We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Room in Manteo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elizabethan Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Room in Manteo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Arrived in Manteo after supper on a Friday night, tired and worn out. The lady at the desk was very nice and gave us a "Special" room rate. The room was off the main road and very quiet. Although we did not eat breakfast in their hotel the next morning, I understand it is a very nice buffet for a good price.
We enjoyed our stay and will be back because it is close to the Lost Colony and the Festival Park.

Room Tip: Just ask for the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackbird62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    58
    34
    35
    38
See reviews for
74
61
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We found this place while planning for a last minute trip to outer banks. It is just another motel. The room was just sufficient. The carpet smelled pretty bad. The TV was probably 10 year old, picture quality was bad - we could not watch.
Only thing good about this place was, it was available when nothing was.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susilkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethaninn, Marketing Director at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Your reservation was made through our web site. The pictures on the site were taken recently, but the room you had as well as the rest of the hotel has been updated with newer furniture since then. You reserved a room in a motel and you were expecting….. what? Not a motel? The carpet was added last year, and the rooms are cleaned daily. We inspected your room and found no odors in the carpet or elsewhere. We have not had a complaint about the picture quality, but if you had a problem, and called the front desk, it would have been taken care of immediately. We found no problem with the 29” TV and the reception was excellent. You stayed two nights and never complained, so your comments are confusing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manteo hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

This hotel is such a rip off! The room was dirty and I mean gross. There was mold, the AC stunk, the shower and bathroom area was not clean, and there was a hole in the bathroom wall. We were desperate for a room or we would have checked out as soon as we saw the condition of the room because they charge top dollar for this dump. Do not go there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristyLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethaninn, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
We accomodate many guests each night and strive to make each guests stay an enjoyable one. Therefore, we are disapointed that you were not happy with your room. However, there are no holes in any of our walls, our housekeepers are the best on the Outer Banks and our rooms are routinely inspected. If you were so unhappy, why did you not let us know? Our desk clerks are here until 10 or 11 pm and our phones are manned 24 hours. We would have done all within our power to correct any problems had there been any. Our prices are competitve, and with 2 pools, hot tub, sauna, and weight/workout room, and the convenience of a great restaurant on premises, we feel our guests are getting their value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We were on a three week fly/drive of the southern states, and this disgusting dump was the worst rip-off of the trip. We came to see the famous Lost Colony outdoor drama, and did not see any other reasonable alternative on Roanoke Island. (There was a severe thunderstorm warning and the play was cancelled, so we lost our ticket price too because I had not bought rain insurance—bummer!) I wonder where the rest of the theatre-goers stay. There was nothing but a similar motel across the street on this island.
The Elizabethan Inn charged $194 and you had to buy your own breakfast. The attached Italian restaurant, la Dolce Vita, was excellent, fortunately.
This place must have paid for itself several times over, and nothing has been put back. I would call this a slum landlord property and a disgrace. We paid way less for a Hyatt Regency suite in Atlanta, and four and five star boutique hotels in Williamsburg, VA and Annapolis, MD, all upscale markets.
The room was an exterior-entry motel-type room—the kind that used to line Route 66 a few decades ago. The ceiling was those fibreglass panels you find in botched home basement rumpus rooms, all stained and floppy. The entry door and bathroom door were all splintered and stained. The lobby and interior halls were just as dingy and depressing. The bed had just a sheet and worn out bedspread. The only bath amenities were two bars of soap and a conditioner/shampoo. There was an ancient window AC unit and dirty old carpet. You had to cross the parking lot to get to the ice machine. There was nowhere to hide the old ironing board and iron hanging on the wall. There weren’t enough power outlets for the fridge, microwave and hair dryer. The sink cabinet had raw plywood edges. There was an ancient clock radio and lamp with no power—just a tangle of wires going nowhere.
So bring on the bulldozer and let the demolition begin!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We only stayed one night as we were in Manteo to see "The Lost Colony." I was traveling with three of my teenagers and the room (#400) had the perfect set-up for a family trip. Two twin beds, one queen. Nice to not have to get out an air mattress.
The room was not "super new design" and there were no luxurious duvets but it was clean, comfortable and exactly what a family needs when traveling.
Pools were nice and tidy, front desk clerk was super friendly and helpful. She acted like she was actually glad to see us.
Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Call to book. Don't book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkmcfe05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

we stayed here over the weekend and we were pleased. i essentially booked it sight-unseen and i have to say that i had the best customer service ever - the woman who works the majority of the time at the front desk was so helpful and so nice. we had adjoining rooms (us on one side, my parents on the other) to give my two kids space to roam and it worked well for us.

our rooms were at the back of the property and our door opened onto a low porch - we spent a lot of time just sitting there and letting the kids play because it was so quiet and secluded from the main road. there's a screened-in gazebo near the outdoor pool and we had our dinner there one evening.

both pools were nice - the outside one has a pretty steep drop-off from 3 ft to 10 ft - but it was never crowded or gross. the fitness room was really nice.

we had requested a pack and play for my toddler and it came with sheets and a small pillow and a mattress pad (most places i have gotten them at didn't have any linens for the playpens).

it is an older hotel and does show some age but honestly - i like the atmosphere in places like this as opposed to cookie-cutter chain hotels.

the restaurant is owned separately but do make a point of eating there! it's Italian food and it is AMAZING.

if we ever go back to Manteo, we will be staying at the Elizabethan Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This was our first time on the Outer Banks and we decided to bring our little Cavalier King Charles Spaniel puppy with us. We heard that the town on Manteo was very pet friendly, so finding the Elizabethan Inn with its Victorian theme seemed perfect. Unfortunately, the pet-friendly rooms are at the back of the property, and poorly maintained, very much out of step with other rooms. The room was old, smelly, and dingy. I was able to view other rooms in site and they were charming. Like other reviewers have mentioned, cigarette smoke carried freely and smoke-free rooms (like ours) did not smell smoke-free. Also, the website stated that it had a delightful restaurant. Well, said culinary delight was closed due to a fire approximately one year earlier (June 2009). To say the website was outdated would be an understatement. The staff was certainly friendly enough, but the overall feeling was that the Elizabethan Inn had seen better days, it being most obvious in the pet-friendly rooms, which were given short rift. What really irked us that the dismal room was sorely overpriced. A blemish on a delightful town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daffylatke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
8.4 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
10.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Property: Elizabethan Inn
Address: 814 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9583
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Elizabethan Inn on Historic Roanoke Island. Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent authentic Italian cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. Elizabethan Inn, an Outer Banks hotel located in Manteo, NC on historic Roanoke Island, is the perfect place to take advantage of all that this destination has to offer. Tucked in along the shores of Shallowbag Bay, the picturesque waterfront village of Manteo is surrounded by tranquil waters and is just minutes from Nags Head’s beautiful beaches, lighthouses, Jockey’s Ridge and the world famous Wright Brother’s Memorial. Elizabethan Inn has been welcoming guests since the turn of the century. Guests come from near and far to experience gracious hospitality in this lovely historic town. The location of the Elizabethan Inn provides easy touring of Roanoke Island, which offers such visitor venues as the North Carolina Aquarium, Fort Raleigh National Historic Site, The Lost Colony Outdoor Symphonic Drama, the Elizabethan Gardens, Roanoke Island Festival Park, the NC Maritime Museum, and the Roanoke Marsh Lighthouse. Along the waterfront are unique boutiques for shopping and incredible restaurants to suit any taste. Only an hour to the north, you can enjoy visiting the Jockey’s Ridge State Park, Whale head Museum, NC Wildlife Museum, Wright Brothers National Memorial, Currituck Lighthouse, and some of North Carolina’s wineries and vineyards offering wine tastings and tours. Traveling to the south you may enjoy visiting the Pea Island Wildlife Refuge, the Cape Hatteras National Seashore, the Bodie Island Lighthouse, Chicamacomico Life Saving Museum, Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, and the Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum, or taking one of North Carolina's unique ferries to visit Ocracoke Island. Traveling Inland to the Mainland, you will venture into the Alligator National Wildlife Refuge, home to the red wolf, black bears, alligators, and a myriad of bird life. And, of course, shopping, special tours, and the unexpected adventures that can be found all along the way; kayaking, birding, hang gliding, parasailing, and sport fishing. Return to Elizabethan Inn after a day full of fun and adventure to relax for a spell, enjoy the heated pool, gym and sauna. For those who want to “Tie the Knot” on the Outer Banks, destination weddings and honeymoons are hugely popular. Elizabethan Inn is your perfect destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. When you stay at Elizabethan Inn, you will enjoy a unique experience – a place where both natural and cultural resources abound. Elizabethan Inn always offers nothing less than superb customer service to each of our guest. It is a place that will lure you back again, again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing