We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent value in the heart of Historic Manteo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scarborough House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scarborough House
Ranked #7 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Troutman, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent value in the heart of Historic Manteo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Huge, clean room and clean bathroom. Bed was very comfortable. Super friendly owner. Great location. Walked to the heart of Manteo every night for dinner. Saw several live bands during our visit on the 4th of July. Fireworks were great. Great restaurants in Manteo. Some have lovely views of the waterfront. We could easily drive to everything on the Outer Banks. Great value. You could easily pay double what we paid to spend the night here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the guest house on our wedding night and it was perfect. We loved everything about the room. It was clean, comfortable and the tub was amazing! We hope to come back every year for our anniversary. Great for local staycations or vistors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasideVacationsOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our triathlon. Wonderful place and great price. Mrs. Sally and her granddaughter Mrs. Ruth made you feel right at home. Great location. Can walk to downtown Maneto. Rooms were quaint. Breakfast left in refrigator each day. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia4ecu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlands, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just returned home from a 4 day stay at the Scarborough House Inn, in Manteo, NC and to say the very least, we were thrilled with everything about the stay. The innkeepers were very friendly, We enjoyed the privacy and the room was spotless. We had room #4. To my delight, that was the room I had hoped for when I searched the website. Everything was in the room that we needed. Microwave, refrigerator, ironing board, iron, dishes, and the fridge was stocked with breakfast items that were vey delicious. We could not have asked for anything any better. The town of Manteo is very quaint and neat. We took in all the sites we could while we were there. Elizabethan Gardens and Capt. Johnny's Dolphin Watch were 2 of my favorites. We were fortunate enough to catch the outdoor drama, the Lost Colony, on it's last week. If you never wanted to leave the island, you can find plenty to do there. And as an added bonus, you are only about 5 miles from Nags Head. If you get a chance to visit Manteo on Roanoke Island, please make your choice of stay at the Scarborough House Inn. You will not be sorry you did. It will be the place we will stay if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu0661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary (we were also married in the Outer Banks), and it was a fantastic choice. From the booking of Scarborough House Inn to our arrival, the staff was extremely friendly... and we fell in love with Lucy, one of the resident pups. We chose the king suite in the guest house, and it was perfect. The bed was large and comfortable enough. The room itself was very large with a private bathroom and little kitchenette. The bathroom had a huge tub with some bubble bath provided. The fridge was stocked with orange juice, bagels, muffins, etc. - all of which were tasty. It was very private (the king suite is the entire top floor of the guest house), and very quiet. The air conditioning is a window unit that kept the entire place nice and cool.

I would absolutely stay here again and recommend The Scarborough House Inn to friends and family!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenLaDem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Recently a friend of mine and I stayed here as a girls weekend to catch up after 7 years of not seeing each other. I stumbled upon this great spot after looking at large houses, condos,etc of which there are a ton of in this area for rent. As soon as I opened the web page, I knew my persistence had paid off. The room was perfect! Ut was clean, roomy, comfortable and had everything we needed. The location was perfect as we could walk to the lovely little town of Manteo, which was handy during Superstorm Sandy! We had refridgerator in our room (one that could actually hold to go containers), a simple breakfast of muffins, yogurt, juice and hot beverages. Sally was very warm and friendly. Seemed like I was staying with relatives!

Room Tip: The room had two beds, a queen and a twin, with plenty of room to walk around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolp23113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The search for a comfortable, clean, and unique place to stay in OBX can be quite the challenge! The Scarborough House was everything we had hoped for in this last minute trip to the coast. The two of us booked a room, which included a Queen-sized bed, small kitchenette, and private bath. Everything was very clean, however outdated and simple. Note that this Inn supplies breakfast inside of the mini-fridge, and consists of yogurt, juice, and bread/muffins. The amenities were perfectly appropriate for our needs, as we wished to venture out for breakfast/dinner each day, so a "B&B"-style breakfast was not a priority. The soft sheets, beautiful antique furniture, and family-feel to the staff exceeded our expectations. Highly recommended if you are looking for good value, an unbeatable Manteo location, and cleanliness.

I highly recommend staying in the little town of Manteo, rather than spending evening in some of the overpopulated areas closer to the beachfront (especially if your usual OBX stay is oceanfront, like us!). This Inn is in close walking distance to the Sound, which is a wonderful spot for kayaking, boating, and strolling along the boardwalk. High-end restaurants (such as 1587), simple sandwich shops, Saturday Farmer's market, a late-night bar, and several unique local-owned shops are within reach. Certainly made for a romantic weekend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyyogagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.6 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#1 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
4.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
4.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scarborough Inn
Scarborough Inn
#5 of 10 in Manteo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough House

Property: Scarborough House
Address: 323 Fernando St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9128
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing