We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Service, Poor Food”

Captain's Choice Restaurant
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Jacksonville,nc
2 reviews
“Slow Service, Poor Food”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stopped in for lunch after visiting the lighthouse and even though there were relatively few customers, the service was slow and seemed disorganized. Once our waitress got to us and delivered our drinks, we didn't see our food for nearly 25 minutes. No refills on drinks were offered until we asked for them and sauces and condiments were not brought to the table until we were half way through the meal even though we requested them when the food was brought to the table. The ladies working in the restaurant were friendly, but they were also very unatentive. The food was extremely salty tasting. Hush Puppies were great though and hot, but who makes a meal of hush puppies? Cannot recommend this place for anything but sweet tea and hush puppies. Do yourself a favor and don't eat at Harkers Island. Drive on to some other town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rpur62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    18
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great service, food is hit and miss”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We ate here several times during a vacation on the island. The food was good most of the time but I'll pass on their crab cakes next go around. The service was outstanding and made up for food issues.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FiveDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Overly seasoned seafood”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We travel to Harker's Island every year to spend time at the Cape Lookout Lighthouse and have always eaten at the Choice as well as the Fish Hook. However, the past two visits at the Choice have been disappointing. Wifey and I enjoy eating oysters but for some reason the restaurant over seasons them to the point it's as if you're eating salted down seafood. Last year I commented to the cook regarding our experience with the oysters who became visibly offended at this comment. In addition, last year my wife ordered the grilled shrimp which also was drowned in some sort of Cajun seasoning and couldn't eat them. It's obvious we have a thing about too much sodium in our food and take that into consideration when eating out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Restaurant”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We ate at the Captain's Choice restaurant twice during our stay near Harker's Island. We thought the food was great! The service was excellent and I really appreciated the beautiful decor and the friendly service. We plan to visit them again next time we are down east!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Perfect place to eat at the Outer Banks”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This place was recommended to me by a friend who used to run an upscale restaurant, so I was expecting good food and was not disappointed. The friend I was traveling with pronounced the shrimp she was served as the best she'd eaten in years and years. And the hush puppies--they simply don't get any better! It's a down-home kind of place, unpretentious and not very expensive, but oh my, how comforting it was to people like us who love good Southern-fried food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marilynpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Choice Restaurant also viewed

 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Captain's Choice Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing