We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back and relaxing visit”
Review of Cameron House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cameron House Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Laid back and relaxing visit”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was our first trip to the Outerbanks. Since hurricane Irene was heading toward the OBX while we were planning our trip, we decided to wait until after she went through before we booked. Lucky for us, The Cameron House Inn survived the storm.
The inn is charming, clean, comfortable and the staff is very welcoming. From the minute we arrived, we were told where everything was, and told to make ourselves at home. If you're looking for a place that pampers you and waits on you hand and foot, this ain't it. If you want relaxed, family style accomodations, this is the place. There is a fireplace on the back porch with rocking chairs and several very friendly cats (outside only) that will be more than happy to sit on you lap by the fire for as long as you sit there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Creef" room on the first floor. It has two windows and is off of the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwmagui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    11
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
100
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Diniwid, Boracay
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The light..and a welcoming warmth is ALWAYS on at the Cameron Inn.

And homemade pie is always waiting for you on the counter as well.

I could go on and on...but unless you have Grandma's house in ManEo...I would be returning regularly to family comfort of the Cameron Inn.

Can't wait to get back soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kents Store, Va.
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Just returned from a long weekend at the Cameron House Inn. This was my first experience w/ a b&b. It could not have been better. The inn is very charming and the decor is immaculate. The rooms [ and the entire Inn ] are Very clean. The breakfast was a lot more than the continental breakfast I was expecting. Lots of variety, and a great way to start the day. A very laid back experience, close to the beach, shopping, and some very fine cuisine. The staff was very friendly and helpful in regards to events taking place in the area. We will return to this Wonderful Experience.....

Room Tip: Avocet Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ylpnfol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We have stayed at Cameron House several times over the years. It is a charming Inn, and the hosts are warm and friendly. Each room is unique, and there are beautiful furnishings. One bedroom has a fireplace, but if you don't get that room, there is a comforting living room with a fireplace and a wonderful porch with an outdoor fireplace where we have spent many hours in a rocking chair reading books and sipping wine. The Inn is only a block from the downtown Manteo waterfront. There are interesting shops and restaurants and historical sites. Cameron House is a treasure!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisualizeMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We just made our third trip this year to the Cameron House Inn to ring in the New Year. In March, we brought our teenage son and stayed in the Mirabella room. It has an attached room so he could have his own space and we could have ours. At the beginning of December, we selected the Avocet to celebrate our anniversary. The casual atmosphere and all the comforts of home without the interruptions and distractions are what bring us back.. Mornings are special because we can take our coffee, fresh fruit, cereal, and pastries outside and relax in the warmth of the fire on the back porch. We enjoy reading the comments that people leave about their stays. Many of those writers are like us – they keep coming back because the tranquility of the Inn makes them feel at home and the hospitality is wonderful!.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2010

My husband and I spent a weekend there in late December while attending friend's wedding. The overall impression was "OK - but nothing to write home about".
I'll start with positives:
- The common room is really cute. It has a comfy leather sofa and a fire place
- The place is conveniently located on the main street of Manteo
- The staff/owners are extremely friendly, and will generally try to help
- The place is clean

Now, the negatives:
- The breakfast is really miserable. It's a self service breakfast, with cold old bagels, 1 spinach/mushroom quiche that they served both mornings, also, they had these cinnamon roles (purchased probably at Giant) that they also served both mornings
- The heating in our room stopped working the second night we were there so we FROZE to death. As you can imagine it was extremely unpleasant
- Our room was on the second floor (Mirabela) and since it was raining all day, as we returned to our room at night the roof started leaking. I actually had to place a bucket to catch the water.

Needless to say, the owners did not even offer to lower the price, or compensate us in any way. They did apologize, but that really does not do us any good. We are definitely not going back to that place. If you are planning on staying there, dress warm and be prepared for lovely rain drop sounds that will keep you up all night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirna429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slanesville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed at the Cameron House Inn for three nights -- and it was the perfect start to our honeymoon. The Inn is a beautifully renovated Arts & Crafts style home, and we fell in love with our room, The Featherstone Room. The furnishings were comfortable and luxurious, and little touches like the supply of sodas and fresh chocolate chip cookies really made us feel at home! We thoroughly enjoyed relaxing on the back porch with the cats in the evening, and breakfast in the sunny dining room was heaven! Thanks to Beth and Michael and their friendly staff for an unforgettable visit. We can't wait to return! Terri & Michael Ward, Slanesville, WV

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terriward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
8.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
836 reviews
4.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House Inn

Property: Cameron House Inn
Address: 300 Budleigh Street, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cameron House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cameron House Inn is a beautiful Manteo, NC inn nestled in the heart of Roanoke Island. Near Nags Head, Cape Hatteras and famous Outer Banks lighthouses, it is the ideal accommodation location for exploring the Outer Banks, the Roanoke Island attractions and enjoying the shops, restaurants and activities of Manteo. Cameron House Inn offers six guest rooms, all individually and beautifully designed. The overall style of the inn is Arts and Crafts, and the rooms reflect that look. Special amenities give each one its own appeal. Relax in a rocking chair by the outdoor fireplace and let the quaint, peaceful spirit of small–town Manteo carry you back to a simpler time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cameron House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron House Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing