We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capitol Reef Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Capitol Reef National Park. We arrived at night and got a first floor room in the back side of the hotel. The room was big and clean. The best part was the following morning when we woke up and walked out of the room. The view was stunning, beautiful!!! We enjoyed the breakfast buffet previous to our journey in the park. Highly recommended location if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycboymia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Great we are so glad you enjoyed your view CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is not a luxury hotel, so don't expect that. But the views from the room were the best of anywhere we stayed on our trip. We had 2 lower level rim rock view rooms & had no problems with anything. Rooms were clean & beds were comfortable. Great proximity to Capitol Reef & only 4 miles from Torrey. We even enjoyed the breakfast at the on-site restaurant (though it is not included & they made clear the restaurant is not affiliated with Best Western). Simple eggs, hash browns, bacon, & toast, but very good. Did not try it for dinner. Best thing about this hotel was sitting on the plastic chairs just outside of our rooms enjoying the views. Would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank SerenityRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank You we are happy you like us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Husband and I stayed here after a visit to Capitol Reef National Park. The room had all the usual amnesties, TV, coffee maker, minifrige, microwave, etc. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. What made this room special was the furnished balcony overlooking the beautiful red rocks. It was a joy to sit outside, sip a drink, and take in the glorious scenery. We would definitely stay here again.
A note: We ate dinner at the restaurant which was on property, but not affiliated with Best Western. The food was only mediocre and next time would opt for the steakhouse across the street. This said, the place was packed at breakfast, but we did not eat there.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking red cliffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yodab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Good views with coffee great way to start the day. We are glad you enjoyed your views from your room Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

great views but minimum service. the onsite restaurant provided an adequate (included) breakfast, but we didn't consider it for anything else. Room was initially very cold but otherwise OK.Nearest beds to Capitol Reef, but furthest from the facilities of Torrey

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for your response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

No breakfast. Requested type of room not provided. No friendly service. No ice machine nearby. On the upside, the room was more than adequate. Apparently, this hotel exploits its association with Best Western and its location near the Park to lure people to a very bare-bones operation. We have stayed at other Best Westerns around the world, and this is the first time that we have encountered this level of low standards. When asked, the staff offers non-caring excuses (the restaurant is not affiliated with us; a tour bus will take all the good rooms when they get here, etc.), but they sounded like a recited script.
One of the offsetting features of this stay was a nice restaurant across the highway (apparently affiliated with the Rimrock Hotel?), and we enjoyed their friendly, tasty service for dinner. Next time, we will seek another hotel.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time; you won't have a choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22explorer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

So sorry you fell this way about us I have learned its all in perception and we do have a nice property, Also sorry about your comment on the tour bus having the view rooms but they book a year or more in advance to get this rooms for their guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed with my family (wife and 2 kids) for two nights in June. We booked the room with the rock views. We were given the room on the lower floor of the 2 storey buiding. We booked in 8 months in advance with the request to have a room at the top floor (price the same but they are biger and with the direct access from the main parking lot). During check in it turned out that we can not get the room the top floor, because of the biking group, which was expected the next day and which took entire top floor in order to have a direct access to their bikes. The day after - no any biker arrived (!). We do not expect luxury in the motel in the middle of Utah, but the room which we stayed was unacceptable. All furniture, waredrobs,tables etc. were sticky and there was an upleasant smell in the room. My wife was seriously bitten by some kind of worms. We do not know where they sit, but believe me, they bit my wife so many times, that she sufferred from pain of her head and neck. We requested a change of bed linens - this was not done. Overall impression never again. There are not many alternatives in Torrey Utah, but perhaps they are clean and with no worms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Igor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Sorry I see you booked a red rock view which is the lower level were you stayed, sorry you thought they were the same price they are not our balcony view are more they are in the system as Balcony Red Rock View.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife had knee surgery and was not completely recovered. When we booked in February, we had thought she would be recovered. When we checked in and asked for a 1st floor room, the clerk indicated there would be an additional charge of $24. While all the 1st floor rooms at our booking rate may have been taken, the clerk's attitude was less than pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

I'm so sorry you did not have a pleasant stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
2.6 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
0.5 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
34 reviews
1.7 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
173 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
15.8 mi away
Sunlit Oasis
Sunlit Oasis
#5 of 7 in Torrey
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Reef Resort

Address: 2600 East Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range: $85 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starting at check-in, you'll love the cozy, clean and sophisticated rooms that offer abundant amenities, including cable satellite television with Starz(R) and Encore(R), a coffeemaker, free high-speed Internet access and much more. Make your stay extra special by booking a Garden Suite, a mini-suite or a room with a balcony or Red Rock Cliff views. With Chimney Rock Restaurant located on the premises, a delicious meal is never far away. Just one mile from Capitol Reef National Park, you can explore almost 100 miles of natural wonders, including cliffs, canyons, domes and natural bridges. From Hickman's Bridge and Fishlake National Forest to Anasazi State Park and the Prehistoric Petroglyph, there are many other stunning sights to see and they're all within about an hour of this Torrey hotel. Additionally, enjoy easy access to all the area's parks, where you can delight in hiking, backpacking, canyoneering and photo tours. Love outdoor adventure? Our property puts you in the perfect location, as we're situated in the Grand Circle of National Parks - plan a day trip to the Grand Staircase, Bryce Canyon National Park, Canyonlands National Park or Zion National Park. Situated right off of Highway 12, enjoy exploring so many more attractions and being able to easily get where you're going when staying at this Torrey, UT hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Capitol Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Best Western Torrey
Torrey Best Western
Capitol Reef Resort Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing