We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Poor review - Manteo” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elizabethan Inn to your Saves list
Elizabethan Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   814 N US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Laurinburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor review - Manteo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The room was poor and dated. I could tolerate it for one night but the services was extremely poor. The front desk people were extremely rude. I would not advise anyone one to stay here unless it was absolutely necessary.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
I am sorry you did not like the newly installed granite counter tops, ceramic tile and mahogany furniture in your room. Our goal is to preserve the historic charm that our guests keep returning for while maintaining modern convenience.That is why we are constantly updating our property. I am sorry you were not pleased with the results.Both of the clerks with whom you had contact have been in the hotel business a minimum of 25 years and both have been repeatedly singled out for the high quality of their service. While this is not a 24 hour-service hotel, we do our best to see to everyone's needs, even in the wee hours of the morning. Please contact us and let us know where you think we fell short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    54
    31
    35
    33
See reviews for
69
57
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I did not stay at this hotel. There was a hurricane in the area the Thursday evening before July 4, 2014 celebrations and we decided to cancel our trip. We heard news of flooding and the bridge to Cape Hatteras was out. When I called to cancel they told me they were open and did not offer free cancellation. There policy is a 7 day cancellation or you pay for the first night. But with a hurricane you would assume they would make exceptions. There were evacuations, flooding and the bridge was out. Just because they were local and could get there to open doesn't mean their guest could. They got my money this time but never again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maddshopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
You CHOSE not to come because the Town of Manteo postponed the fireworks from Friday night to Sunday night. That is in no way the fault of the hotel. We had guests arrive from all over the country and Canada. We had other guests who came from the Raleigh area, where you are from, who had no problem getting here. This was your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manteo hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel charged us full price when we cancelled due to Hurricane Arthur. The hotel informed us we needed to cancel 7 days in advance to avoid charges. I would not recommend for anyone to stay here. A hurricane, flooding, road closings, and business closings in Manteo did not override their cancellation policy. This business has no compassion or customer service. Money is their driver, not their customers!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Melanie D., Ocracoke was evacuated because the only way off the island is by ferry. Hatteras Island was evacuated because there is only one road off the island which tends to flood everytime we have a storm of ANY kind. The rest of Dare County was not evacuated because there was no need. The hurricane passed through about 6 am. By 9 am, there were not even puddles to show it had been here. Had we been evacuated, we would of course, have refunded your deposit. However, because you chose not to come, we see no reason why the hotel should be penalized. We had held your room in good faith from the time you made your reservation. We had guests from Canada to Florida, and New York, Montana, California and Texas. They had no problem getting here, and enjoyed their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This motel has not been updated in at least 40 years, has stains and snags in the carpet and ceilings, isn't particularly clean, and is ridiculously overpriced -- $160 something for two people? Really. Keep driving.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
I am sorry our motel was not what you were expecting. However, I would like to address a few of your comments. We are constantly updating and renovating this property, and we maintain a 97% cleanliness rating from the local health department. If you had a problem with your room, you should have let us know. We would have done everything possible to make you happy. "Stains and snags on the carpet and ceiling". What room were you in? You do not say when you were here but, from the rate, it must have been Memorial weekend. Our rates are not only competitive, but less expensive than most places on the beach and with more amenities. Also, we do not require the 2 to 3 night minimum most hotels require on holiday weekends, which, I am assuming, is why you booked here. Again, I am sorry you were not pleased with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Prior to our trip, my family was very excited at the prospect of staying at the Elizabethan Inn and it looks very neat from the pictures. We did realize that it was somewhat dated, and we were prepared for that.

The front check in was seamless, with everyone being friendly. The rooms were clean, but did need some repairs work. We slept very well and basically enjoyed our stay as far as the rooms were concerned.

The one downside for our family was the pool experience. When making reservations, we were told that they have the largest pool on the island, so bring your bathing suits- which we did. We have 3 children ( 15, 13, 10), along with my nephew (16). When going to the pool. one could expect 4 children to play and have a good time, but clearly this was not in the cards for the individual who was overseeing the pool experience. I am not normally one for loud noises, and lots of raucous play, so I must admit that I was surprised when the lady who was watching over the pool called my children down several times and reprimanded them. My children felt that she was mean to them, and after about 30-45 minutes they wanted to leave pool because they ( as well as myself) felt uncomfortable around her. It was a very large heated pool, so this was unfortunate.

We had the opportunity to spend another night, but as some of our plans had changed, but opted to stay at another location (without a pool) because we had no intention of going back into the pool.

It was a shame that this one negative experience would taint such a cute place, but it did.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We go to the outer banks every easter and this was the first bad experience. I found this hotel online and liked what I saw. The age and layout were nice. This is the type of hotel we normally like a little elderly and interesting. The problem wasn't the room but the assistant manager, the hotel was undergoing major renovations which was unavoidable but we were placed in a room just below a major renovation . It was pouring with rain so we bought lunch and went back to the hotel to watch t.v. and take a nap. When we entered the room the noise of the work upstairs was so loud it made it impossible to nap or watch t.v. or even talk to each other. My husband approached the sweet elderly lady at the desk, she called the Assistant Manager who informed us that she had posted an 81/2 x 11inch sign apologizing for the dust and noise. This sign was taped up at the hotel, no warning of it on the site we booked with. A little noise would have been fine, this was unbearable, my husband pointed out that if we were making this amount of noise next to other guests we would be asked to leave.. He suggested a move us or give us a discount, her response was we should go out for an hour in the rain till the work was completed. The work went on for three hours and I approached the Assistant manager. She was extremely rude and when I said it was impossible to stay in the room she asked what was impossible about it, she said that they had decided not to do this at night when people were sleeping. This was a Saturday afternoon the rates weren't cheap to begin with and we had a miserable time, with the noise and the animosity of the assistant manager. We also had trouble with the coffe maker which was broken and sprayed boiling water at us (room 507) We have never written a bad review of anything but felt compelled to write this as the management gave us no choice, and no options except that we should leave the room we paid for so they could continue their renovations in peace. An apology or an acknowledgement that this was a problem would have made all the difference. Total lack of customer service from the assistand manager. This wasn't up to the standard of a motel 8.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I know this place has been around since the 70's, so when everything else on the beach was booked, I had no choice. I was actually pleasantly surprised. Nice big new bed, good water pressure in the shower, nice flat screen tv, internet access, large room with a sitting area, all was above average. I have stayed at a lot of below average motels on the outer banks, and honestly, for your money its worth the 10 minute drive away from the beach. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klinker2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Elizabethan Inn! Manteo has a charm all its own, and has a lot to offer whether you are vacationing for a week or a weekend. And, as you discovered, just because a hotel isn't new doesn't mean it can't be clean and comfortable. That is why we have guests who initially came here as children returning with their own children to continue the family tradition. Thanks again for your kind review. We look forward to having you back with us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel / Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 941 reviews
6.5 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#9 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 994 reviews
8.4 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Property: Elizabethan Inn
Address: 814 N US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Elizabethan Inn on Historic Roanoke Island. Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent authentic Italian cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. Elizabethan Inn, an Outer Banks hotel located in Manteo, NC on historic Roanoke Island, is the perfect place to take advantage of all that this destination has to offer. Tucked in along the shores of Shallowbag Bay, the picturesque waterfront village of Manteo is surrounded by tranquil waters and is just minutes from Nags Head’s beautiful beaches, lighthouses, Jockey’s Ridge and the world famous Wright Brother’s Memorial. Elizabethan Inn has been welcoming guests since the turn of the century. Guests come from near and far to experience gracious hospitality in this lovely historic town. The location of the Elizabethan Inn provides easy touring of Roanoke Island, which offers such visitor venues as the North Carolina Aquarium, Fort Raleigh National Historic Site, The Lost Colony Outdoor Symphonic Drama, the Elizabethan Gardens, Roanoke Island Festival Park, the NC Maritime Museum, and the Roanoke Marsh Lighthouse. Along the waterfront are unique boutiques for shopping and incredible restaurants to suit any taste. Only an hour to the north, you can enjoy visiting the Jockey’s Ridge State Park, Whale head Museum, NC Wildlife Museum, Wright Brothers National Memorial, Currituck Lighthouse, and some of North Carolina’s wineries and vineyards offering wine tastings and tours. Traveling to the south you may enjoy visiting the Pea Island Wildlife Refuge, the Cape Hatteras National Seashore, the Bodie Island Lighthouse, Chicamacomico Life Saving Museum, Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, and the Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum, or taking one of North Carolina's unique ferries to visit Ocracoke Island. Traveling Inland to the Mainland, you will venture into the Alligator National Wildlife Refuge, home to the red wolf, black bears, alligators, and a myriad of bird life. And, of course, shopping, special tours, and the unexpected adventures that can be found all along the way; kayaking, birding, hang gliding, parasailing, and sport fishing. Return to Elizabethan Inn after a day full of fun and adventure to relax for a spell, enjoy the heated pool, gym and sauna. For those who want to “Tie the Knot” on the Outer Banks, destination weddings and honeymoons are hugely popular. Elizabethan Inn is your perfect destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. When you stay at Elizabethan Inn, you will enjoy a unique experience – a place where both natural and cultural resources abound. Elizabethan Inn always offers nothing less than superb customer service to each of our guest. It is a place that will lure you back again, again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing