We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retro-Quaint and Adequate”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Island Guesthouse & Cottages
Ranked #9 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Wyoming, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Retro-Quaint and Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed in the 3-bed efficiency, in the motel part in back. This place is totally old-school - right down to the hand written registry. The bedrooms and bathroom were super small. But is was clean enough and met our family's needs with a nice sized refrigerator/freezer, microwave, enough sleeping space for six and cable TV. We enjoyed the shared patio space between the buildings for an hour or so each evening, but found it odd that the owner/manager, who lives on-site never appeared or introduced herself. The lock on the exterior door entrance was minimal - just a push button - and there was some noisy foot traffic through the property in the middle of the night that was a little disarming. But, the price was awesome ($99/night) and considering we were out and about during the day and we really only needed it for sleeping, The Island Guesthouse/Motel was just fine. Not fancy, mind you. But perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MusicMama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

After searching, searching and searching for a roomy place to stay in the Outer Banks area that wasn't a large house rental, I came upon this property and the three cottages. We stayed in the Little Lifeboat house, and it was really nice. Two levels, with a bedroom and roomy bathroom upstairs (nice whirlpool tub for two) and a small kitchen and living area plus bathroom downstairs. The place had all the amenities to make our stay comfy. We could cook in the kitchen (might need to be stocked with some new pots/pans), barbecue on the little grill outside (charcoal and lighter fluid supplied!) and even do laundry. It was great for a short stay but would be nice for even longer stays. The location was great on the quiet island of Roanoke and close to the historic waterfront area downtown. My boyfriend and I took walks in the evenings to the waterfront area and really enjoyed the cute residential areas to walk through. There is a 'Food-A-Rama' right down the street so you can stock the kitchen (be sure to pack your coffee with you as there is a coffeepot, but no coffee -- not something you want to discover first thing in the morning for those coffee addicts!). All in all, it was a great place -- quiet, comfortable and peaceful. We really enjoyed the built in sound system, watching DVDs (there is a Red Box rental service in the Food-A-Rama) and relaxing over the memorial day weekend. We would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahleah311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

We stayed at the Endless Summer cottage and were pleasantly surprised. For a small cottage it had all of the amenities: granite countertops, stainless appliances, flat screen TV's in living room and both bedrooms, tiled bathrooms. Crafted well with attention to detail - loved the "surfer" theme that was present throughout. Close to downtown Manteo shops and restaurants. Definitely would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WkndTravlrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parrothead6970
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

This was a charming 60's style motel.It has been remodeled and is everything you need when staying on the outer banks! It was clean the service was great.The staff was excellent.I stayed here on July 4th 2009 and Manteo has an excellent fireworks display.This little motel only had 9 rooms but service was great and dollar for dollar it is the best stay in the area.If you have to have the Hilton stay at the Hilton ILL STAY HERE AGAIN!!!! You will have to drive to the beach (5 minute drive)but research Manteo NC this is a great little water front town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parrothead6970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

We were going to stay in the motel part. We saw the room when we got there and were disappointed. It looked very outdated and dark. We asked to see an open cottage, and The Wright Getaway was available. We loved it! Small but great amenities (kitchen, jacuzzi tub, private driveway). We're glad we upgraded! The cottage was about 15 minutes from Nags Head. We were allowed to have our Yorkie there for a fee.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

We spent a weekend at the Little Lifeboat House last spring and were very happy with the experience. The house is so cute and perfect for two people, though it could easily fit four.

  • Liked — Ammentiies of a house in a small size
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank george1ai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

We chose to stay here because we love Manteo and we were looking for property in the Outer Banks. We did travel with our 5 lb yorkie - so we had a "pet room" Horrible room - way too tiny for my family of four and the bathroom was gross. It had a bad smell, bugs, and cracks in the floor and in the shower. The ceiling fan kept us up all night, it was soooo loud.
We would never stay here again. On our way home, we stayed at the Travel Lodge (across the street from the beach) with our small pet and loved it!!!!! Smelled great, had a pool, very clean and included breakfast. All for the same price as this one. I made a huge mistake.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrittenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#1 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Guesthouse & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Guesthouse & Cottages

Property: The Island Guesthouse & Cottages
Address: 706 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9762
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing