We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”
Review of Scarborough House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scarborough House
Ranked #9 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the guest house on our wedding night and it was perfect. We loved everything about the room. It was clean, comfortable and the tub was amazing! We hope to come back every year for our anniversary. Great for local staycations or vistors.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeasideVacationsOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Scarborough House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 54 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for our triathlon. Wonderful place and great price. Mrs. Sally and her granddaughter Mrs. Ruth made you feel right at home. Great location. Can walk to downtown Maneto. Rooms were quaint. Breakfast left in refrigator each day. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Silvia4ecu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just returned home from a 4 day stay at the Scarborough House Inn, in Manteo, NC and to say the very least, we were thrilled with everything about the stay. The innkeepers were very friendly, We enjoyed the privacy and the room was spotless. We had room #4. To my delight, that was the room I had hoped for when I searched the website. Everything was in the room that we needed. Microwave, refrigerator, ironing board, iron, dishes, and the fridge was stocked with breakfast items that were vey delicious. We could not have asked for anything any better. The town of Manteo is very quaint and neat. We took in all the sites we could while we were there. Elizabethan Gardens and Capt. Johnny's Dolphin Watch were 2 of my favorites. We were fortunate enough to catch the outdoor drama, the Lost Colony, on it's last week. If you never wanted to leave the island, you can find plenty to do there. And as an added bonus, you are only about 5 miles from Nags Head. If you get a chance to visit Manteo on Roanoke Island, please make your choice of stay at the Scarborough House Inn. You will not be sorry you did. It will be the place we will stay if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lulu0661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary (we were also married in the Outer Banks), and it was a fantastic choice. From the booking of Scarborough House Inn to our arrival, the staff was extremely friendly... and we fell in love with Lucy, one of the resident pups. We chose the king suite in the guest house, and it was perfect. The bed was large and comfortable enough. The room itself was very large with a private bathroom and little kitchenette. The bathroom had a huge tub with some bubble bath provided. The fridge was stocked with orange juice, bagels, muffins, etc. - all of which were tasty. It was very private (the king suite is the entire top floor of the guest house), and very quiet. The air conditioning is a window unit that kept the entire place nice and cool.

I would absolutely stay here again and recommend The Scarborough House Inn to friends and family!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenLaDem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Recently a friend of mine and I stayed here as a girls weekend to catch up after 7 years of not seeing each other. I stumbled upon this great spot after looking at large houses, condos,etc of which there are a ton of in this area for rent. As soon as I opened the web page, I knew my persistence had paid off. The room was perfect! Ut was clean, roomy, comfortable and had everything we needed. The location was perfect as we could walk to the lovely little town of Manteo, which was handy during Superstorm Sandy! We had refridgerator in our room (one that could actually hold to go containers), a simple breakfast of muffins, yogurt, juice and hot beverages. Sally was very warm and friendly. Seemed like I was staying with relatives!

Room Tip: The room had two beds, a queen and a twin, with plenty of room to walk around.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolp23113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The search for a comfortable, clean, and unique place to stay in OBX can be quite the challenge! The Scarborough House was everything we had hoped for in this last minute trip to the coast. The two of us booked a room, which included a Queen-sized bed, small kitchenette, and private bath. Everything was very clean, however outdated and simple. Note that this Inn supplies breakfast inside of the mini-fridge, and consists of yogurt, juice, and bread/muffins. The amenities were perfectly appropriate for our needs, as we wished to venture out for breakfast/dinner each day, so a "B&B"-style breakfast was not a priority. The soft sheets, beautiful antique furniture, and family-feel to the staff exceeded our expectations. Highly recommended if you are looking for good value, an unbeatable Manteo location, and cleanliness.

I highly recommend staying in the little town of Manteo, rather than spending evening in some of the overpopulated areas closer to the beachfront (especially if your usual OBX stay is oceanfront, like us!). This Inn is in close walking distance to the Sound, which is a wonderful spot for kayaking, boating, and strolling along the boardwalk. High-end restaurants (such as 1587), simple sandwich shops, Saturday Farmer's market, a late-night bar, and several unique local-owned shops are within reach. Certainly made for a romantic weekend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyyogagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

WE loved Manteo and the Inn. Clean and comfortable. Sally and Ruth were great ladies. I only got to talk to Phil on the phone...but he was very helpful and friendly. Downtown was awesome and so was the food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marwein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.6 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
231 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,567 reviews
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scarborough Inn
Scarborough Inn
#6 of 9 in Manteo
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough House

Address: 323 Fernando St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9128
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing