We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed for season??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Closed for season??”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was an odd one!

We had a couple of stays pencilled in for this hotel on a recent roadtrip around Southern Utah. On our first stay we were checked in by a not particularly friendly lady (Who I took to be the Manager). She had her two pet dogs in tow wherever she went and they seemed to have free reign in the corridors, despite the hotel declaring itself to be 'pet-free'. The public areas are tastefully decorated and nicely laid out. There are comfy lounges and an area to research any potential activities you may be thinking of.

Our room was OK. Pretty much what we expected from a budget chain in the US. Quiet, clean and comfortable. No fridge, sadly. The hotel was empty, except a few rooms. Ours looked out at the back of the hotel onto barren, uninspiring land. The rooms at the front look out across the main road over to forest and mountain views. I'm guessing these rooms may have been a little less quiet though because of the road.

The indoor pool area was a little worse for wear and in need of some TLC. The pool was too cold to get in and the spa tub was too hot! The hotel provided plenty of towels though.

Breakfast was more miss than hit. The food was basic and never felt fresh. I think that they rely on the fact that people never stay more than a single night and only if you do, will you notice that the same pastries are put out each morning, just getting more stale as each day goes by. Decaff coffee hasn't reached this part of the world yet, seemingly and the waffle makers seemed to be suspiciously 'broken' Both of them! I'm not sure how much of this is down to the fact that we visited out of season, but I would like to think that the timing of our stay shouldn't matter.

We cut our second stay short (not in any way as a result of our experiences at the hotel). The young lady at reception on this occasion was most helpful and amended our booking for us, and helped us on our way.

Overall, we were disappointed with the stay. Although the room was OK, some of the other facilities were poor or unusable, and we sometimes felt like we were imposing on the staff just for asking for something like Decaff coffee. As a one-nighter to break up a long journey, it would be fine. As a base for exploring the area, it fell quite a long way short of what we were expecting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey_d31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    225
    194
    67
    38
See reviews for
219
232
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
walut grove, az
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Typical of Trip Advisor they are fu#ked up when it comes to identifying hotels that aren't corporate mavens.

Capital Reef Inn, about 1/2 mile west of Torrey, UT is a gem of a spot. But Trip Advisor won't direct you there as Trip Advisor must be swayed by advertising $$.

Rooms are under $50/night, wifi throughout, clean, quiet. A restaurant is part of the faciltiy and offers vegetarian and normal meals. Fresh, and good for a moderate price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upfisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Hotel location is ok. Clean room. Clean bed. Cold breakfast. Very average. Breakfast could be better for Days Inn. Building Fire Alarm was triggered at 7:20AM. Turned to be false alarm. Everyone was waken up. Ok hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is an aging property with a lackadaisical staff. I am amazed that in this decade you can find a hotel with no elevator. If you have bad knees, or whatever, good luck. You can ask for a first floor room but it might not happen--didn't help in my case. I don't know what people who seriously can't use stairs would do. And, if you want to print out a boarding pass here, you are out of luck. The computer they have for guests is not connected to any printer. When you raise these sorts of concerns with the staff, you get a sigh and a "guess so" response. The rooms themselves are tired. Stay elsewhere if you can. And if you are going to stay here, ask for a room that doesn't face the highway.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the highway; plan on stairs, no elevator: no printer available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torrey hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrey
1.8 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
0.2 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
757 reviews
1.0 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Sands Hotel
Red Sands Hotel
#4 of 6 in Torrey
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#6 of 6 in Torrey
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef

Property: Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
Address: 825 East SR 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef Utah
Torrey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing