We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly local flavor...simple but very very good SOBX seafood.”
Review of Fish Hook Grill

Fish Hook Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Fresh local seafood Lunch and dinner Beer and wine
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A truly local flavor...simple but very very good SOBX seafood.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Fish Hook Grill, just reopened after a short close due to the orginal owner's passing. We've heard about this little place for years but never made it over to Harkers to try until now. I must say we were impressed with the food and friendly service. Probably the best Clam Chowder I've every had (they prepare it Hatteras style), and the Crab Bites (little crab cakes) are simply AWESOME!
The fried scallops are the typical area fried dish but they were large, tender and tasty. OK, this place is a "hole in the wall" and the friendly folks are very nice and unpretentious. So if you're looking for fancy...this ain't your place...if you're looking for authentic, good simple seafood served with a smile on paper plates for cheap.....I would highly recommend!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    42
    15
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“KINDNESS AND GOOD FOOD”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Faye loved what she did and shared with others. I always enjoyed going their, even after I moved away from the Island. She will be truly missed, as will her good fresh food and personality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harkers Island, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“end of a era”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

as of 1-15-14 we lost our beloved Miss Faye's Moore to cancer.
Her Fish Hook Grill will never reopen as far as our 9 employee's have been told.
She left this world loving every one she met,and that was so many!
Her dream of her own restaurant was finally a reality when she was 78 years young.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Terri Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A definite "must vist" on Harkers Island”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The wife and I went over to Harkers Island tonight to visit the Fish Hook Grill. There isn't much to choose from on Harkers, but if you do go there, I absolutely recommend the Fish Hook. I had crab cakes, with yams and green bean casserole. The crab cakes were undoubtedly the best I have ever eaten...as advertised, "short on 'cake, but long on 'crab". Yams and the casserole were good too.

The wife had the flounder plate...two large pieces...also, very tasty. Not greasy at all...the flounder was very light and tender....ample amounts of food.

To top it off we had a piece of Ms. Faye's "Down East Lemon Pie"...all made from scratch...no store bought mix there.

No alcohol served here, but plenty of sweet tea, coffee and soft drinks.

If you vist the Crystal Coast area of NC, you must visit Ms. Faye's Fish Hook Grill....you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food friendly service in average atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The food is great. Small eatery decor is all over the road. Plastic utensils plates etc..I had the prime rib sandwich it was good. Why had A crab cake sandwhich very tasty. Nice side salad. But the Down East Lemon pie. Excellent. I reccomend this restaurant. However not many choices on the island. But good meals good prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Hook Grill also viewed

 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Fish Hook Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing