We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manteo 2011”
Review of Scarborough House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scarborough House
Ranked #9 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Sunrise, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Manteo 2011”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stay here in May and now in November. Always a pleasure meeting the Scarborough's. Sally reading your and needs from your eyes. Rooms are very clean and nice. The Inn is perfectly located near downtown, just a hop away from the Front Porch Café, which is a must every morning for coffee lovers.
I will return again some day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torsten E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
33
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
raleigh
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I stayed here for the first time this past summer and the owners were wonderful! My room was lovely, very comfortable. The property is very well kept and I had a relaxing evening on the porch swing by the little pond on the side of the house. It's within walking distance to downtown Manteo and everyone was very friendly. I plan on making this a regular stop in my travels to the Outer Banks!

Room Tip: Ask the owners about the room specifics. My room was at the back of the house, very quiet and comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsgrl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

had a wonderful time here! our room had 1 queen bed and 1 twin bed. very clean with all the comforts; mini fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, internet, tv, and walking distance to quaint downtown Manteo. beautiful gardens and lily pond full of bullfrogs. i will definitely stay here again! very relaxed!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rluecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We spent 2 nights in a very comfortable king bed in a pleasant room. We don't understand the negative comments about cleanliness and parking. Is was very clean and the parking was convenient and easy to get in and out unless one is a poor driver. Absolutely no problem. The photo is a composite but does not misrepresent the lovely gardens and surroundings.
We knew upfront that no breakfast was provided and the great price was apprecioated. Other B&B's serve breakfast but we would not want to spend another $ 50-75 for that benefit. It is a short walk to town center where there are fine places to get breakfast. Dinner at Adrianna's in the center was wonderful and highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HodAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We will always stay in this friendly, spotless inn from now on! Had a great time walking 5 minutes to the old harbor and downtown, sitting in the swing by the lily pond, and rocking on the porch...loved the peace and quiet, the friendly tact of the owners, and the old-fashioned charm of the house and garden.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paducahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Have been coming to Manteo for over ten years and would not think of staying any where else. I could go on and on for all the different reasons why but the main reason is Sally, co owner of the inn, is one of the most gracious southern ladies my wife and I have ever met. If some one wants to look for something to complain about, I say go ahead, but as always I found our stay most relaxing and enjoyable. If you stay here be sure you bring your cup of coffee out with you in the morning and you'll find Sally toiling in her garden. It will be a great opportunity for you to hear her wonderful outlook on life as well as some southern words of wisdom. We love being here. Dick and Iris, Lewisburg, Pa.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This Bed and Breakfast is very clean and very comfortable. The inn keepers are very friendly and helpful. The location in Maneo is ideal.

I wish they allowed pets.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggmfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.6 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
228 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,540 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough House

Property: Scarborough House
Address: 323 Fernando St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9128
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing