We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, not great...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ortega'z Southwestern Grill & Wine Bar

Ortega'z Southwestern Grill & Wine Bar
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK, not great...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The pro's: excellent margarita; chicken brochettes were very good; decor & surroundings were attractive. Good energy about the place. Cost was average.

The con's: taco dinner was very uneven; steak was tough & grisly. Shells are made from flour, not corn, and are deep fried, making them much heavier than you would normally expect.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BillMacsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    100
    43
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“For being a southwestern grill-”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I got tacos, which I though would come out like tacos, but to my delight they bring you a platter of the fixings and you make your own. The chicken was beyond tender.
My partner had the ribs, and to his amazement they were some of the best ribs he has had, especially for a dry rub. (were from carolina- we do wet!) Truely enjoyable

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Justaboutjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“first class all the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is one of our favorite restaurants in town. The locaion is perfect, right downtown. We like to sit outside if the weather is nice or inside at the bar on the side next to the wall. It's a cozy private seating with only a couple or three stools and you can sit there and overlook the restaurant. The margaritas are exceptional and the wines especially those from Chile are a really good value. The owners are Chilean and so the food reflects that. The slow cooked pork and beef dishes are really good. i love the taquitos. Perfect spot if you just want to go in and have a cocktail, yes, one of the few places with a full bar on the island! We often go in and just order the app of homemade tortilla chips, (to die for), salsa and add cheese dip and quacamole. It is so good, filling and inexpensive.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Accomodated 1/2 orders. Enchiladas and fish tacos were great. Overall all food was great, service was adequate and prices were average. Good place to eat food.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cophbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raeford, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
“Don't Miss Out!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had the pleasure of taking the sunset cruise with the owners of this restaurant. Decided to give it a try and it was a wonderful surprise. Great service, great food and the owners are two of the nicest people you would ever want to meet. Please don't miss out on this hometown jewel in the heart of Manteo.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortega'z Southwestern Grill & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Ortega'z Southwestern Grill & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing