We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret of the NC Outer Banks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Island Guesthouse & Cottages
Ranked #7 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2008

The Island Motel and Guesthouse has many options. You can stay in one of three small houses, you can stay in the main guest house or you can stay in the motor lodge behind the main guest house. Two of the small houses offer some of the best, yet affordable accomations on NC's coast. The Wright Gitaway and the Endless Summer are high quality accomadations in the quaint downtown area. The Endless Summer is themed after a 1960's surf movie and the Wright Gitaway is themed after our first in flight brothers. Both have high-end 4-star-like appliances and bedding, fireplaces, and an attention to detail and cleanliness that I have seen only in one other place that I've stayed.
I live less than 2 hours away, and this is where I come to get away.
I've stayed in the motor lodge, which allows pets, but I had a problem with the cat hair that was on a chair. However, the houses are spotless.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank buzzy1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 54 of 54 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2008

We stayed in the Wright Getaway cottage at the Island Motel in Manteo for 3 nights in late April. The property is owned by a small bussinessman, and reflects the excellent care and attention that an owner would give. The staff was very helpful and curteous. The cottage was just a delight! It was clean and very comfortable. There is a whirlpool tub, gas fireplace, vaulted ceiling, and solid surface counters. The Wright Brothers theme was tastfully represented throughout the cottage. There are rocking chairs on the little front porch with Wilbur and Orville's names carved in them. The kitchen was modern and the TV and sound system were much better than any hotel would provide. Best of all was the privacy and coziness of our own little cottage. This accomodation made our childless vacation a joy. We might go back next year and rent the larger cottage for us and the kids.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank virginiatravelers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

First the Island Motel and Guest House is a very interesting place. There are 2 sections the Guest Houses and the motel.
The motel is an older 50/60s style motel the owner is in the process of renovating. Some of the rooms are nice/decent and others need to be redone. The rooms inside and upstairs (above the lobby) are the nicest. If looking for a good clean comfortable room ask to be inside, upstairs. They are a little more $$ (not by much) but worth it. If I am not mistaken the motel part allows pets, too.

The second part are the 3 guest houses, the owner built and decorated himself, located around the corner from the motel.The guest houses are awesome. My family stayed in these during my wedding weekend and loved it. All the guesthouses have a theme and are decorated according to that theme. One is small and will sleep 2 people.
There is a medium sized one that has 1 bedroom upstairs and a sleep sofa downstairs (sleeps 4).
Then a larger one with 2 bedrooms upstairs and a sleep sofa downstairs. (sleeps 6).
All the guest houses have kitchens/kitchenett, nice bathrooms, and flat screen TVs, and I think they all have fireplaces.

The guesthouses are on the expensive side, but are very nice. The motel is cheap, clean, basic place to stay.

The average rating is because of the motel part, some rooms very nice, others need to be updated.
If I had to rate the guesthouses seperately I would rate them as excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravelingHokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We stayed at one of the guest rooms at the Island Motel in July 2007. We chose it since it was located near US 64 and since it was relatively inexpensive ($85 including tax) The room was very clean - the bedroom & bathroom floors were tiled, the bedspread was faded but fine. Each room has two double beds, they seemed shorter than usual, but maybe that's because I am used to a queen-sized bed. The reason I'm giving this an "average" is the bathtub shower didn't drain, no toiletries were provided (just interested in soap so I could wash my hands), and I just didn't feel secure since the door was thin and there was only a "pop" lock, no chain or deadbolt. My husband thought the motel was fine - that I was being picky - but I wouldn't plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscar's_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

The "Wright Getaway" is a brand new cottage (one of three), very tiny but efficient, clean, nicely located, reasonably priced. This was the smallest of the three cottages and was a delight. Nice little kitchen, bed/sitting area with electric fireplace and good TV/sound system. Great bathroom. Cork floors. Clean, well landscaped, quiet. Walk to the main downtown area. And takes pets (for a fee). Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AustinVisito_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sallyarconate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
8.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
240 reviews
4.2 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
496 reviews
24.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Guesthouse & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Guesthouse & Cottages

Address: 706 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9762
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range: $69 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island Guesthouse & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Island Guesthouse & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing