We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY DISAPPOINTING!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elizabethan Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VERY DISAPPOINTING!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

This hotel was not what it seems like. The website for it is misleading and not all of the amenities that they offer are available. I wanted to bring my small dog and the website said that they were not pet friendly, but when we got there, they had pet rooms. The jacuzzi's were both drained. The doors on the inside pool were opened with fans on which made it very cold to swim. The air conditioner was broken and when I checked out, they didn't even say they were sorry or offer any kind of compensation. They also would not honor our military discount because we had online reservations. The restaurant that is in the hotel is AWEFUL!!!!! They have more outside guests then the ones actually paying to stay there. I would highly recommend that you choose another hotel and pass it on to your friends too.

  • Liked — A bed to sleep in
  • Disliked — Lack of the amenities, Food was terrible, Service was terrible, and no apologies were offered
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smooknlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    56
    34
    35
    37
See reviews for
73
60
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

At $159.00 a night, I was disappointed. Our room was very small, with typical motel furnishings, nothing fancy. This is an older hotel. I showered right after our arrival and, believe it or not, had to dry off with a washcloth, as there were no towels in the room. The indoor pool, however, was wonderful. The staff was helpful.

  • Liked — The large indoor pool
  • Disliked — Small room, old outdoor wooden stairway, needs renovation
  • Tips/Secrets — If you book online, still call the hotel and make sure of the room- I thought we were getting a double.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackienc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manteo hotels

Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

The building is old and the room was unremarkable. They have a very large indoor pool, a sauna and whirlpool, and a weight room. If you want to be on Roanoke Island the location is convienient - the price reasonable.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank RaoulRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterville, NC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

This little inn was ok but the pet friendly room that we stayed in was in desperate need of a renovation. The bathroom fixtures, floor etc. had to be at least 30 years old. The room and bathroom were fairly clean but really outdated. There was a fridge in the room but that was the only plus. The inn did offer an indoor pool. The breakfast did not offer a very big variety just some muffins, cereal, coffee and juice. The staff was nice.

Helpful?
8 Thank PirateFan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

I took a nice Manteo getaway with my two daughters. This was a dirty Inn, they didnt even bother to clean our room even after complaining to the manager, and no hot water. It is unfortunate that everything else was booked, or we would have not stayed here. The continential breakfast the claim--is milk, no juice of any kind, 2 kinds of tiny muffins, and english mufins with no working toaster. It isint wort the money to stay here. Go to Nags Head instead.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

After reading some of the horrible reviews of this property, we almost looked elsewhere, but then decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised with a lovely, large, clean, well-decorated and furnished king room. The pool is huge, it was clean, and the newly-installed hot tub was great. Housekeeping was efficient, and front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Apparently new owners took over about a year ago. Free continental breakfast was value for the price :) We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank MandR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2006

My husband, our 20 month old daughter and I spent two nights in the Elizabethan Inn. We located the establishment on the web and it looked great. The website designer has inset the hotel on to what looks like a site overlooking the water. The virtual tours make it look like a well maintained upscale establishment. Unfortunately, that was not the case. The room was clean but dated and the continental breakfast was adequate but that is where the pleasantries end. The hallways and stair wells were filthy and in disrepair and although I didn't enter the spa/gym area but I could tell by looking through the window that the trend continued. Additionally, it appeared as if there was a local membership offered for the spa area. The spa area is located in the middle of the house and spa members had a key to gain access to the hotel which means there are more than just than hotel guests running around the hotel. Ironically, the mom and pop establishment across the street next to the pregnancy crisis center looked to be in better repair. We wouldn't stay at the Elizabethan Inn again. We felt like the web site designer took us for a ride, a bad one.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank husky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#8 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
8.4 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Property: Elizabethan Inn
Address: 814 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9583
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Elizabethan Inn on Historic Roanoke Island. Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent authentic Italian cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. Elizabethan Inn, an Outer Banks hotel located in Manteo, NC on historic Roanoke Island, is the perfect place to take advantage of all that this destination has to offer. Tucked in along the shores of Shallowbag Bay, the picturesque waterfront village of Manteo is surrounded by tranquil waters and is just minutes from Nags Head’s beautiful beaches, lighthouses, Jockey’s Ridge and the world famous Wright Brother’s Memorial. Elizabethan Inn has been welcoming guests since the turn of the century. Guests come from near and far to experience gracious hospitality in this lovely historic town. The location of the Elizabethan Inn provides easy touring of Roanoke Island, which offers such visitor venues as the North Carolina Aquarium, Fort Raleigh National Historic Site, The Lost Colony Outdoor Symphonic Drama, the Elizabethan Gardens, Roanoke Island Festival Park, the NC Maritime Museum, and the Roanoke Marsh Lighthouse. Along the waterfront are unique boutiques for shopping and incredible restaurants to suit any taste. Only an hour to the north, you can enjoy visiting the Jockey’s Ridge State Park, Whale head Museum, NC Wildlife Museum, Wright Brothers National Memorial, Currituck Lighthouse, and some of North Carolina’s wineries and vineyards offering wine tastings and tours. Traveling to the south you may enjoy visiting the Pea Island Wildlife Refuge, the Cape Hatteras National Seashore, the Bodie Island Lighthouse, Chicamacomico Life Saving Museum, Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, and the Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum, or taking one of North Carolina's unique ferries to visit Ocracoke Island. Traveling Inland to the Mainland, you will venture into the Alligator National Wildlife Refuge, home to the red wolf, black bears, alligators, and a myriad of bird life. And, of course, shopping, special tours, and the unexpected adventures that can be found all along the way; kayaking, birding, hang gliding, parasailing, and sport fishing. Return to Elizabethan Inn after a day full of fun and adventure to relax for a spell, enjoy the heated pool, gym and sauna. For those who want to “Tie the Knot” on the Outer Banks, destination weddings and honeymoons are hugely popular. Elizabethan Inn is your perfect destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. When you stay at Elizabethan Inn, you will enjoy a unique experience – a place where both natural and cultural resources abound. Elizabethan Inn always offers nothing less than superb customer service to each of our guest. It is a place that will lure you back again, again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing