We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More facilities than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capitol Reef Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence
herts,uk
Level Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“More facilities than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We are oldies driving round and having occassional walks and climbs just to keep fit. We stayed here 2 nights in order to visit Capitol Reef on a slightly more comprehensive basis than just passing through on an overnight stay between Zion and Arches. The hotel has a restaurant which provides the best included breakfast we had in our tour from Denver to Las Vegas and also provided a great meal for dinner (beer but no wine) The views from the rooms are great and the room itself had everything we needed. All of the staff we had contact with were cheerful and helpful. Closest hotel to the park which is about 4 miles away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room you can park outside as some of them are difficult for those with heavy bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedleyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank You we are so happy you enjoyed our property we work hard and it good to hear when we get it right, Thanks CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    548
    214
    37
    16
See reviews for
366
576
51
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while visiting Capitol Reef National Park. I had requested the Red Rock View, and it was picture postcard perfect. Our room had a small patio with two chairs. It would have been nice to have a small table also, but we still enjoyed the view without it. My only complaint about the room was the bathroom. The wallpaper above the tub was peeling badly and was quite moldy. It would be nice if management addressed these two issues. I orginally booked this hotel because I read someplace that it was the closest facility to the national park. I guess it was, but just by a hair. The Rim Rock across the street was basically as close although their view was different. If I ever return to this area, I think I might try another hotel--perhaps the Rim Rock or the Chuck Wagon. They looked nice from the outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a Red Rock View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank You for your Comments CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Loved this Best Western! Large, newish room, nicely furnished and decorated. Comfy bed and pillows. And close to the National Park - in fact, ask for a room on the backside, facing the lawn, for a wonderful view of the rocks/mountains!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoonihoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thanks we are so glad you liked our rooms, and views there is so much to see in these area of Utah we hope you were able to see most of the sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The receptionist was not very friendly or too helpful. Laughing and secretly whispering to her colleague behind the desk, while helping us. Busy with her personal affaires? It didn't make us feel welcome. We had a beautiful view from the room, but only 2 plastic outside chairs and no table. The room was good, a bit too dark. Needs better inside light. The internet was terrible: logging in with difficult secret codes. As long you used it, it stayed on. But one minute later you were shut off. So you had to log in all the time over en over again. Ridiculous.
The restaurant and servers were good. The hotel policy is unfriendly: this was the first hotel without coffee or tea in the lobby. When we left we wanted to fill up our coffee mugs and they charged us 4 dollar! The most expensive coffee so far!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Sorry for the password problems you had with the internet, we are glad you like the views though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Wasn't sure what to expect when I booked the Best Western Capitol Reef on our trip to Bryce Canyon, Utah. Was I ever taken aback by not only the gorgeous view of the Red Rock Cliffs, but to have a patio and a chair to sit on and just plain enjoy the breathtaking views. Was surprised by all the flowers and greenery at the end of the summer, but guess they have been having rain during the month of August.
Next time i am headed for Bryce, will definitely make this one of my stops. Need to ask for 2nd floor and view of the cliffs.

Room Tip: Need to ask for 2nd floor with a balcony and view of the cliffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timberline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank You so much we are so happy you enjoyed your stay, yes the rain as help to keep everything so beautiful is year. Great tip on the rooms they book so fast alot of people book 6 months ahead to get this room, Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Nice view, yes, but it isn't like you have outdoor furniture to sit out and enjoy it (you would look over parking lot as well anyway). Internet didn't work, and when we called front desk NUMEROUS times they either didn't answer the phone at all or if they did (yes, if) they didn't have any answers. At first we decided it wasn't a big deal, didn't need Internet that bad, but something came up and we needed it. This time the front desk answered but directed ME (the guest) to call the IT line directly. I asked if they could and they said NO. So, I called the number I was told I could find "somewhere in my room" and the guy was very helpful and got us running, but I found this very odd to say the least. I have never stayed anywhere where it was a) optional to answer the phone mid afternoon and b) to have the guest fix their own amenities they proudly state they offer. Very thin walls too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyW2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remich, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had chosen this hotel because of its location. You have a great view out of your room!! At the reception there was not really a warm welcome and as we asked about the fridge, we got a short an clear answer: "No fridge". Unbelieveble at such a site. Bathroom was very small but the room spacious (proportions between these two parts not good). The pool was filled with very cold and salt water. So not really a highlight. As we've read the reviews on Trip Advisor about the restaurant we went for the Sattlery but they didn't allow entrance to minor people (we have two kids 11 and 9). We then choosed to eat at The Rim Rock Restaurant (opposite to the hotel and can be done by foot) which was a good choice. The only problem with the whole place are the mosquitoes. If you want to see the sunset (really a must!) pay attention of being clothed enough. As we were leaving the hotel next morning we had a nice goodbye by one of the staff belching loud while we were passing. That's what we call a poor service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Your comments are so helpful to know were we need to improve, I am so sorry about the staff member I was not aware of this behavior and will be checking in to this. Thank You for you eye opening comments. CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrey hotels
1.7 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
2.6 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
2.0 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
0.5 mi away
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
1.8 mi away
SkyRidge Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Reef Resort

Property: Capitol Reef Resort
Address: 2600 East Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Reef Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starting at check-in, you'll love the cozy, clean and sophisticated rooms that offer abundant amenities, including cable satellite television with Starz(R) and Encore(R), a coffeemaker, free high-speed Internet access and much more. Make your stay extra special by booking a Garden Suite, a mini-suite or a room with a balcony or Red Rock Cliff views. With Chimney Rock Restaurant located on the premises, a delicious meal is never far away. Just one mile from Capitol Reef National Park, you can explore almost 100 miles of natural wonders, including cliffs, canyons, domes and natural bridges. From Hickman's Bridge and Fishlake National Forest to Anasazi State Park and the Prehistoric Petroglyph, there are many other stunning sights to see and they're all within about an hour of this Torrey hotel. Additionally, enjoy easy access to all the area's parks, where you can delight in hiking, backpacking, canyoneering and photo tours. Love outdoor adventure? Our property puts you in the perfect location, as we're situated in the Grand Circle of National Parks - plan a day trip to the Grand Staircase, Bryce Canyon National Park, Canyonlands National Park or Zion National Park. Situated right off of Highway 12, enjoy exploring so many more attractions and being able to easily get where you're going when staying at this Torrey, UT hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Capitol Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Best Western Torrey
Torrey Best Western
Capitol Reef Resort Torrey, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing