We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Clean and Cute”
Review of Dare Haven Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dare Haven Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Best price we could find for an OBX hotel/motel. While a little dated, the room was clean, cozily decorated, with a small fridge, flat screen tv, and comfy rockers on the "porch". Park directly in front of your room. They were full up and turning folks away while we were there, so glad we booked in advance. Wifi worked. Several other guests had pets with them -- didn't cause any problems. There was a large group with children having a picnic in the grassy central area. Kids were a bit noisy and kicking a soccer ball around (which had me a little worried about the rental car), but no problems. Short drive to the Elizabethan gardens and the Aquarium. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground floor, around a central parking and picnic area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 50 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to stay in the Nags Head/Kill Devil Hills area however most places were well over $100. We decided to search hotels in the surrounding areas and found reviews for this hotel. I called and was informed that rooms were available and the price was a little less than $100 so we decided to check it out. We stayed in a room with double beds. The room was clean, had a refrigerator, a good sized shower (no tub) and cool air. We actually found the place to be more than expected. We would definitely consider staying here again. Negatives would be no hair dryer, microwave or coffee pot in the room. Positives far outweigh these minor drawbacks.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D1a9v5i5d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Close to everything and very clean. Half the price of other places in OBX. Park in front of your room and enjoy the rocking chairs on the porch. Quiet & a great place for couples without the noise of a pool or kid activities. The owners are super nice. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Just2Bass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Four stars for what it is: a simple, comfortable, neat, clean older motel where you park in front of your room. Rocking chair, small fridge in the room. Flat screen tv. Very nice proprieter. Price is less than others in the area.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a very friendly family-run motel with a folksy atmosphere. Even though it has a slightly run-down feeling it is clean and neat. We had been on the road for a week and needed a laundromat which the hotel staff pointed out not very far away. They also recommended an Italian restaurant (La Dolce Vita) across the street, which was part of a different hotel. We stayed in the Dare Haven Motel in order to be close to the outdoor drama "The Lost Colony." However, the area had horrendous thunder and lightning storms and the play was cancelled the evening we were there. Fortunately, we had bought cancellation insurance and were out only the $10 for the insurance, not the price of the tickets.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Yes, this is a one star hotel. Yes, it is pet friendly with all of the issues you might imagine. However, if you are a dog lover, you live with these issues daily. The hotel is run by the granddaughter of the founder and she is a fantastic hostess! She went out of her way to attend to our every request. You can't beat this value for budget wise, pet loving travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinoTurino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for Valentines day weekend. We were very pleased with the renovated room that we got. The room was very comfortable with a flat screen t.v and decorated with beach decor. I found the room very clean and the staff very friendly. I also liked that we had an option of smoking or non smoking rooms. We also liked that the hotel was pet friendly as alot of hotels are not now. We will stay here again! Loved the price and love the location!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashram0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.6 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
233 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,595 reviews
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,183 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dare Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dare Haven Motel

Address: 819 U.S. 64 and 264, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Dare Haven Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing