We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 1587 Restaurant

1587 Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 35 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to 1587 Restaurant! Here you will find World-Class chefs who blend the freshest of ingredients including herbs grown from the Inn's own gardens, today's Atlantic seafood, meats & fowl, and vegetables from the Outer Banks' finest growers. You'll dine in an atmosphere that is elegant but relaxed as you gaze through the large windows that frame a view of quaint Shallowbag Bay and a moonrise that is truly spectacular!
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Located in the Tranquil Inn, where we stayed, decided to have dinner here one night, as recommended by a friend. Wonderful! Go early, reserve a table near the windows overlooking the water; nice atmosphere. Scallop appetizer was enough for an entree, tuna was excellent as was the beef tenderloin. We all enjoyed the "Lost Colony" martini. Creme Brulee was delicious, but not exceptional. Service was great; friendly and personable. If you're staying elsewhere near the "downtown" area of Manteo, this is an easy walk. We were there for a girls weekend celebrating a birthday. One has stayed here for the last 5 years; we're going again next year, if not before!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    43
    22
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Have "Lost Colony" Tickets?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Get 20% off by showing evidence that you have "Lost Colony" tickets for that night. Book your dinner reservation for before 6PM. Makes dining here an even better value! The waitstaff is attentive and friendly, and the food is good. There is a nice atmosphere inside the restaurant - not a noisy bar type scene like so many other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTTraveler250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
332 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

I hadn't been here in a long time but went with a group of friends on a recent trip back to North Carolina. The food was excellent -- fresh tuna -- and one of the special martinis was great. We all enjoyed it. Would recommend. Much better than going to a touristy restaurant in the Nags Head area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice, great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

The restaurant, food and service was excellent. It is pricey but well worth the price. Great for special occasions. Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stacey_y318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Anniversary Dinner Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The historic 1587 Restaurant is a must for fellow foodies or romantics. The atmosphere is quite compared to the larger volume restaurants on the Outer Banks. The view is stunning. The service was excellent! I had the Snowy Grouper special, my husband had the Mahi-Mahi. Both plates were absolutely delicious! I expected to pay more, but to me the combination of all things mentioned made it worth it to me. They also have great off season specials. I couldn't have been happier with our Anniversary dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nativeOBXer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1587 Restaurant also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to 1587 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing