We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capitol Reef Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The room was clean. It seemed very new. There is a wonderful view out the back. The people were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was OK. But I'll try something else next time.
I'll definitely stay here on my next trip to Capitol Reef.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JERRY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

(Home away from Home) this means alot to us we are trying very hard to make our rooms homey and comfortable. Thank You for this comment, CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
There are newer reviews for Capitol Reef Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

888 - 894 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

From reading the negative reviews, it sounds like the hotel has some older rooms that may or may not have been updated. My room is so new I can smell the new carpet. Furnishings are nice. The bed is comfortable. There is a nice view out the back. The selection of TV channels is a bit limited, but that may be endemic to the area. Torrey is a pretty small town.

The front desk staff was quite friendly and helpful.

The adjoining restaurant seemed pretty dead and the hotel staff didn't recommend it, so I ate elsewhere.

The property offers a pool, hot tub and tennis court. However, all three are outside and it's cold out! So, I didn't use them.

If I were in New York City I would be looking for some more opulence. But here in central Utah, in the land of national parks, this place really fits the bill. I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building. All rooms in the new building have a great view. It would proba...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Yes we just finish the capret in this room you were in. This is building needing updated we are so happy you enjoyed the room we are not all the way finished more to come. Thank You so much CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is outside Torrey and near the entrance of Capitol Reef. We arrived late in the afternoon and the rocks were beautifully lit up by the sun.
The entrance is an average motel entrance. But the rooms are nice with bedroom in the front and a living area with a small fridge in the back. At the back you have doors towards the garden and the reefs.
We had diner across the street. Certainly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dekpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank You so much for your review CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were so pleasantly surprised to find such a quality hotel here by Capitol Reef National Park. This suite was recently updated. It was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. I appreciated having a separate room to use for reading and paper work, while my husband napped. The temperature was around zero when we were there, but the room was very warm and inviting. We didn't use the hot tub outside, but others did. We bought the upgrade and had a full breakfast in the sunny dining room. The view is great--just like the Capitol Reef National Park a couple miles down the road. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurelboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank You for a wounderful review winters are cold but there is not the big crowds everywhere. We have lots of return guests that think its great to just relax and get away from all the stress, even if services are limited.
Thanks CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Got a free upgrade. The suite (room 406) was very comfortable and clean. Very quiet with some privacy. The view is breathtaking, the large garden is beautiful, free parking near the room.
Would definitely stay again. The resort is almost in the NP, not much nearby besides a beautiful national park. Breakfast was delicious, but extra. There was one restaurant at the other site of the road, which was great too. All rooms at the resort looked nice. Friendly reception.
Great place !

Room Tip: room 406 is a quiet large suite on the corner with privacy and great view looked like all the rooms...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerald1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We are glad you had a great stay and we hope you can make it back to see us, CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great hot tub, views, grounds, and tennis court. Loved my stay here and a great value for what I got. Close to the national park and other outdoor fun. Stars are amazing and fun to lay out in the grass to star gaze. Great little place

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank You so much, CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This place is comfortable and clean, accommodating and friendly. The best part was an amazing delicious breakfast served to us with farm grown ingredients. The best pancakes in my life were served here at Best Western, Torrey. It’s a very remote place, far away from it all, but I have fallen in love with it and I hope one day I will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raa1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

What a Wonderful Review Thank You so much we hope you can come back to see us again. CJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
1.7 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
784 reviews
2.6 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
0.5 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Torrey
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
2.0 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
604 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Reef Resort

Address: 2600 East Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range: $96 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starting at check-in, you'll love the cozy, clean and sophisticated rooms that offer abundant amenities, including cable satellite television with Starz(R) and Encore(R), a coffeemaker, free high-speed Internet access and much more. Make your stay extra special by booking a Garden Suite, a mini-suite or a room with a balcony or Red Rock Cliff views. With Chimney Rock Restaurant located on the premises, a delicious meal is never far away. Just one mile from Capitol Reef National Park, you can explore almost 100 miles of natural wonders, including cliffs, canyons, domes and natural bridges. From Hickman's Bridge and Fishlake National Forest to Anasazi State Park and the Prehistoric Petroglyph, there are many other stunning sights to see and they're all within about an hour of this Torrey hotel. Additionally, enjoy easy access to all the area's parks, where you can delight in hiking, backpacking, canyoneering and photo tours. Love outdoor adventure? Our property puts you in the perfect location, as we're situated in the Grand Circle of National Parks - plan a day trip to the Grand Staircase, Bryce Canyon National Park, Canyonlands National Park or Zion National Park. Situated right off of Highway 12, enjoy exploring so many more attractions and being able to easily get where you're going when staying at this Torrey, UT hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capitol Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Best Western Torrey
Torrey Best Western
Capitol Reef Resort Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing