We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“DARE HAVEN MOTEL Manteo NC 27954” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dare Haven Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dare Haven Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
BALDWIN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“DARE HAVEN MOTEL Manteo NC 27954”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I know a lots about this motel. (1) most of the year Hunters and Fishermen, use this motel and yes it is one of the older motels in Manteo. (2) It is a great location. (3) THE OWNERS work hard to make it a nice place to stay. No it's not the Holiday INN, NOR THE Hampton Inn. but for the price you can't beat it. My only complaint is the bath room small. The bed room area is large. No coffee pot, no microwave. TV yes refrigerator yes. Would I stay there again. Yes I would.

Room Tip: Ask to see room/rooms before checking in. They the staff welcome this. If you are satisfied book it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marandly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
224 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This motel was just as travelers had described. It was an old one story motel. Towels were old, but clean. Bed was large and comfortable. The air conditioning or heat is a window unit. It was hard to get the room temperature just right. It was either stuffy or freezing cold. There's a mini fridge in the room. No hair dryer and the only thing provided in the bathroom was a bar of soap so bring your own shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. The TV was terrible - there was cable so there were tons of shows but the sound was awful - cheap speakers. But it was in a great location for us to visit all areas of the Outer Banks. There's also a wonderful Italian restaurant directly across the street.
The room was cleaned every day and the towels replaced.
Debbie who was always at the front desk when we were there was very friendly. There were even a couple of friendly cats hanging around outside. There are adirondack chairs on the porch and ash trays if you're a smoker. I'm a huge anti-smoker and our room was non-smoking. I didn't smell any smoke in the room.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you need huge rooms, room service, valet parking and a cafe, then this is probably not going to suit you very well. Or if there are more than three of you, or if any of your party is very large...

However, my wife and nine year old daughter and I found it to be quite comfy, and without the musty smell other folks experienced. We were in room 27. It was clean, cheap (65$ per night), had a decent inroom fridge, and a wall unit heater/ac. It was also about 5 minutes easy drive to the NC Aquarium, Festival Park, Ft. Raleigh and the NC Mariner's Museum. Several restuarants within a couple minutes drive, and a Italian eatery right across the road. Desk staff was personable, and we could park right in front of our room. Wooden chairs, benches, and a friendly cat made me feel right at home.

Ok, so the bathroom is small... We didn't plan to spend much time in there anyway... The hot water worked fine, and plenty of it. Overall, I'd say it had character, something most of the newer ones don't. We'd go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tyaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I really wanted to love this motel. Its got a great location, and a stop along the way for us to get to Buxton, OBX. The outside is well landscaped and maintained, the front desk check in easy and the staff very friendly and easy to work with. The room (28) was clean, but a bit dated. The large mini-fridge and microwave were a nice touch. The bathroom was tiny, but the water was hot. It took about 2 hours for the room to cool down, since the AC must be cut off after each visitor leaves. All this was fine. My only issue was the same as other reviewers. An overwhelming musty smell that never went away. I just can't move past it. I smelled it when we got there, when we came back from dinner, and every minute in the room. If this is not an issue for you, all the other things offered (cleanliness, price, location) are worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torene3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

After checking the reviews, decided to give the old place one more chance. Love the location, great person at checking in, parking in front of the room was great, great outdoor sitting allowed for great fellowship and breathing in that OBX clean air. The room, however, was something to be desired....as soon as we walked in Room 17.........the musty smell and humidity would knock your socks off. A/C was cut on immediately and the windows opened. We contemplated on getting another room but.............heck fire, this was a fishing trip, and maybe by the time we got back the air would be better. After supper, the air was better but the musty smell hung around after we shut the windows. Checking around I found fresh paint over delaminated paneling in several places and could only surmise that the musty smell lurked behind. Linen were clean but after finding a small waterbug or roach bug crawling up the wall, made us check the mattress edges for possible surprises.........nothing found! Again, it was the cheapest place to lay our heads after a long day of fishing and the beds slept good but...........the musty smell was the biggest issue....and that definitely made Room 17 a bummer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fireguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This certainly is not a fancy motel, nor does it have many amenities, but if you are on a budget and simply looking for a clean place to rest your head the Dare Haven is for you! I had a great experience staying here with a friend. There was plenty of space for two (four would have been a little more cramped, but manageable) and everything was clean. I'd recommend it to anyone traveling in the area who is on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Best price we could find for an OBX hotel/motel. While a little dated, the room was clean, cozily decorated, with a small fridge, flat screen tv, and comfy rockers on the "porch". Park directly in front of your room. They were full up and turning folks away while we were there, so glad we booked in advance. Wifi worked. Several other guests had pets with them -- didn't cause any problems. There was a large group with children having a picnic in the grassy central area. Kids were a bit noisy and kicking a soccer ball around (which had me a little worried about the rental car), but no problems. Short drive to the Elizabethan gardens and the Aquarium. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground floor, around a central parking and picnic area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.8 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#1 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
4.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
9.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
8.1 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dare Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dare Haven Motel

Property: Dare Haven Motel
Address: Rt. 64/264, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Dare Haven Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing