We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and cozy cottage!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Island Guesthouse & Cottages
Ranked #7 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Gloucester, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful and cozy cottage!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place surpassed our expectations! Initially, we were going to stay at the motel the month before. We had discovered Manteo during the Christmas holidays and fell in love with the small, quaint town. In early February, we lost one of our beloved dogs and wanted to to getaway to mend our hearts. We found this pet-friendly property but cancelled our reservations in the motel due to the weather forecast and booked The Wright Getaway instead for the following month, to celebrate my husband and my birthdays and brought our other dog along. This cottage is so tastefully decorated and left us wanting for nothing. It's within walking distance to the historic waterfront which is great. I would certainly recommend this place for a family reunion (the 3 cottages) and hope to do just that sometime soon. This one was the smallest, an efficiency, but still cute and cozy. The other two cottages are equally as beautiful. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Can't speak for the motel but the cottages are AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raregirl314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

3 star because It is close to the beach. we asked for non-smoking room but the room smelled really bad. I had to go to store and buy a candle and room freshener. Front desk/Tiki bar was always abandoned. WiFi connections was not good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khapsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Endless Summer cottage and had a fabulous time. Graham was very nice and helpful during our stay. We had a problem with the heat and there was someone there to check it very quickly. The cottage was decorated really cute with a surfer theme carried thru out the cottage. 2 large bathrooms and plenty of space. Super clean...I could not tell that they allowed dogs. My kids loved the tree house on the grounds. We would certainly go back anytime!

Room Tip: any of the cottages would be a great choice
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank plm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in the Endless Summer Cottage. It is very cute and the amenities are nice. Customer service was fine and we enjoyed our stay. It was "off" season and the location was good. We enjoyed being closer to the attractions since it was too cold for the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looseatthegoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at the Little Boat House Cottage on Roanoke Island, Historic Manteo. There are Three absolutely beautiful Cottages next to each other. These are different than the Motel just a few blocks away, so Don't confuse the Two. The Motel received Lower reviews, so be aware that I am reviewing the Cottages. These Three Cottages are New, Beautiful, Clean & Well worth the Money! It has a Kitchen, Living room, Bedroom, Bath with Whirlpool Tub upstairs & Shower downstairs. There is a Treehouse in the yard. They are Pet Friendly, so please pick-up after you pet so that they continue this practice. Just Two blocks from Historic Downtown Manteo & the Waterfront. Safe neighborhood to walk through. They gave us a complimentary Bottle of Wine. This is truly a FIVE STAR Cottage! Two couples could comfortably stay at The Little Boat House. I think The Endless Summer Cottage could accomidate Three or Four Couples. We LOVED it!

Room Tip: Pick any of the Three Cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, VT
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our first trip to the Outer Banks called for spending night number 1 at The Island Motel then four night in Buxton on Cape Hatteras one night in Okracoke then one night in Atlantic Beach. We arrived at RDU Sunday, Oct. 28th and drove to Manteo knowing the weather would worsen as we drove east with Sandy Sandy a few hundred miles off the coast. When we got to the visitors center just before Manteo it was closed the wind was amazing and rain was sideways. A watchman there told us the the next two days would be worst. We drove on to The Island Motel and they were ready for us. We took the upstairs King room and it was the perfect place to ride out the nights storm. The next day finding out that we would not get on the Outer Banks we drove south to Atlantic Beach to escape the storm. Thanks folks for being there!

Room Tip: Don't know about the motel but the upstairs room was excellent. We did drive bt the three cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheeprock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lop Buri, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place has a good location at reasonable prices. We stayed for 2 nights in the motel (not private cottages which looked awesome!) and it was a good stay. The staff was nice and helpful and the place was all around very clean. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connors819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.2 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
227 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,518 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
178 reviews
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island Guesthouse & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Guesthouse & Cottages

Property: The Island Guesthouse & Cottages
Address: 706 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9762
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing