We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a difference!”
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elizabethan Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Reviewed February 16, 2011

I stayed at the Elizabethan Inn Motel about 10 years ago and the place was pretty run down. A friend told me that the new owners had remodeled it, so I decided to give it another try. Wow, what a difference! Really nice room, clean, up to date. Nice pool too. It is a pleasure to see the older motels so well taken care of. Friendly helpful staff. One young lady was on her way out the door, but stopped to help me when she heard I was looking for a good place to have dinner. (Most people would have kept going.) I went to one of the restaurants she recommended and it was wonderful. She said the restaurant in the motel would be open soon. I plan to try it the next time I go down. Nice place, nice people. I couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susiew1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 239 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2010

Interior worn but clean. Beds comfortable. Air conditioning good. Towels nice. WIFI good.
Very helpful and pleasant front desk.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ednat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Our first room was so small, one of us had to stand aside if the other one wanted to walk in front of the bed. The towels/washclothes felt like corn husks. The soap provided was the cheapest they could find. The refrigerator wouldn't keep a bottle of water cold, the toilet seat was broken and the shower head sprayed off to the side if you tried to adjust it. Also, we wanted a queen size bed and what we got was a full size with maybe a couple of inches added on. We asked to change rooms which was graciously done by the front desk help. The 2nd room was bigger but still had the cheapest amenities. The rooms were very poorly lit. And when we wanted to leave a day early, the owners refused to let us out of our reservation for the last night. It was worth it to us to leave any way. The cost of the room was $115.00/week nights and $125.00 for weekend nights. No where near worth it! The entire motel needs a huge facelift. We could not get wi-fi in our room-had to go to the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DMMWestColumbia_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Just stayed here for four days and had a great experience! The hotel is beautifully decorated and has a great ambiance. The staff was superb front desk personnel, Staff excellent and seemingly genuine, The rooms are so well insulated there was a thunder and lighting storm outside and we did not here a thing, Comfortable beds with very soft sheets, The rooms were always clean, The indoor pool is huge, clean & extremely nice. Hotel also has a well equipped weight room and hot tub. There is Jacuzzi, Sauna, Spa, Aerobics as well. All in all, this is a great place to stay with nominal rate.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goswamiraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I have been visiting the Outer Banks for well over 30 years. Growing up, we would often spend a night here at the Elizabethan before our main vacation down on Hatteras Island. This was the primary reason I chose this property for our one-night stay.

The check-in process was a bit slow, but this was largely excusable since I think this hotel was the last in the vicinity that had vacancies. The reservations I made earlier in the day were exactly as agreed upon through Expedia. The night attendant checking us in was courteous and friendly, as I had expected from past experiences.

Our room was located at the back of the property in one of the satellite buildings. This was perfect because it was away from the road yet a very short walk to the pool. Upon entry to the room, we were all overwhelmed by the strong stench of what was probably swamp gasses coming up from the storm drain in front of the room. The room had the a/c 'off', so it was predictably muggy and stale as a result. The room freshened up quickly when the a/c was turned on and was actually very pleasant after about 15 minutes. Management should seriously consider leaving the a/c on in the rooms for Friday and Saturday night arrivals during peak season.

The room furnishings were very dated, but generally very good quality. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The bathroom had obviously been marginally updated at some point in the past 10 years, but really needed a complete refresh due to the corrosion of fixtures (the salt air in this region makes anything metal corrode exceptionally quickly). Except for a pronounced stain in the middle of the armchair in the room, everything looked to be well-cleaned. The towels were horrid: minimally absorptive, thin enough to see through and as coarse as industrial carpeting. At least the shower was clean with great water pressure and very hot water. The funny part was the shower soap: It was wrapped in a label for a national chain associated with Marriott. Hmmm, wonder how that got there?! Thankfully we brought our own...

The pool and workout room here have always been very nice with much attention being given to keeping things up. The restaurant that was once here (exceptional breakfasts back in the 'old days') has been replaced by a Mexican Cafe that isn't open for Breakfast as far as I could tell. Too bad. At least there are plenty of breakfast choices nearby.

All-in-all, the room rate is a bit steep for the condition of the place. Newer, nationally-branded hotels on the beach itself only cost $20-30 more per night for similarly-sized accommodations. I'd recommend that my friends look at that opportunity first, but then consider this hotel as a "plan B".

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeebytheSea35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past couple of years. We love the location. The indoor pool is huge, clean & extremely nice. Hotel also has a well equipped weight room and hot tub. The entire staff is very friendly and always makes us feel at home. The room was clean and neat and included a refrigerator and microwave. Extremely good deal for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Stayed at the Elizabethian Motor Lodge in Manteo, NC. A nice king size bed with a new matteress on the first floor. The room was equiped with a refrig., microwave and coffee maker. Bathroom was small but the shower was great. Good location, @ 1/2 mile from Downtown waterfront. Nice walk to restaurants. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
8.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
905 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
493 reviews
4.2 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
6 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Address: 814 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9583
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Price Range: $57 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Elizabethan Inn on Historic Roanoke Island. Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent authentic Italian cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. Elizabethan Inn, an Outer Banks hotel located in Manteo, NC on historic Roanoke Island, is the perfect place to take advantage of all that this destination has to offer. Tucked in along the shores of Shallowbag Bay, the picturesque waterfront village of Manteo is surrounded by tranquil waters and is just minutes from Nags Head’s beautiful beaches, lighthouses, Jockey’s Ridge and the world famous Wright Brother’s Memorial. Elizabethan Inn has been welcoming guests since the turn of the century. Guests come from near and far to experience gracious hospitality in this lovely historic town. The location of the Elizabethan Inn provides easy touring of Roanoke Island, which offers such visitor venues as the North Carolina Aquarium, Fort Raleigh National Historic Site, The Lost Colony Outdoor Symphonic Drama, the Elizabethan Gardens, Roanoke Island Festival Park, the NC Maritime Museum, and the Roanoke Marsh Lighthouse. Along the waterfront are unique boutiques for shopping and incredible restaurants to suit any taste. Only an hour to the north, you can enjoy visiting the Jockey’s Ridge State Park, Whale head Museum, NC Wildlife Museum, Wright Brothers National Memorial, Currituck Lighthouse, and some of North Carolina’s wineries and vineyards offering wine tastings and tours. Traveling to the south you may enjoy visiting the Pea Island Wildlife Refuge, the Cape Hatteras National Seashore, the Bodie Island Lighthouse, Chicamacomico Life Saving Museum, Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, and the Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum, or taking one of North Carolina's unique ferries to visit Ocracoke Island. Traveling Inland to the Mainland, you will venture into the Alligator National Wildlife Refuge, home to the red wolf, black bears, alligators, and a myriad of bird life. And, of course, shopping, special tours, and the unexpected adventures that can be found all along the way; kayaking, birding, hang gliding, parasailing, and sport fishing. Return to Elizabethan Inn after a day full of fun and adventure to relax for a spell, enjoy the heated pool, gym and sauna. For those who want to “Tie the Knot” on the Outer Banks, destination weddings and honeymoons are hugely popular. Elizabethan Inn is your perfect destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. When you stay at Elizabethan Inn, you will enjoy a unique experience – a place where both natural and cultural resources abound. Elizabethan Inn always offers nothing less than superb customer service to each of our guest. It is a place that will lure you back again, again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing