We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Choice in Torrey for Casual Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rim Rock Patio

The Rim Rock Patio
Ranked #11 of 19 Restaurants in Torrey
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Italian, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Pizza, Pasta, Salads and home smoked BBQ served on the edge of spectacular Capital Reef National Park. Great Beer list, views and fun activities !!!
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top Choice in Torrey for Casual Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Such a refreshing surprise to find the Rim Rock Patio out here where there are very few dining options. They make a fine pizza, and some other Italian specialties, and offer a reasonable assortment of beer. The place has atmosphere. Service is quick and easy. The Patio dispenses with the pretensions of some of the other local restaurants that price their ordinary country fare as if it were fine dining. The best thing here is the moderate priced food, swiftly served, and the outdoor dining on the back patio. The red-wall cliffs in the background surrounding the place make a spectacular setting! There's an outdoor stage and the night we were there they had a very energetic live band playing ska - not at all what I expected in the UT desert. One of the waitresses was on roller skates. There's even a couple of holes of Frisbee golf in the scrub-brush and a horse-shoe pitch.

Save time and trouble. Get good pizza and eat it out back at at Rim Rock Patio.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    131
    66
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoy this scenery with pizza and a beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

It doesn't get any better than this. Sit out on their patio and experience the red rock cliffs. Their pizzas are homemade and quite good. They have a very good selection of beers and ales. Remember, it is important to hydrate after a day of hiking.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank docfrank2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food is ok but service we received was lacking...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We ate dinner at this restaurant today, June the 17th , because we thought it would be stress free and chill since it looked like casual and family style. We like the food however the service is really bad from the male waiter who also deals with cashiering. From initial contact, I felt he was a little strange,cold and distant. Service was slow and he seemed impatient as we're struggling to decide what pizza we want,even though there were many open tables so not vey busy. He did not offer any suggestion as to which pizza was popular to help out,instead he just made us feel uncomfortable by showing impatience as if were taking his time too much waiting for our order. He did not refill our drinks nor offer to refill and had to be called to our table. He did not ask if everything is ok which is usually done by other waiters. He did not ask if we need anything even if he just passed our tables a few times and it surely looked like we need a box at that point. I felt like he did not like us but we don't know what the reason is...maybe because he just hates his job . It's either that or he is being a racist. It is sad because this is a well deserved vacation to de stress for us and he just made us feel lousy on our vacation.This is the one decent meal for us today, as we snack all day driving to go to Capitol Reef,Utah and were really looking forward to have a relaxing satisfying meal after a hike and one bad waiter who needs to be trained to do good customer service to people who actually help give him a job and a salary just needs to think about basic manners he should have learned a long time ago.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmmm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go for The Beer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stopped in after a hike, and the cold beer on the patio was delightful. The food was pretty unremarkable. I ordered nachos, which were just a pile of chips on a paper plate, some tasteless salsa on the side. I think it was microwaved. They have excellent choices for beer, especially local brews. The view is fantastic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jotoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Breakfast not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We walked in and were asked if we were guests of the hotel...we were not so we were given a menu with I am guessing higher prices. We sat down and didn't get asked what we wanted for about 20 minutes. Other guests came and orders were taken but not us. Finally waitress took order. I ordered the Bacon and cheddar omelet...Mistake. Not good. Banana bread and Sourdough bread were so dry that I couldn't eat them. Waitress asked if there was anything wrong with food...ummm....I didn't eat it. No discount. Not going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tirviner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rim Rock Patio also viewed

 

Been to The Rim Rock Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing