We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly nice hotel with marvelous view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capitol Reef Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is very well located for both Torrey and Capital Reef National Park, and there are two restaurants available next to the hotel. The hotel facade is mundane, but the room is decorated nicely with quality bedding and it was clean. The bath is old fashioned and not upscale and there is no microwave or refrigerator. The big asset is the beautiful view from the window and the balcony. The wifi in the room worked nicely. It was a perfect hotel for a quick night's stay in that scenic area.

Room Tip: All rooms would have the scenic view and easy parking at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasTXMiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Thank You we heard your comments we are working this off season to add microwaves and fridges to the red rock view rooms and also new counter tops will be in by next season. Thank You again for taking the time to comment. CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

Loved the best western motels we stayed at and plan to use best western again if available..... Very comfortable very reasonable price, great internet. Everything about the place was wonderful. The morning breakfast was absolutely wonderful. Everything you could ask for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

What a great comment I cant thank you enough for this. We are so happy you loved you stay with us. CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Clean and very friendly staff. Hotel manager was very accommodating as we did NOT have reservations and all hotels were booked. She even made advance reservations for our next stop.
Room was clean but facing the busy street (last room available). Very suitable for just a one night stay!


Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank EMB1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We are happy to help were we can it does get very busy here rooms go fast in th ehigh season. Thank You so much CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Overall I was happy with my stay here and I will return the next time I visit Capital Reef. The price was competitive, the location perfect and the staff nice. WiFi was an issue, but we dealt with it. It just required us to log back in often. A pain, but again, we dealt with it. We were here for the park. Not the WiFi. We liked the accommodations and the room was spotless. It was noisy. We could hear shower and talking from the the other rooms. Nothing a white noise maker on the iPad couldn't fit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Sorry about the internet issues you had, we are happy you enjoyed the beautiful setting our motel has. CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Clean, Average Price, Comfortable room and beds. Pretty fast internet. Attached non-affiliated restaurant is good enough to eat at. Wish there was a complimentary breakfast . . . at least lobby coffee! That's really my only gripe.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jsmaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank You for your comments we value them and value you as our guest and you feedback is what helps us to continually better serve you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is great. The views of the mountain are fantastic and it's proximity to the park is very convenient. The internet connection is also good. The cafe is acceptable for breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a room with a mountain view. The upper level is more expensive - but worth the extra for the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank You so much for commenting it is greatly appricated. CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here during the Federal Government shutdown, having planned to see Capitol Reef NP. My husband is wary of traditional looking motels, but this place had a great setting, was good value for money, had one of the best showers of our trip and was opposite a great restaurant (The Rim Rock). For all those reasons, I've given it 4/5. Not luxury, but very good value comfort.

Room Tip: Rooms at car-park level (ground floor) had balconies and easy access. Glad we didn't have to lug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We thank you for your comments and for helping us to better serve you, our guest better. We can not constantly improve without your feedback. Thanks and come stay again please!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
1.7 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
824 reviews
2.6 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
0.5 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
171 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Reef Resort

Address: 2600 East Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range: $85 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starting at check-in, you'll love the cozy, clean and sophisticated rooms that offer abundant amenities, including cable satellite television with Starz(R) and Encore(R), a coffeemaker, free high-speed Internet access and much more. Make your stay extra special by booking a Garden Suite, a mini-suite or a room with a balcony or Red Rock Cliff views. With Chimney Rock Restaurant located on the premises, a delicious meal is never far away. Just one mile from Capitol Reef National Park, you can explore almost 100 miles of natural wonders, including cliffs, canyons, domes and natural bridges. From Hickman's Bridge and Fishlake National Forest to Anasazi State Park and the Prehistoric Petroglyph, there are many other stunning sights to see and they're all within about an hour of this Torrey hotel. Additionally, enjoy easy access to all the area's parks, where you can delight in hiking, backpacking, canyoneering and photo tours. Love outdoor adventure? Our property puts you in the perfect location, as we're situated in the Grand Circle of National Parks - plan a day trip to the Grand Staircase, Bryce Canyon National Park, Canyonlands National Park or Zion National Park. Situated right off of Highway 12, enjoy exploring so many more attractions and being able to easily get where you're going when staying at this Torrey, UT hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Capitol Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Best Western Torrey
Torrey Best Western
Capitol Reef Resort Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing