We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Endless Summer Cottage was perfect for our family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Guesthouse & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Island Guesthouse & Cottages
Save
You added The Island Guesthouse & Cottages to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Endless Summer Cottage was perfect for our family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We enjoyed our three night stay in Manteo. Nice, clean cottage. Not on the water. But a short walk to downtown. The Endless Summer Cottage owned and operated by the Island Guesthouse and Cottages is, as my wife would say, "cute as a button". Small but well stocked and quaint; fairly new and in excellent condition. Our only gripe was that both bedrooms were upstairs with a bath between. But that bath only has a tub; no shower. So we had to make the trip downstairs for the shower. In any event, yes, I would recommend the place without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the little life boat house for our honeymoon last July. It was the perfect place. The cottage the island, the people were all wonderful!! It is such a laid back island but plenty to do and see. The history is rich and the scenery breathtaking!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazmodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place surpassed our expectations! Initially, we were going to stay at the motel the month before. We had discovered Manteo during the Christmas holidays and fell in love with the small, quaint town. In early February, we lost one of our beloved dogs and wanted to to getaway to mend our hearts. We found this pet-friendly property but cancelled our reservations in the motel due to the weather forecast and booked The Wright Getaway instead for the following month, to celebrate my husband and my birthdays and brought our other dog along. This cottage is so tastefully decorated and left us wanting for nothing. It's within walking distance to the historic waterfront which is great. I would certainly recommend this place for a family reunion (the 3 cottages) and hope to do just that sometime soon. This one was the smallest, an efficiency, but still cute and cozy. The other two cottages are equally as beautiful. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Can't speak for the motel but the cottages are AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raregirl314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

3 star because It is close to the beach. we asked for non-smoking room but the room smelled really bad. I had to go to store and buy a candle and room freshener. Front desk/Tiki bar was always abandoned. WiFi connections was not good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khapsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Endless Summer cottage and had a fabulous time. Graham was very nice and helpful during our stay. We had a problem with the heat and there was someone there to check it very quickly. The cottage was decorated really cute with a surfer theme carried thru out the cottage. 2 large bathrooms and plenty of space. Super clean...I could not tell that they allowed dogs. My kids loved the tree house on the grounds. We would certainly go back anytime!

Room Tip: any of the cottages would be a great choice
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank plm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in the Endless Summer Cottage. It is very cute and the amenities are nice. Customer service was fine and we enjoyed our stay. It was "off" season and the location was good. We enjoyed being closer to the attractions since it was too cold for the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looseatthegoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at the Little Boat House Cottage on Roanoke Island, Historic Manteo. There are Three absolutely beautiful Cottages next to each other. These are different than the Motel just a few blocks away, so Don't confuse the Two. The Motel received Lower reviews, so be aware that I am reviewing the Cottages. These Three Cottages are New, Beautiful, Clean & Well worth the Money! It has a Kitchen, Living room, Bedroom, Bath with Whirlpool Tub upstairs & Shower downstairs. There is a Treehouse in the yard. They are Pet Friendly, so please pick-up after you pet so that they continue this practice. Just Two blocks from Historic Downtown Manteo & the Waterfront. Safe neighborhood to walk through. They gave us a complimentary Bottle of Wine. This is truly a FIVE STAR Cottage! Two couples could comfortably stay at The Little Boat House. I think The Endless Summer Cottage could accomidate Three or Four Couples. We LOVED it!

Room Tip: Pick any of the Three Cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
1.4 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#1 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
4.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
4.0 mi away
Owens' Motel
Owens' Motel
#13 of 13 in Nags Head
3.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Guesthouse & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Guesthouse & Cottages

Property: The Island Guesthouse & Cottages
Address: 706 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9762
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing