We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick visit”

North Carolina Aquarium on Roanoke Island
Ranked #2 of 38 things to do in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
candirn
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A quick visit”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found this small aquarium an hour before closing time. We paid the fee and had the place all to ourselves. Staff was friendly and helpful. The displays were well maintained. My personal favorite being the river otter. Because it was the end we got see a couple of different tanks during feeding. Had a blast and would go back again!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank candirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    373
    129
    19
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A fun afternoon”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were driving around Mateo and stopped in on a whim. With only an hour left before the aquarium closed we paid the admission fee. We had the place to ourselves. It was feeding time so we got to see some of the fish eating. It is a nice aquarium feturing only fish and reptiles for the area but even so it was well constructed. We definitely enjoyed or visit and will go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Clay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun for kids!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a nice aquarium! My 4yo had a great time looking at all the exhibits, and she had an absolute BLAST in the turtle rehabilitation area. That was a great addition. The shark wall was amazing, and it was great to see so many "locally-based" animals. We got lucky and got to see the alligators being fed.

The "shark's tooth dig" outside the aquarium is nice as well. Not sure if there are any shark teeth in there, but my daughter had a great time looking for one!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kb9906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Lake, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“More Fun than Expected”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Enjoyed all the local fish and turtles and even otters. The otters even did tricks when being fed. You can pet sharks and stingrays. And later the sea urchins and starfish wait for you. Many programs go on during the day. There are activities for the kids. Scenic location along the sound.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not finding Nemo”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice little aquarium, emphasis on little. Not much there to see really, would be fine for young kids, but not the place for adults really. Friendly staff, well kept and clean, just too limited for the price for me.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Holycow97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Carolina Aquarium on Roanoke Island also viewed

Manteo, Roanoke Island
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to North Carolina Aquarium on Roanoke Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing