We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Horses”
Review of Shackleford Banks

Shackleford Banks
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rural Hall, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wild Horses”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is kind of a review before I go...We have reservations at the Seahawk Inn in Atlantic Beach in May.....Cannot wait to go back to SB where the wild horses are, and the shelling is fantastic. If you haven't been...you do not know what you are missing..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DebMJones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    22
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
292 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Avoid the weekends in summer”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This place gets crowded, but other than Carrot Island off of Beaufort, this is the only place that has wild ponies in the area, however, they are harder to find on "Shack". The only way to get there is by boat. Concessionaires from Harkers Island or Beaufort can you there for a fee. Get away from the crowds by crossing the island and heading east (away from the inlet). The further you go, the fewer people there will be. Wander through the maritime forest. It's a lovely, wild place, especially away from all the pleasure boats. About midway down the island (but a little closer to the inlet) on the Back Sound side, there is a wonderful old cemetery that goes back to when this island was inhabited mostly by fishermen and whalers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank BrianAtTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

this was one of the most enchanting days I think I have ever had. wild ponies. sea shells. an empty beach. adventure. wild dolphins. beautiful waterfront. fun ferry ride. I have been all over the world, and this place is truly special. The island in December is just perfect.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jdiz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We greatly enjoyed hiking along the shoreline of the island as well as hiking 'inland' (in quotation marks, since the island is less than a mile wide). We saw some wild horses, and while one must stay at a distance, the seven we saw seemed like they might be quite used to people invading their spaces. If you go when the weather is a bit chilly (as we did), consider the location you sit on the ferry -- some positions may get wet (and you are stuck without anything to dry you off on the island). The only fee we encountered was the ferry ($15pp).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
185 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful and fun”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Shells everywhere, shoreline changes with each storm, wild ponies are very cool to watch. This is the kinda of beach that is picked when you are looking for nature not people watching, buying knick knacks, belly piercing, looking for entertainment that is built and you have to pay for. Great phot opportunities, fresh air, easy for a beach hike. You can camp out here as well as Cape Lookout .... If you do understand this is primitive camping.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank hjpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shackleford Banks also viewed

 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Shackleford Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing