We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”

Darrell's Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 34 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Darrell’s is a family-style seafood restaurant that’s been a favorite on Roanoke Island since 1960. Seafood is the definite specialty; the fried oysters are widely touted as the best anywhere, served with the traditional fixings of cole slaw, french fries and hush puppies. Locals know that Darrell’s does seafood right. Land food, children’s fare and light eaters’ dishes are also available. Darrell’s is now serving the best BBQ and BBQ Ribs fresh off an all narural wood fired smoker. Helpings are heaping and desserts are delicious, if you have room. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served Monday-Saturday and breakfast and lunch on Sunday’s.
Manteo, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Darrell's in Manteo, NC is a family friendly restaurant with excellent food! Their fish tacos are some of the best in the Outer Banks. Blackened or grilled mahi-mahi and all the fixings! That also have a wonderful fried and grilled seafood. For breakfast their blueberry pancakes are great! Also try their hot fudge cake! It is so big you can get a 1/2 size that still feeds two!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    121
    57
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corydon, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best food of our stay in Manteo”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I ordered the blackened Mahi served over a HUGE bed of black beans and rice and topped with salsa. It was to die for! My husband loved his fish as well. We ate in downtown Manteo and it was okay, but we felt more comfortable with the family atmosphere at Darrell's. Prices were more than fair. If we had stayed longer we would have eaten there again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RhondaKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County PA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This place was a great find. The crowded parking lot drew us in for lunch. The food did not disappoint. Everything was fresh and delicious. You can't beat the price of their weekly lunch specials. Our servers were always pleasant and helpful. The food was so good and reasonable, we returned for several more lunches and dinners. Overall, it was a great value for the money and the food was very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sccpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Adequate lunch”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

There is nothing special about this establishment. The food was standard fair with nothing to set them apart. Service was borderline. Would return if in the immediate area for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Restaurant!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a visit to the NC Aquarium and upon recommendation from an aquarium worker, my family and I stopped at Darrell's for a late lunch. Everyone had something different from the meatloaf special to fried oysters and the food was homecooked and delicious. Service was fast and friendly. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DMC694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darrell's Restaurant also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Darrell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing