We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capitol Reef Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed February 4, 2009

We, a party of four, spent one night here in mid-September, 2008. A very convenient location just off the main road to/from Capitol Reef NP. Check-in was quick and efficient. The bedrooms were large and comfortable, and had great views to the north over the lovely sandstone scenery of this part of Utah. The only downside we found, was some noisy plumbing, but it was very quiet at night.
The next morning, as we prepared to leave, one of our party accidentally locked the car key in trunk. The hotel receptionist was very sympathetic and helpful in finding a mechanic to come to hotel, and unlock the car for us.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Arandale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    573
    233
    40
    21
See reviews for
388
617
52
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We were on a tour of Utah National Parks and ended up getting in when the temperature read 9F on the thermometer.

It's not the Ritz Carleton, but everything was clean. Heater worked well, which was critical with those temps.

Gorgeous view out the back patio onto red rock cliffs.

Continental breakfast was not a massive spread, but there were homemade goodies, very helpful staff, and the coffee and tea was hot and they gave me a big cup to go too.

The real kicker for my write up was that I left my camera battery charger in the room and didn't realize it til we hit Arizona. I called them up, they took my number down and looked right away for it. They found it (battery probably fell out) and called me back and they didn't hesitate to ship it to our home.

thx Torrey, UT keep that service up and you'll do great!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Town is small and not much by way of restaurants
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank munge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2008

Brilliant Hotel! This hotel was an overnight stop as we travelled from Bryce Canyon to Moab along the scenic highway (Highway 12 – which is a must!) IT was one of the best hotels along the route and proved excellent value for money. The check in was excellent with friendly helpful staff. We had a large room with separate living room, and kitchen area. Large patio doors overlooked the grounds, with a fantastic uninterrupted view of the mountains behind the hotel. In an evening the lawn was a wash with various wildlife. Breakfast at the hotel was great; good value for money and were served by friendly attentive staff. For an evening meal, you could use the hotel restaurant, or just across from the hotel is a small private hotel, which has a restaurant, attached to the rooms. We ate there and found the food and service to be excellent and great value.
We would strongly recommend this hotel. It is a great location for the National Park (One of the quietist in the US); it has nice rooms, friendly staff and offers great value. Best of all the coach parties haven’t found Capitol Reef! This hotel scores 10/10 in its class.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

This hotel is very nice, its has a pool and spa which gave great relief after a long drive to the area and our time in Capitol Reef. The hotel when we arrived was empty but our room was not ready. We eventually got in around 4 and was given an end room as requested. The rooms were big and clean with all amenities needed to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

The surroundings of this hotel make it a very relaxing place to stay its very quiet and within easy reach of Capitol Reef.

The reception staff were not the friendliest but the restaurant staff made up for that. The restaurant food was ok, a little pricey and if I returned I would try the other restaurants in the area.

A little coffee shop we found about a mile before the hotel is well worth a visit.

All in all this hotel was pretty good value for money .

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartanangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2008

This was a very nice Best Western... The views were excellent... The staff friendly... Would definitely stay there again...

  • Liked — very nice with good view
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EG1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

We had one of the two room suites on the West side of the property. (A bedroom, bathroom and a living area with sofa, table and a second TV with a DVD player. (It might have been a VHS player, I don't remember, I didn't use it. But they do rent movies in the store in the lobby.) That room also contained the sink, coffee maker and fridge, so the noise from the fridge was eliminated from the sleeping area.)

The room goes all the way through the building, so on one side is the entrance that you can pull your car up to the door, and the other is a set of glass doors that leads to a small patio area (complete with a couple of chairs) with a great view of the Reef. There's also a large expanse of lawn with a couple of fountains in the back too, complete with a couple of bunnys. :-) No screen door, though, and you'll let a fly or two in if you keep it open on a nice day.

It's one of the closest motels to the park, and a nice place to relax after a day hiking through Capital Reef.

We walked to the on-site restaurant, which wasn't bad, but then too, we were hungry from the day's activities.

The room was clean and comfortable, check-in was a little slow, but not annoyingly so. Wifi is available, but the machine they have available in the lobby has no privacy. (I'd never use a public machine like that, anyway.)

If I had any complaint at all, it was the lights in the back of the motel which prevented a full view of the stars at night. (The full moon didn't help either, but it was still better than the light pollution of Chicago... :-))

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind...
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BackroadJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

After a spectacular drive on scenic highway 12 over Hog's Back from Bryce Canyon we arrived at BW Capitol Reef Resort, which is located in a fantastic position just a few miles from the Capitol Reef National Park Visitor Centre. Views in all directions. We checked in and were allocated a ground floor room at the back of the main reception block - we weren't too keen on the room as it had a metal staircase to the first floor right outside the door - so we asked if there were any other rooms available. We were then given a room in one of the single level blocks to the left of reception - (unfortunately roadside - you can't win 'em all - but still a bit of a view). This block actually looked quite new and all the furnishings were in very good condition. We had a large Kingside bed and a separate comfortable sofa - and the usual fridge,microwave etc. + a small kitchen type sink area. There was also a tennis court, pool and jacuzzi style hot tub on site. It was quite cool and rainy when we arrived - so gave these a miss.

I cannot comment on the restaurant as we chose to try the Rim Rock Restaurant directly across the road for our evening meal - which we enjoyed - and also decided to move on the next morning and get breakfast en-route to Moab. I would recommend this accommodation on the room we had - no strong chemical odours nor flies experienced by us.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Not quite so handy for a choice of restaurants being a couple of miles outside Torrry.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ManxMaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrey hotels
1.7 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
724 reviews
2.6 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
2.0 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.1 mi away
The Rim Rock Inn
The Rim Rock Inn
#5 of 7 in Torrey
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Torrey
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Reef Resort

Property: Capitol Reef Resort
Address: 2600 East Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starting at check-in, you'll love the cozy, clean and sophisticated rooms that offer abundant amenities, including cable satellite television with Starz(R) and Encore(R), a coffeemaker, free high-speed Internet access and much more. Make your stay extra special by booking a Garden Suite, a mini-suite or a room with a balcony or Red Rock Cliff views. With Chimney Rock Restaurant located on the premises, a delicious meal is never far away. Just one mile from Capitol Reef National Park, you can explore almost 100 miles of natural wonders, including cliffs, canyons, domes and natural bridges. From Hickman's Bridge and Fishlake National Forest to Anasazi State Park and the Prehistoric Petroglyph, there are many other stunning sights to see and they're all within about an hour of this Torrey hotel. Additionally, enjoy easy access to all the area's parks, where you can delight in hiking, backpacking, canyoneering and photo tours. Love outdoor adventure? Our property puts you in the perfect location, as we're situated in the Grand Circle of National Parks - plan a day trip to the Grand Staircase, Bryce Canyon National Park, Canyonlands National Park or Zion National Park. Situated right off of Highway 12, enjoy exploring so many more attractions and being able to easily get where you're going when staying at this Torrey, UT hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Best Western Torrey
Torrey Best Western
Capitol Reef Resort Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing