We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Manteo~”
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elizabethan Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Manteo~”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here on October 10, 2012. We were checked in by a gracious lady, named Virginia, that allowed us to check out a room first. The rooms were very large and nicely decorated. Twice the size of the ones in Kitty Hawk where we stayed and not noisy like those either. Very quiet and very CLEAN. I am VERY picky about hotel rooms. (I pull back the covers and check beneath the mattress for signs of bed bug infestation...etc.) I always check TripAdvisor before stopping and don't go by the cheapest but by the best reviews from other travelers. In my honest opinion this hotel should have been #1 on the tripadvisor. She gave us a room near the pool. This pool is on the 2nd floor and it has an olympic sized pool, sauna room, hottub, workout room and even a closet with pool toys you can use ! The heated pool was awesome and CLEAN. The last review by Candidman is NOT true. Ask to view a room before staying and you will see for yourself !!!! We loved this place and if we ever go back will not bother with the more expensive rooms on the outer islands as this exceeded our expectations!!!

Room Tip: The only con was no breakfast here but they have an on site restaurant and there are many diners nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words! We work hard to make this a clean, comfortable, and affordable place to stay. We also feel it is the best hotel in Manteo! Anyone is welcome to come and check out our rooms at any time. Then decide for yourself! Thanks again BetsyMichigan! Your words expressed perfectly how we ourselves feel about our property. We look forward to having you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    58
    37
    37
    43
See reviews for
78
65
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Booked this place because of its location relative to the blue grass festival. Old and worn out is the best description. Room originally had popcorn ceiling, but in many places it had fallen down and was painted over without first being patched. Bathroom is small and cramped. Tub was chipped, and door was coming apart at the base. Our entrance was from the outside with another door opening to the building's interior. It opened on a corridor with old, dirty, and torn carpet. The best surprise was when I pulled off the bed spread and was greeted by a crawly insect on the sheet. This may have been an OK hotel twenty years ago, but it is beyond its years, worn out and dirty. Stay Away!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethaninn, Marketing Director at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
It is our aim that each of our guests enjoys their stay at the Elizabethan Inn. We are sorry that you did not. After receiving your evaluation of our motel, we investigated each of the items you mentioned. We did find the ceiling had been painted where the popcorn had fallen off, but none was falling and the ceiling had to be viewed at an angle to notice the “shiny spots”. The hallway carpet was neither old nor torn, having just been replaced over the winter. We did find a couple of drink spills, but considering we had a full house the entire weekend, the carpet was in remarkably good shape. We also found a small chip in the bath tub. It was smaller than an eraser and in the corner of the tub indicating someone has dropped something heavy in it. The bathroom is an average motel size, but you will be happy to know that we plan on renovating the bathrooms this winter. We are constantly renovating and upgrading our rooms and comments from our guest are very helpful. We hope you will come back and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manteo hotels

Albemarle, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I decided to take a 2-day trip to the outer banks of NC. We wanted a more casual trip with a home-town feeling, so rather than stay on the beach, we decided to stay in Manteo this time. We had seen the Elizabethan Inn before at the Art Festival a few years ago and decided to stay there. A nice lady by the name of Virginia helped my wife book the rooms and later, I met Suriksha who clued me in on the town's activities and what goes on. She was incredibly hospitable and friendly. Well, our experience was just great!!! And the restaurant, in the hotel was fantastic.
We will stay there again!
James Williams

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethaninn, Marketing Director at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Mr Williams, Thank you for your nice comments! It was a pleasure to have you and your wife here with us; we are only sorry that you could not stay longer. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were extremely friendly - from the woman who checked us in (and helped us with directions prior to arrival) to the woman who checked us out - we were floored by their professionalism and welcoming nature. We made our reservation online using a AAA discount and all of that was honored at check-in; they even told us about specials they run throughout the year. The inn's website was easy to use and made reservation making extremely efficient. Our room was very clean, there was ample parking, and it was nice to have a fridge in the room as we recently stayed at another "big name" hotel in Wilmington that practically laughed when I inquired about a fridge. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMarie742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Based on some of the reviews on here we were concerned about staying at this hotel. When we arrived, we were greated by a very nice lady at the front desk. The price that we made during our reservation was the price we paid. She let us know that they do not serve breakfast but there were some great restaurants close by. We got to our room and found a very clean room and bathroom. The indoor pool was huge! The outdoor pool was nice as well and busy with hotel guests. We stayed at the end of August and we would stay there again without question!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethaninn, Guest Relations Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We try to treat each guest the way we would like to be treated. It makes us very happy to see that our efforts are appreciated. Thanks again! Come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I don't like this hotel, I don't recomended it to any body,it's a waste of your money,it's sooooo expensive for the poor quality!!they give you a price when you make a reservation,but then when you get there......surprise....more money $170 for a night..you can get something much better for this.the fridge and microwave are really old and don't work, the bathroom is sooooo small,and they smell sooo bad.the beds are so uncomortable and there was no continental breakfast, and there were no lcd t.vs. There were also not any kinds of discounts.

Room Tip: for the money that I paid,I could get something much better,cause when I did the reservation the pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseayuritzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family had booked a home on the Outer Banks for a Saturday check-in. We wanted to arrive the night before to beat the island traffic. We booked a room at the Elizabethan Inn on Friday night and were plesantly surprised. They accepted a one-night reservation during the peak season at a competitive rate. Our check-in was efficient and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. What a great way to start our vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
8.3 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
837 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
174 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,119 reviews
6.0 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Property: Elizabethan Inn
Address: 814 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9583
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Elizabethan Inn on Historic Roanoke Island. Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent authentic Italian cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. Elizabethan Inn, an Outer Banks hotel located in Manteo, NC on historic Roanoke Island, is the perfect place to take advantage of all that this destination has to offer. Tucked in along the shores of Shallowbag Bay, the picturesque waterfront village of Manteo is surrounded by tranquil waters and is just minutes from Nags Head’s beautiful beaches, lighthouses, Jockey’s Ridge and the world famous Wright Brother’s Memorial. Elizabethan Inn has been welcoming guests since the turn of the century. Guests come from near and far to experience gracious hospitality in this lovely historic town. The location of the Elizabethan Inn provides easy touring of Roanoke Island, which offers such visitor venues as the North Carolina Aquarium, Fort Raleigh National Historic Site, The Lost Colony Outdoor Symphonic Drama, the Elizabethan Gardens, Roanoke Island Festival Park, the NC Maritime Museum, and the Roanoke Marsh Lighthouse. Along the waterfront are unique boutiques for shopping and incredible restaurants to suit any taste. Only an hour to the north, you can enjoy visiting the Jockey’s Ridge State Park, Whale head Museum, NC Wildlife Museum, Wright Brothers National Memorial, Currituck Lighthouse, and some of North Carolina’s wineries and vineyards offering wine tastings and tours. Traveling to the south you may enjoy visiting the Pea Island Wildlife Refuge, the Cape Hatteras National Seashore, the Bodie Island Lighthouse, Chicamacomico Life Saving Museum, Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, and the Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum, or taking one of North Carolina's unique ferries to visit Ocracoke Island. Traveling Inland to the Mainland, you will venture into the Alligator National Wildlife Refuge, home to the red wolf, black bears, alligators, and a myriad of bird life. And, of course, shopping, special tours, and the unexpected adventures that can be found all along the way; kayaking, birding, hang gliding, parasailing, and sport fishing. Return to Elizabethan Inn after a day full of fun and adventure to relax for a spell, enjoy the heated pool, gym and sauna. For those who want to “Tie the Knot” on the Outer Banks, destination weddings and honeymoons are hugely popular. Elizabethan Inn is your perfect destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. When you stay at Elizabethan Inn, you will enjoy a unique experience – a place where both natural and cultural resources abound. Elizabethan Inn always offers nothing less than superb customer service to each of our guest. It is a place that will lure you back again, again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing