We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capitol Reef Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Memorable location”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The most memorable feature of this motel is the range of red rocky cliffs behind it. Watching the light change in morning from the balcony as the sun rises leaves a longlasting impression.

We stayed there because it is close to Capitol Reef NP. Since it was February the motel was quiet with few guests. Nevertheless the room was warm and clean. Breakfast was not included in the rate and was served in the onsite restaurant. Makes you appreciate what good value the inclusive breakfast in most BW motels is.

If you want to visit Capitol Reef NP your lodging choices are restricted but this motel serves the purpose nicely. There seem to be many outdoor resort facilities but given the time of year we did not make use of them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, General Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank You so Much we do have great views CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    600
    242
    41
    24
See reviews for
419
641
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean and well decorated. Views are good and service is pleasant. Beds are comfortable, rooms a tad small but very clean and welcoming. Have a lovely pool, basketball court and close to a decent restaurant across the highway. Great location for Capitol Reef.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2hi2cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank You So Much for this review we alway strive to do our best we are happy you enjoyed your stay thanks CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Would have been nice to have fresh sheets- would have been nicer to have shampoo and soap in the shower.
The sheets had stains-the same stains we found in our freshly made beds after the next day of hiking. Walls paper thin, noisy neighbors- can hear everything! Housekeeping was smoking just outside the nonsmoking rooms- eewww
The year round pool was open, but the basketball court was closed due to cold weather...?
Will not be staying there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I'm so sorry about your experiance I will for sure speak to housekeeping about both issues
Sorry This is not our standards CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manyana, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed one night and were given a room at the rear. It was very quiet, the bed was comfortable. We ate in house. Basic food with an additional choice of Asian dishes. Situated about 7 miles out of town.

Room Tip: Avoid you want to be in the town centre but close to the national park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrygirl8050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank You we are happy you enjoyed your room, yes we are out of the main town a short drive but very close to the park. We are a mile to the park and 7 miles to the Visitors Center you do not have to pay to get in to our park just a small fee for the scence drive. Thank You CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

More or less the usual BW inn, but not a "Plus". Handy for Capitol Reef. The adjoining restaurant (Chimney Rock?) was good for breakfast, especially after a week of "free hot breakfasts" at several BWs, in Utah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yonze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you we hope you enjoyed you trip through our pretty area we a very small town but we strive to do our best. Thank You for your comments on breakfast sometimes a good beakfast is wonderful to start our day. CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I rate it excellent and write such a strange title... because this place is very special to me. The red rock surroundings are breathtaking and mesmerizing... and the view is excellent from this location outside of the small town of Torrey. This last visit (I've been here three times), in March, was kind of cut short because of a storm coming in... and while Chris, the manager, upgraded me to having breakfast, I could not stop to eat.

Perhaps that might be my only complaint about this special 'resort'... it's wonderful if you don't have to get out early in the morning and can sit and enjoy the view out the restaurant's windows and a breakfast you have to order and eat there; but if you have to get out and are 'on a roll'... a breakfast buffet is much preferable, with food you can grab and get going. So this negative for me only applies when you're not staying beyond breakfast. Just had a 'too late now' thought... and I guess I'd have to ask the motel, but perhaps there might be a 'bagged' breakfast for situations like this???? Wouldn't a breakfast burrito be perfect for that! Just an idea for the motel... don't go there thinking they do have it.

Because I'm not a summer person, and arrived earlier than their busy season... I did/could not take advantage of their pool and tennis court, and perhaps other things they provide as a resort. But everyone is so nice and helpful, and the rooms have such great views...some better than others. So just check it all out.... and see suggestion below.

THIS IS NOT A PAID PROMOTION!!!....As a member of the Best Western rewards (and two other chain memberships), I urge travelers to join motel chain memberships; it helps them as you choose them, but it also helps you because you can get benefits (free nights or gift cards, etc -- as there are times of special promotions and they'll email you about them). Also, going to the actual chain's website, there are often several kinds of discounts you can take advantage of.... and much info about amenities and photos.

Anyway, that is one reason why I first came here and have returned. I'm so thankful that the memories are so vivid inside my mind!!!!!

Room Tip: BW website does describe views available with rooms. A row of two stories of rooms are at the edge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxinerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I cant thank you enough for this review we hear it alot but you really took the time to point out the good which we try on a daily bases to provide. The breakfast idea is great I will talk to the Chimney Rock about this, it would be good in the high season for guest are up and going early I'll see what I can do. Thanks again for you comments Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Nice hotel with a view of the red sandstone cliffs right out the back window/porch. It is a nice introduction to the amazing rock formations of the park. I got there in the evening and did not have a reservation and they had a nice room with no advance notice. This was in April, don't know how full they get in peak season though. The room was clean and convenient and close to the park. I had my camera battery plugged in to the outlet in the bathroom and forgot and left it there. Luckily they are close to Capitol Reef and I was only ten miles away on a hike when I realized it, and was able to drive back. They had saved it for me. More outlets in the room itself may have prevented this. Front desk girl seemed overworked, and when I initially called no one answered, so I wasn't sure they were even open. She said she was the only one there and couldn't always get to the phone. But generally it was quiet and I would go there again. They have a pool and a hot tub and laundry facilities.
As others mentioned, the restaurant is not run by the Best Western even though it is part of the same building. Go elsewhere for food. Uninspired meals like frozen vegetables out of a bag and not many options. The basic egg breakfast was OK though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjenskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank You for your comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay also we are happy you could come get your charger and not have to wait for the mail. The views are great we hope you enjoyed our pool and hot tub, yes there are plenty of options for dinner in season not so much in the off season. Thanks again CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
1.7 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
757 reviews
2.6 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
2.0 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Torrey
327 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
2.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Reef Resort

Property: Capitol Reef Resort
Address: 2600 East Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starting at check-in, you'll love the cozy, clean and sophisticated rooms that offer abundant amenities, including cable satellite television with Starz(R) and Encore(R), a coffeemaker, free high-speed Internet access and much more. Make your stay extra special by booking a Garden Suite, a mini-suite or a room with a balcony or Red Rock Cliff views. With Chimney Rock Restaurant located on the premises, a delicious meal is never far away. Just one mile from Capitol Reef National Park, you can explore almost 100 miles of natural wonders, including cliffs, canyons, domes and natural bridges. From Hickman's Bridge and Fishlake National Forest to Anasazi State Park and the Prehistoric Petroglyph, there are many other stunning sights to see and they're all within about an hour of this Torrey hotel. Additionally, enjoy easy access to all the area's parks, where you can delight in hiking, backpacking, canyoneering and photo tours. Love outdoor adventure? Our property puts you in the perfect location, as we're situated in the Grand Circle of National Parks - plan a day trip to the Grand Staircase, Bryce Canyon National Park, Canyonlands National Park or Zion National Park. Situated right off of Highway 12, enjoy exploring so many more attractions and being able to easily get where you're going when staying at this Torrey, UT hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Best Western Torrey
Torrey Best Western
Capitol Reef Resort Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing