We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Local Stay in Manteo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elizabethan Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Keller, Texas
1 review
“Local Stay in Manteo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Cozy and convienient. Friendly staff and all you need for a relaxing stay. They went out of their way to accomodate us with late arrival. We were there to repair an EMS helicopter that was out of service due to the bridge crisis. We were able to fix the helicopter in our first day there and then get some much needed sleep. Suriksha, the assistant manager was wonderful and did her best to make sure we could get our work completed so Dare County could protect their citizens with their BK117 EMS helicopter.

Thank you Suriksha (Ricki)
Dave Vogel Product Support American Eurocopter Corporation

Room Tip: Room service and the spa were not used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are very fortunate to have Suriksha with us. She makes sure everyone is comfortable and happy. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    56
    33
    35
    36
See reviews for
73
59
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this inn for 4 nights while attending a wedding in Manteo, NC. Surishka and Virginia at the front desk were helpful and warm. We settled into our cozy, clean room, which was perfect for a launching point to explore Manteo Island, the Outer Banks and vicinity. We hang glided at Jockey's Ridge, walked the beach at Jeannette's Pier, drove through Cape Hatteras National Seashore, dropped by Duck, dined at Tortuga's Lie in Nags Head and at the 1587 in Manteo. Everything was a short drive away. Manteo Island itself is worth exploring, walking the boardwalk in downtown, catching the sunset over the bay, enjoying the ambiance of a small waterfront community. And the Lost Colony and Elizabethan Gardens are nearby! Book it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your high praise of our hotel! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It was certainly a great pleasure having you as our guest. We are amazed that you manage to pack so many things into 4 days and go to the wedding too. We miss your bubbly personality already and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We made reservations sight unseen to attend a wedding. After driving all day, we just wanted to check in, get cleaned up and go to the wedding. The room was better suited for the red light district as the colors were putrid. The bathroom was cramped, Everything, including the TV was old. it was not a flat screen but a tube type. The big surprise came when i went to use the shower. It was a tub/shower and the shower diverter was stuck on shower. Not so bad for me but not so good for the wife who uses the bathtub. It was $80.00 per night which for what we had was a rip off. I would have rather slept in my car. I said something to the lady at the front desk (who was very understanding) and she told me the place was supposed to get renovated. Not a day too soon! Right now, the place is a Dump! Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRUE027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manteo hotels

Pounding Mill, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

These people were so friendly and professional. Thank you!! Your restaurant was excellent. We will be back. Miss Virginia was a hoot! For an older hotel, it was clean, and everything worked in the room. The location was great also, convenient to everything. Feel comfortable staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JrStamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for giving our hotel a 5 Star Rating! I'm glad that we were able to meet your needs here at the Elizabethan Inn. I have passed along your compliments to the staff. They enjoy their work and it shows! We are looking forward to having you back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The inn is a very well maintained property, despite its age. Landscaping is very well done. The rooms are spacious and very clean and comfortable. Refrigerators in the room is a nice touch. It has a nice exercise room, and both indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly. The attached restaurant has delicious, well-prepared food at a reasonable price. I recommend this motel for anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms has parking right in front of your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for you comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
407 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were in town for the Outer Banks Bluegrass Festival and stayed at this hotel since it was designated "the hotel" for the festival. I read some of the reviews before we went and I admit that I was a little nervous about staying here. We arrived and the front desk clerk was wonderful. She was very friendly and helpful. Check-in was quick and to the point. We went to our room and while the hotel is older, other things make up for its age. Our room was immaculate. I have stayed in much newer hotels with more modern décor that are filthy and not worth staying in. The carpet in our room appeared to be fairly new, there was a fridge and microwave, cable TV, a desk, large chair and wall mounted A/C. The toilet and tub are in a separate area from the sink/counter area and I like that about older hotels. While one person is in the shower, the other can get ready....saves time.

The hotel is large and spread out. The grounds were extremely clean. They have an Italian restaurant in the hotel and it has excellent reviews. We did not make it down for dinner, but we would love to try it next time.

The thing that I loved most about this hotel was the bed. I am not sure what kind of bed it is, but it may have been the best sleep I have ever had while staying in a hotel....any hotel. Our room was clean everyday when we returned to the hotel and fresh towels and washcloths were always stocked. I recommend this hotel and we would stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbae27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Elizabethan Inn. The Bluegrass Festival was a lot of fun and we are already making plans for next year's festival. All of the beds in our hotel have Serta mattresses or the equivalent. It is important to us that our guests are comfortable. I'm sorry you didn't get a chance to try the La Dolce Vita restaurant. It really is wonderful! They are open year round, so come anytime. Please call us when you are ready to book your trip for next year. A number of people have already booked their rooms for 2014 and we expect to fill even faster next year than we did this year. Thanks again for your kind comments. We look forward to having you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

On Sept. 17th My wife and I took a short vacation to the Outer Banks from Georgia for her birthday. We had reservations at Elizabethan Inn for two nights. Our expected arrival time would have been around 7:30 PM but after a stop in Charlotte to visit some Nascar friends we didn't make it until around midnight. I called the inn about our delay and thanks to the staff there was someone at the door when we arrived even though the office had been closed for some time. During our stay the entire staff was exceptionally generous and eager to make time there a pleasure. Even the staff in the adjoining La Dolce Vita restaurant was very polite and the service and food was great. We read some other reviews and for those who made negative comments, let me educate you, yes the building has some years on it but everything has been very well maintained. you can expect a minor stuffy feeling presence in even the best of motels when they have been closed up for time. It's easy, just turn on the AC and before you know it everything is fine. I even made the same comment but my wife reminded me we reserved a smoking room which is hard to find anymore and we thank them for that. Over the Elizabethan Inn is in much better condition and cleaner than some of the higher end major brand motels that we've stayed at.
Thanks
Irv & Linda
Georgia
P.S. the staff even put Happy Birthday Linda on the Marquee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you Irv and Linda for your kind words! It was our pleasure to have you here for such a special occasion! We do our best to keep our hotel clean and well maintained, and we thank you for appreciating our hard work. Yes, our hotel has a little age on it, but many people forget that nothing new stays that way for very long. Our goal is to give our guests a clean, comfortable place to stay; and to make their stay an enjoyable one. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 979 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#8 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
8.4 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Property: Elizabethan Inn
Address: 814 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9583
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Elizabethan Inn on Historic Roanoke Island. Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent authentic Italian cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. Elizabethan Inn, an Outer Banks hotel located in Manteo, NC on historic Roanoke Island, is the perfect place to take advantage of all that this destination has to offer. Tucked in along the shores of Shallowbag Bay, the picturesque waterfront village of Manteo is surrounded by tranquil waters and is just minutes from Nags Head’s beautiful beaches, lighthouses, Jockey’s Ridge and the world famous Wright Brother’s Memorial. Elizabethan Inn has been welcoming guests since the turn of the century. Guests come from near and far to experience gracious hospitality in this lovely historic town. The location of the Elizabethan Inn provides easy touring of Roanoke Island, which offers such visitor venues as the North Carolina Aquarium, Fort Raleigh National Historic Site, The Lost Colony Outdoor Symphonic Drama, the Elizabethan Gardens, Roanoke Island Festival Park, the NC Maritime Museum, and the Roanoke Marsh Lighthouse. Along the waterfront are unique boutiques for shopping and incredible restaurants to suit any taste. Only an hour to the north, you can enjoy visiting the Jockey’s Ridge State Park, Whale head Museum, NC Wildlife Museum, Wright Brothers National Memorial, Currituck Lighthouse, and some of North Carolina’s wineries and vineyards offering wine tastings and tours. Traveling to the south you may enjoy visiting the Pea Island Wildlife Refuge, the Cape Hatteras National Seashore, the Bodie Island Lighthouse, Chicamacomico Life Saving Museum, Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, and the Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum, or taking one of North Carolina's unique ferries to visit Ocracoke Island. Traveling Inland to the Mainland, you will venture into the Alligator National Wildlife Refuge, home to the red wolf, black bears, alligators, and a myriad of bird life. And, of course, shopping, special tours, and the unexpected adventures that can be found all along the way; kayaking, birding, hang gliding, parasailing, and sport fishing. Return to Elizabethan Inn after a day full of fun and adventure to relax for a spell, enjoy the heated pool, gym and sauna. For those who want to “Tie the Knot” on the Outer Banks, destination weddings and honeymoons are hugely popular. Elizabethan Inn is your perfect destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. When you stay at Elizabethan Inn, you will enjoy a unique experience – a place where both natural and cultural resources abound. Elizabethan Inn always offers nothing less than superb customer service to each of our guest. It is a place that will lure you back again, again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing