. The brand new hotel is just 2 miles west of Capitol Reef NP, and is a perfect place to stop over to view the park. The hotel is very well maintained and the rooms are very clean. Our room had a nice large refrigerator and microwave. The continental breakfast is certainly good and one can fill up before heading out for hikes in the park.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arunachala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

This is definitely not a B&B. Its a small hotel. Its very close to Capitol Reef NP. Room was clean, functional, and quiet but is was a standard no frills hotel room. The Internet connectivity didn't work for me. Breakfast was continental and seemed to be standard store bought pastries. Value is excellent for the price paid. If you want a low cost clean hotel room, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doslobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrey hotels
0.5 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
1.2 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
1.5 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rim Rock Inn
The Rim Rock Inn
#5 of 7 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef

Property: Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
Address: 877 North State Road 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Howard Johnson Capitol Reef)
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Affordable Inn Of Capitol Reef Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing