We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can I give a 4.5?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Scarborough Inn to your Saves list
Scarborough Inn
524 Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Bushkill, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can I give a 4.5?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed the last week of June 2013, room 9 at the end of the second floor. Great room, friendly staff with friendly dogs to greet you when you check in. Room was clean, it has a nice covered deck on both floors if you want to sit outside and replax. We were visiting the Outer Banks and the Alligator River NWR so it was a nice midway spot. Manteo and Roanoke Island are very nice and worth exploring as well. Please note there are two floors but no elevator, it is on a busy highway but I never heard traffic noise from the room. Office hours are limited so make sure you get there in plenty of time for check in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelterSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

First of all, I do have to say that there are two B&B's with similar names in Manteo. One is Scarborough House Inn (where I thought I'd made my reservation...oops) and one is simply Scarborough Inn. The first is in an adorable house near the waterfront, and I assume they serve breakfast. The second is an inn on hwy 64...no breakfast. We did have two vending machine pastries left on the fridge, but at the time (before reading all some of these reviews) I thought they were simply left by the previous guests.

With that being said, this was not a TERRIBLE place to stay. It was only $100 a night and within a mile of downtown. The innkeeper seemed nice enough. The room, however was in need of some upkeep, but seemed reasonably clean. The only thing that I really couldn't deal with was the scent...and I can't really place what smell the smell was. Mildew maybe? I kept thinking my nose would get adjusted (because let's face it....many hotel rooms have a distinct scent but usually it isn't unpleasant), but I woke several times throughout the night smelling it.

Luckily, we only stayed the one night and moved on to Nags Head.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the room to be clean and in a great location. The only thing that bothered us was the loud ac unit in our room. It was pretty loud, even on the low setting and had a mildew smell. It did have very cold air though. Everything else about the room was fine and the price was much better than other places. Wi-fi worked great and staff seemed very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlr5979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had high expectations for our stay here based on the positive reviews we read on this site, but we should have paid closer attention to the poor reviews as they are far more accurate. The room we stayed in was definitely starting to show its age especially in terms of the carpeting and the decor. The mattress was one of the worst we've ever slept in, and all the lumps and bumps left us feeling sore and tired in the morning. The bath towels are more aptly described as rags, but the real kicker though was the cockroach we saw in the bathroom. It was just one bug that quickly scurried in a crack under the toilet, and even though we didn't see it again, we were both more than a little freaked out. Be also advised that the light continental breakfast advertised on the website is a packet of muffins/danishes that's left in your room along with a coffee maker. The best thing going for this inn is its location, but when you're paying an average of $100/night the quality needs to be at a much higher standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Infinite_voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberlake
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived and went to a clean room. Loved the antique furnishings and the beds were very comfortable. Loved the bath towels and bath cloths. It was nice to have a microwave and frig in the room as well The innkeeper was very nice. Will definitely stay there again and will tell friends about this place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Recently stayed here about a month ago, and though it's not your typical "mega hotel on the beach" it was very charming, especially if you enjoy antiques. It sort of felt like staying at Grandmas Place (in a good way). Crochet linens, furnished nicely with antiques, well worth the money (which was quite reasonable, for a last minute trip to visit the beach). Wrap around porch provides conversation with other guests, but also private enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKgirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to the Outer Banks for a long Memorial Day weekend. However, we had planned it about a month before leaving. I was doing research online and knew that Nags Head and the area would be pretty expensive. Then I found Scarborough Inn. It received good reviews on this website and was only $100/night, which was the best price I could find (without resorting to cheap motels). I must say that it was a very enjoyable experience. The room we stayed in (room 2, downstairs in the main building) had comfortable beds, a flat screen TV with cable, a dresser with drawers, a microwave, fridge, and bathroom. It has a very home-y feel to it. And Rebecca, the owner and sole employee of the establishment, was very nice and the room was always tided up by the time we returned in the afternoon. If you are looking for a quiet, nice place to stay in the Outer Banks that's away from the busy roads of Nags Head but only a few minutes away, then I highly suggest looking into this place! Next time I head out that way I will definitely be booking a room at Scarborough Inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollins1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#1 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#8 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.8 mi away
Cameron House Inn
Cameron House Inn
#3 of 10 in Manteo
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Inn

Address: 524 Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Scarborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#