We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elizabethan Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expected better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

For the price of a stay at this hotel I had expected better quality. It actually looked nice on the website, but upon entering our room, it smelled musty and it was darkly furnished. My husband and I went out for the evening to dinner and returned to our room to settle in only to find little roaches crawling around on the countertop where the microwave and coffee pot were sitting on. It was nasty to say the least and I killed all that I saw with a kleenex. While trying to kill the bugs I found food debris behind the coffee pot, needless to say we did not use any of the appliances. I informed the front desk of this incident and all she said was thank you for letting us know. I sure hope the next guest did not encounter the creepy crawlies we did. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Read reviews first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We have investigated your complaint and are not only upset by your comments, but confused as well. It is our policy to deep-clean our rooms in the off-season. Everything is stripped and the room is thoroughly cleaned from top to bottom. The jacuzi suite you occupied had just been deep-cleaned prior to your arrival. When we received your complaint, the room was checked and no "food debris" was found. Also, we have an exterminator come regularly, and we have never had roaches in our hotel. We would like to have seen what you found so we could report it to the exterminator. They are paid to make sure we do not have bugs of any kind. We would have appreciated it if you had informed us of any problems at the time you found them so that we could have corrected any situations at that time. We would gladly have moved you to a different room.Customer service is the # 1 priority at our hotel and we want all of our guests to be happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    58
    36
    36
    39
See reviews for
75
64
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

When my mom saw it on their website it looked great. When we went to our room it looked terrible. It was dark, smokey musty and didn't look like it was cleaned. When my mom went to tell the staff that we won't be staying and wanted a refund; it took forever and it sounded like they weren't very friendly with her either. I am sure it is a good hotel for some but for us it was terrible.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Amy, Let's address your comments one by one: You said the room was "dark, smokey and musty".
There are several lamps besides normal lighting fixtures in each room, so no reason for it to be dark unless you arrive after dark and don't turn on the lights.
In August, all of our rooms are occupied every night. They have no chance to get "musty". If a room was "musty", we would not rent it. We would correct the problem.
We have smoking and non-smoking rooms and our smoking policy is strickly enforced. If someone should smoke in a non-smoking room, which does happen, but only rarely, we would strip the room of all materials, bedding, drapery, etc and thoroughly clean it. If necessary, we will wash the walls and shampoo the carpet. One thing I can promise you is the next person who walks into that room will NOT know it has ever been smoked in.
We do not rent rooms that are not clean!
Even though each guest signs a statement at checkin aknowledging that there are no refunds for early departures; if a guest gets to their room and that, nor any other room we have will satisfy them, we would give them their money back. We want only happy customers.
Now for the things you did not say: When in August were you here? Which room? Which building? Who was at the front desk that you say was not friendly?
MY questions are:
Why are you writing a review of our motel when you say you did not stay here?
And why are you doing it 4 months after you say you were here. Obviously you do not have all your facts :"it sounded like they weren't very friendly." Were you there?. I suggest you do your homework before you set out to criticize someone, particularly where everyone can read it, AND where it may cost us future business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manteo hotels

Frisco, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

When we were in Manteo for work at the Stumpy Point Emergency Ferry Route, I was provided a room at the Elizabethan Inn. I have lived on the Outer Banks for nearly 20 years, so I never have stayed in many motels around, but have in other places for travel. The room was very clean and the housekeeping service was excellent daily. The bed was comfortable, the desk made it easy for me to complete work from the day when I returned. The front desk staff were very friendly and helped with any problems promptly (which there were none!) The restaurant's food was as delicous as it smelled. I am glad our accomodations were here and would definately recommend them to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMSalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. Your entire group became a part of our family and we miss you! You are welcome back at any time. Maybe next time you won't have to work! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by our Pet Friendly room this year. They have Pet Friendly rooms that are not smoking!

Last year when we stayed at this hotel we left smelling like smoke. I think the dog even smelled like smoke! I have to hand it to the management team because they listened to my complaint last year and they now have non-smoking rooms for pet owners.

Dear Elizabethan Inn management team....thank you so much! Our stay this year was much more relaxing! It is not often that hotel management listens to their guests!

Thank You!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleDurham_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
It was good to see you again, and we are glad you were happy with your room. Are you aware that your complaint last year made life better for a lot of other people as well? A number of people traveling with their pets have enjoyed having a non-smoking room. When we know there is a problem, we will do everything we can to correct it. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to seeing you again for next years marathon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitol Heights, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

First of all, the hotel is old and smelly. An old, smelly mildew smell. Quite run down. I was grossed out to take a shower and to put my feet on the ground. The dark-haired lady at the desk was not accommodating. Never again, nor should anyone else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Your review was very vague. You said our motel was "old and smelly". Yet you do not say what specifically you had a problem with; the room? the lobby? the parking lot?. There are no showers where you step "onto the ground".You also say the "dark-haired lady was not accomodating". Here again, you were very vague. What was the problem? We have not had any reports of problems nor any complaints. We could find no records of anyone with a Maryland address that stayed the days you say you stayed. Are you sure you have the right motel? We work hard to please our guests, and try to correct problems as soon as they arrise. But we can not correct problems we are unaware of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at the Inn while helping out with Hurricane Sandy. The staff were super helpful, and went out of their way to help when I got stuck on the ferry from Hatteras. The bed was super confortable, and the sheets spotless. The hotel may be older, but the important things were done right. Awesome bed, hot shower, clean sheets and great rates. I will be back soon, thank you for the hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OBXfrequenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We work hard to assure our guests a clean, comfortable stay and it is very gratifying to know our efforts don't go unnoticed. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Definite nice stop there on the Island, loved the resturant and the comfort the staff put you in when checking in.
A definite stop and stay again when in the area.
Great Location, Room was comfortable, Gym, Pools, and the grounds were all nicely maintained.
But without hesitation the Staff just made feel like a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay! We DO want you to consider this your home away from home and we are very glad you feel that way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
8.4 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Property: Elizabethan Inn
Address: 814 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9583
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Elizabethan Inn on Historic Roanoke Island. Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent authentic Italian cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. Elizabethan Inn, an Outer Banks hotel located in Manteo, NC on historic Roanoke Island, is the perfect place to take advantage of all that this destination has to offer. Tucked in along the shores of Shallowbag Bay, the picturesque waterfront village of Manteo is surrounded by tranquil waters and is just minutes from Nags Head’s beautiful beaches, lighthouses, Jockey’s Ridge and the world famous Wright Brother’s Memorial. Elizabethan Inn has been welcoming guests since the turn of the century. Guests come from near and far to experience gracious hospitality in this lovely historic town. The location of the Elizabethan Inn provides easy touring of Roanoke Island, which offers such visitor venues as the North Carolina Aquarium, Fort Raleigh National Historic Site, The Lost Colony Outdoor Symphonic Drama, the Elizabethan Gardens, Roanoke Island Festival Park, the NC Maritime Museum, and the Roanoke Marsh Lighthouse. Along the waterfront are unique boutiques for shopping and incredible restaurants to suit any taste. Only an hour to the north, you can enjoy visiting the Jockey’s Ridge State Park, Whale head Museum, NC Wildlife Museum, Wright Brothers National Memorial, Currituck Lighthouse, and some of North Carolina’s wineries and vineyards offering wine tastings and tours. Traveling to the south you may enjoy visiting the Pea Island Wildlife Refuge, the Cape Hatteras National Seashore, the Bodie Island Lighthouse, Chicamacomico Life Saving Museum, Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, and the Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum, or taking one of North Carolina's unique ferries to visit Ocracoke Island. Traveling Inland to the Mainland, you will venture into the Alligator National Wildlife Refuge, home to the red wolf, black bears, alligators, and a myriad of bird life. And, of course, shopping, special tours, and the unexpected adventures that can be found all along the way; kayaking, birding, hang gliding, parasailing, and sport fishing. Return to Elizabethan Inn after a day full of fun and adventure to relax for a spell, enjoy the heated pool, gym and sauna. For those who want to “Tie the Knot” on the Outer Banks, destination weddings and honeymoons are hugely popular. Elizabethan Inn is your perfect destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. When you stay at Elizabethan Inn, you will enjoy a unique experience – a place where both natural and cultural resources abound. Elizabethan Inn always offers nothing less than superb customer service to each of our guest. It is a place that will lure you back again, again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing