We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five-year customer!”
Review of Bibber's B&B

Bibber's B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kotzebue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bibber's B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Kotzebue B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I have been staying at Bibber's B&B six times per year (7-9 nights each) for the last five consecutive years! Perhaps that is enough said, right? I am in Kotzebue for work and simply would not even consider staying anywhere else. Bibbers is clean, quiet, business-oriented, and operated by an owner who emphasizes safety, privacy, and friendliness. The facilities are updated with new paint, new fixtures, and new furniture as needed. I have always felt welcomed and fondly refer to Bibbers as "my home away from home." Bibbers makes my job much easier.

Room Tip: Six times a year, Room #3 is mine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Bibbers B&B is small, respectable and clean. We stayed there on a hunting triup. The proprieter likes to interview hunters to ensure that they will maintain quality. It's the best value in Kotzebue, not the cheapest, but you get the most bang for the $.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is coming from someone who's traveled around the world for both work and pleasure, and is used to staying at varying levels of accommodations.

Everbody in Kotzebue (small village) knows where this is--and this is probably the best, most affordable place you can find. It's not to say it's nice. I paid about $135 or so a night. The rooms were mediocre at best, although it had everything one needed. The couple who were taking care of the place were nice folk, and helpful when I called to reserve a room.

Calling it a bed and breakfast only tells you what kind of conditions to expect, but there definitely is no breakfast. The fact that they have some cereal and pop tarts in the kitchen does not mean breakfast to me, especially when you are off to a hard day's work.

It's basically like staying in an apartment with a couple rooms and a shared bathroom downstairs, and then a living space upstairs with a small kitchen. Everything is very old, including the carpet and bathrooms, although you do have cable television. The internet access hardly ever worked, so that was a problem many times. The walls are fairly thin, but nobody else was staying there anyhow. They have signs up everywhere about the various rules and regulations, that you can't do this and that, but it's not like there was anybody there to enforce them. Make sure you give plenty of time for paying your bill, it took like 20 minutes for them to process my credit card, so I'm glad I did that well before I left for the airport.

I visited the Nullagvik hotel to eat at the restaurant, and wow I was amazed at how nice it was. I wasn't ready to pay $260 a night for it, but it was light years ahead, and incredibly new.

You don't get a key, nobody in Alaska uses keys I guess because it's safe, especially up in a native village like Kotzebue.

This is a small village in the arctic, so don't have expectations of your average travel experience elsewhere. It's definitely a unique experience here, and one that I can appreciate.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank dzigavertov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Bibber's is clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. The other guests that I met were technical professionals traveling on business. The owner, Jean, is friendly and interesting to talk with.

There is a full kitchen with everything that you need. The grocery store (one of the AC store chain) is near the hospital (walking distance if the weather is OK; cabs are abundant if you don't want to walk). The supplies for breakfast aren't much - milk and cereal, English muffins and butter, coffee and tea, miscellaneous snack food, canned fruit.

The local hotel (Nullagvik) has been recently upgraded (they closed the old building and are tearing it down). It looks pretty good but is very (!) pricey. So Bibber's is a very good option at a decent price. I would stay at Bibber's again.

Wireless internet was free and pretty good (considering that the main connection to the rest of the world is via satellite.) Some of my co-workers (who work for different companies) said that the hotel's internet was almost unuseable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DelightedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Bibber's B and B is the only place to stay in Kotzebue if you want a clean, quiet place at an affordable rate. The guests were mostly professional people staying a night or two. Everyone was friendly, but at the same time didn't bother you any. It is safe, secure and clean. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Take a taxi from the airport. Just tell them you want to go to Bibber's. They all know what yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank IdrivealotMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bibber's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bibber's B&B

Address: 398 Lagoon St, Kotzebue, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Kotzebue
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kotzebue
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Bibber's B&B Kotzebue, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing