We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different kind of lighthouse”

Roanoke Marshes Lighthouse
Ranked #11 of 38 things to do in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Apex, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Different kind of lighthouse”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Since we are trying to visit all of the NC lighthouses, we made a special trip to see this one especilly because it is a bit different. This is a cottage lighthouse and very small. We visited on a Saturday the last weekend in April. The lighthouse is closed on weekends! Not sure if it is closed on weekends all year so check before you go. We did find a gem of a small town in Manteo and some quaint shops and a brewery so all was not lost. zThe town is worth a day visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ggthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    61
    24
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Pretty Little Lighthouse”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Located in the town of Manteo, this is a picturesque lighthouse. I happened to visit during a wedding. I can't blame them, it is a great location for it. It is a very pretty lighthouse.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank virginiagamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Stop”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This one is worth the ride to Manteo if you are a lighthouse lover. Manteo has wonderful streets along the waterfront and there is a pier out to this lighthouse that allows you to walk around the area and view the sound. Next time I will visit at sunset!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 60rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Unusual”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was very different from what we expected - but in a good way. Our family enjoys exploring lighthouses (our favorite is one in Miami,Fl) and this little lighthouse was cool in its' own way. We enjoyed strolling along the board walk and visiting the shops.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank agapeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute little lighthouse”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Roanoke Marshes Lighthouse isn't like the tall thin lighthouses that one is used to seeing. This is a smaller, more modern looking lighthouse right in downtown Manteo. It is a great little place to visit while in Manteo and walk along the boardwalk.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank vacasluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roanoke Marshes Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Roanoke Marshes Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing